Beat logo

Zig Zag # 11

My top 3 music moments...so far ;)

By Kathleen MajorskyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Zig Zag # 11
Photo by John Matychuk on Unsplash

Last week, I mentioned the power music has to bring people together.

I believe that to my core. So much so, I’m going to continue to write about music this week.

For a minute, in my younger days, I felt that my musical tastes were less than because they weren’t obscure, never-heard-of bands or musicians. Those folks who listened to the obscure stuff kind of felt judgey. But I quickly got over that and decided that I’m going to love the music I love because it means something to me. It moves me. To hell with the judgey music snobs.

In case you haven’t noticed, I’m a meaning maker, a dot connector if you will. I find beauty in things sometimes others don’t. I think that’s what makes me a stellar observer of the world. I’ve shown up in the very same way when it comes to my favorite music experiences. It’s more than just going to a show and enjoying it. To me, it’s an experience with context and layers.

So without further ado, here are my top 3 music moments...so far…

Billy Joel and Elton John - The Face to Face Tour

This was a night I’ll never forget. The concert was in January 2002, just a few short months after September 11th. Everyone was still reeling. I bought myself a ticket to see these two iconic performers as an early birthday present. I love going to a concert when I know all the words to the songs. Historically, knowing words to songs has been a challenge for me, but I knew every last one that night. I mean, come on. It’s Billy Joel and Elton John. I grew up listening to both on so many road trips I made around Pennsylvania for tennis tournaments.

But the moment that made this concert special was when Billy Joel was on stage solo. Just him and his baby grand. The first notes of New York State of Mind started playing and the entire arena went silent.

Then one by one, whether you knew the person next to you or not, everyone in the entire arena linked arms. It felt like, for a moment, we were paying a collective tribute to all that happened on that haunting September day. It didn’t change anything, but it made me feel less alone in my grief, our grief. I’m getting chills as I’m typing this just thinking about that moment with my fellow concertgoers, arms linked, tears falling, singing New York State of Mind. Together. That night we were all New Yorkers.

Tyrone Wells - Private Concert

I don’t like good-bye parties. They’re so final. Too good-bye-y. I get sentimental and overwhelmed by saying so many good-byes all at once. Whenever I leave a place, I create a bucket list for said place. Then I see which of my friends want to help me tackle my list. I want to create individual experiences and memories with people. One on one. Knowing that this is my preferred method of bidding farewell when I was about to leave Washington, D.C., my friend Tim surprised me with concert tickets.

These weren’t just any concert tickets. These were tickets to see Tyrone Wells perform with his bandmates on a schooner that sailed around the Chesapeake Bay. There were only 25 people in total. It was another magical musical moment. This was the night I started to fall in love with more intimate concert settings. That night I felt every note, every sway, and every breeze that whipped across the Bay.

Not only were we delighted by such an intimate blending of beautiful music, but also we were regaled with the stories behind the music. It felt like MTV Unplugged but on a schooner.

I’ve seen Tyrone Wells a couple of times since that night, but none of the performances have been able to top the concert on the Bay. What a beautiful way to experience music. All of my favorite things: A good friend, water, the stars, and of course the sweet, sweet tunes.

Amos Lee - Moody Theater - Austin

I loved this concert because it was a spontaneous last-minute decision. The Moody Theater is such a famous piece of Austin’s musical history. I had been chomping at the bit for a chance to see a show there. I couldn’t pass up a chance to see such a soulful singer from Pennsylvania at the most iconic theater in Austin.

There is not a bad seat in the Moody Theater. I was happy right where I was. A little bit in peanut heaven, but it didn’t matter that Amos Lee looked teeny tiny. It only mattered that I could feel and hear his soulful melodies from the tips of my toes to the top of my head.

Each song was beautiful. Although some were upbeat, most had a twinge of melancholy to them. Like any good singer/songwriter, Amos had been through some shit. Clearly. And who hasn’t? That's what threads us together: The human condition exemplified in art or music or an amazing piece of writing. It’s what we feel when we hear a well-performed song. The beauty of the words strung together, yes, but also the gentle tears of the guitar. Somewhere deep down in our core, we get it. We feel it. We connect to it.

I was mesmerized by the experience. The music was amazing, but I could also feel the ghosts of Austin's music past. Anyone who performs in the Moody Theater stands on the shoulders of giants.

But the icing on the cake? Being from Philadelphia, Amos ended the night with his rendition of Boyz II Men’s Motownphilly. I almost melted into a puddle of music goodness and satisfaction. The night was epic.

I’ve been to many more than these three concerts, but to this day, these are the ones that still give me the feels when I think about them. I don’t know what the future of live music looks like, but for my soul’s sake, I hope it’s restored and revitalized so we can be together again.

I wish you a zig zag kind of week. Until next time.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Kathleen Majorsky

Life-long writer. Always seeking adventures as writing fodder. Loves tacos and warm chocolate cookies. If she could have dinner with anyone dead or alive, she would have dinner with Simon Sinek, Mr. Rogers, and Baby Yoda.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.