Blush logo

Clouds Roll In

Whales Enjoy the morning

By Kristen JonesPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Clouds Roll In
Photo by Nick Scheerbart on Unsplash

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky. As I drifted off into a dream I stood on the edge of a vast, open field, surrounded by trees that grew up to the sky. The horizon behind me was a deep shade of indigo, dotted with stars that twinkled and shimmered in the darkness. I looked up to purple clouds that returned every night. They rolled in lazily toward me from the setting sun.

I stepped forward, my feet sinking into the soft grass beneath me. The clouds descended, wrapping around me in a swirling embrace, and I felt my body lifted off the ground. The blushing sky seemed to blush even harder as it watched the dance unfold below.

The rhythm of the clouds was infectious, and I found myself swaying and spinning along with them. As we moved, the sound of the wind whistling through the grass created a soothing, comforting melody.

At first, the clouds were just a smudge against the deepening dusk. As they congregated closer, I could see the elaborate patterns carved across their surface, like veins in a leaf. They seemed to surge with a soft light, casting a purple glow over the terrain below.

As they approached, the clouds moved faster, gaining strength until they were charging toward me at lightning speed. It filled me with a sense of joy and eagerness, like a child waiting for a carnival ride to start.

Then they were upon me. The clouds engulfed me, surrounding me, so close that I could feel their cool, dewy embrace. I felt weightless, like being submerged in a sea of lavender fog, and I closed my eyes and let the feeling engulf me.

When I opened my eyes again, I was no longer in the field. Instead, I was soaring high above the world, buoyed aloft by the swirling currents of the clouds. The ground was far below, a patchwork of greens and browns that seemed unfathomably distant.

The clouds were all around me, a dynamic, rotating abundance of color and light. I could feel their energy coursing through me, saturating me with a sense of euphoria and freedom. I felt dizzy with excitement. I was an element of the clouds, and the clouds were an element of me.

As suddenly as it had started, it was over. The clouds dispersed, their violet glow fading into the darkness of the night. I felt a sense of loss as they drifted away, leaving me alone in the sky.

Strikingly, I saw the blushing sky. It was as if the sky was blushing with shyness. I couldn’t resist smiling. It was a beautiful sight, the soft pinks and oranges of the horizon slowly spreading across the sky like a delicate watercolor painting.

I watched as the sky grew brighter and brighter until it was ablaze with the first light of dawn. The world below came back into focus, and I flew over a vast expanse of ocean, the swells sparkling in the early morning light. Whales came to the surface from far below the deep blue waves to take in the morning atmosphere. Their characteristic spouts create a mist of water over the ocean's surface. Their exuberant splashes made an abundance of seafoam.

As the sun rose higher in the sky, a sense of serenity enveloped me. The world was waking up, full of possibilities and new beginnings. I knew that no matter where I went or what I did, I would always carry the remembrance of the lilac clouds and the reddening sky with

social media
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Michele Hardyabout a year ago

    This was a beautiful story. Such amazing imagery and I loved the feeling of bliss that comes through Great job

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.