Blush logo

Acne Myths

Just so You Know

By kLbPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3
Photo by Cottonbro

If you suffer from stubborn… Wait I sound like every acne commercial ever made haha. I don’t know about you but I made 2020 the year I become acne free. I have a lot of dark spots left on my face from me picking and what do those dark spots start as, of course, a pimple. I literally have a new pimple every day from BIG to small and of course I just have to pick at it. I’m in my 20’s and it’s just not cute for me or has it ever been. Before anyone drags me by my ponytail, acne is nature and nothing to be ashamed of. It’s not that I’m embarrassed by acne or my appearance, actually, I had become so comfortable with acne that I stopped fighting it with remedies, soaps, doctor prescriptions, recommendations, and more. I even stopped wearing makeup for it. It was no point in covering my true self or “catfishing” a guy with makeup when I knew what was under it all. I just did not care I tried it all and it all failed me. Well some did work but it was never a prevent solution. It took my four year old niece to come up to me and point out a pimple for me to say okay I need to start caring again. I know silly me for letting a kid make me feel bad but no, she helped me realize I was just living with it and letting my face be taken over by pimples and dark spots.

At first, I was like eh here goes this annoying process of finding the right product and having to use them day and night, every day (rolls eyes). The process wasn’t that bad guys, I was just being dramatic though this can be the process for most. Anyway, I found out that even though you have creams and soaps for your breakouts and dark spots, what you eat sometimes matter. Of course, everyone is different and has different skin types but here, the myth list you have all been reading for.

Sweating

Hit the gym if you because a little sweat never hurt anybody. No, it is true sweating is okay and does no harm. Just be sure to clean your face and body to get rid of bacteria that sweat creates.

Remedies

Some natural remedies do work but toothpaste and lemon are not the best things to put on your face. Would you apply toothpaste and lemon juice on a baby’s face? So why treat your skin any different. Applying such remedies can cause more damage on the surface and under the surface of your skin. This includes redness and irritation.

Pimple Popping

Something that I am guilty of, popping pimples only makes things worse. By popping pimples it opens your skin up to bacteria, irritation, and more breakouts.

Chocolate

Though dairy and sugary foods can cause breakouts, chocolate does not. So eat a bar or two.

A lot of people are fighting breakouts every day but if you’re still having issues with breakouts while using soaps, medication, and etc. try reviewing your diet and seeing if cutting some things out helps. Also, be aware of what is in your face and body products such as soaps, as certain ingredients can cause your breakouts, dryness, and irritation. Knowing your skin type is also important and the top basic and base of understanding your skin. There are online doctors willing to help you out. Just know that no matter who you are or what you look, you are still a beautiful person.

skincare
3

About the Creator

kLb

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.