Beat logo

Zen Vibes That Let You Feel Your Feelings

Tune in to soothe your emotions, because numbing out won't bring you peace.

By Katie BrozenPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
3
Photo by Sydney Sims on Unsplash

I don't know about you, but I've hit a wall in my Pandemic journey.

Every day has become an emotional rollercoaster. I never know if I'm going to burst into a fit of laughter or start sobbing uncontrollably for no reason.

And though there is hopefully a light at the end of this dark tunnel, I still feel a lingering sense of hopelessness in the air.

I've found the best coping strategy to deal with these heavy emotions is to simply feel them.

Though my instinct is to bury them away like worn-out clothes in my closet. Cramming them in the back of my mind and pretending like they don't exist.

When I hear a song that tugs at my heartstrings, it immediately guides me to the feeling I'm trying not to feel and lets it move through me. Usually resulting in tears or endless dancing.

So if you're struggling to find your Zen in chaos, buckle up and join me for a ride on a playlist of all the emotions. Get ready to embrace the feelings and dance them out of your system.

Hopefully, you'll find feeling your feelings brings you some peace.

Dark Times by The Weeknd ft. Ed Sheeran

In my dark times I've still got some problems I know

Driving too fast but just moving to slow

And I've got something I've been trying to let go

Pulling me back every time

To start it off, I thought it would be appropriate to honor our dark times with The Weeknd, someone who always makes me feel the full spectrum of emotions.

At times, the struggles hurt more than words could describe. And it's easier to hide the pain or pretend it doesn't exist. But uncovering the monsters hidden deep inside is the only way to let go of the hurt and let the healing begin.

I've found in exploring the pain, exposes the patterns I hold on to, which keep me stuck in the darkness I'm trying to escape.

Too Many Feelings by Ruel

I had enough but I lost it all

You're doing fine, I'm not coping

If there was something, it's broken

I had enough but I lost it all

The disruption of lockdown had us turning to various coping mechanisms to mourn the loss of a normal life. It felt, and still feels like so much was taken away. But we don't always appreciate what we have until it's gone.

I realized how much I take for granted. My health, home, family, and friends. It may have felt like a lot was lost, but it made me appreciate the little things about life so much more.

Feels by Watts ft. Khalid

It feels like I'm running

Far away, every day

But still, I'm not movin'

Trying hard to find a way back

I wholeheartedly believe that a year of quarantine is driving me just a little insane. Dreams of making a change with little to show for it. I keep trying to move forward yet, it still feels like I'm stuck or worse, moving backward.

All the grief, sadness, and hurt are hard to admit, but they are the lessons that make you strong, resilient, and able to write the next chapter in your life.

My Silver Lining by First Aid Kit

There’s no starting over


No new beginnings time races on


And you've just gotta keep on keeping on


Gotta keep on going

Looking straight out on the road

Can't worry 'bout what's behind you


Or what's coming for you further up the road

If you've never heard of First Aid Kit, you're missing a Swedish-folk-pop duo that harmonizes catchy yet soul-filled vibes. They will bandage your broken feelings as you tap and hum along.

Their name in itself is something we all need at the moment.

First Aid Kit holds a special place in my nostalgic, broken heart. Their live show was the last concert I saw in person. Anytime I hear their songs, I'm transported back and reminisce about the good old days of live music, large crowds, and dancing with people actually watching.

My Silver Lining is a song that always picks me back up, reminding me life keeps going even with the shackles holding us back. Its upbeat vocals preach that you can't change the past or see what's coming in the future, so you gotta just keep on, keeping on.

In stagnate times, the easy road is to ruminate over things you wish you could change. But life goes on, and so should we.

This song may be about endurance, but it's also a memory of the good times once had that guide me to a future where more fun will be had again.

The Art of Starting Over by Demi Lovato

I'm like a watch, I'm unwinding like a clock

It's okay if I don't know what the time is

Give me a pen, I'm rewriting another ending

It didn't turn out the way that I wanted

The past year has made me lose all track of time. There are many days, it feels like all I've accomplished to do is stare at the same wall.

It feels like some sort of time warp, where time seems to drags on forever, yet passes by without even noticing. Making it hard to plan for the future, when life is standing still.

But the Art of Starting Over reminds me that there is always time to rewrite your story. If you don't like the way things have to turn out, you still have the power to change it.

These Days by Macklemore

I hope someday we'll sit down together

And laugh with each other about these days, these days

All our troubles, we'll lay to rest and

We'll wish we could come back to these days, these days

All our troubles feel so heavy at the moment. The non-stop ups and downs make life the emotional rollercoaster I can't wait to get off.

But hindsight is always 20/20 and these days will be the ones we sit and tell stories about. One day, we will all be able to laugh about the crazy antics (that we now call hobbies) that kept us somewhat sane in quarantine.

The banana-bread craze or sourdough-starters, the desperate need to buy more toilet paper - will all be our generation's version of the "walking 20 miles, uphill, in the snow" stories our grandparents tell us.

Though, I don't think I'll say I wish I could go back.

Champagne Clouds by Malia Civetz

You're gonna find me on the champagne clouds

I'm living easy and I won't come down

So if you'll need me I'll be up here I don't care

Bout anyone who's tryng to get me downstairs

In difficult times, it's hard to celebrate anything. But when I think about how much has been endured, it calls for a toast.

So raise a glass and let's ride out the rest of lockdown on a champagne cloud. High on bubbles, living easy, and not going back to the story of how things used to be.

Bring It All Back by S Club 7

Hold on to what you try to be/Your individuality/When the world is on your shoulders/Just smile and let it go

If people try to put you down/Just walk on by don't turn around

You may not be old enough to know S Club 7, a British pop band/MTV sitcom from back in the early 2000s.

This song randomly showed up on my Spotify and brings me right back to my 7th-grade sleepovers, dancing with my best friends in pajamas, and singing at the top of my lungs. It's the kind of wholesome nostalgia that puts a smile on my face, no matter my mood.

The bright-pop lyrics are about knowing who you are. Even when the weight of the world sits heavy on your shoulders, it's important to remember to stay true to yourself.

It's my inner-13-year old self, telling me to lighten up and enjoy the good times.

Dancing On My Own by Robyn

I just wanna dance all night

And I'm all messed up, I'm so out of line, yeah

Stilettos and broken bottles I'm spinning around in circles

I keep dancing on my own

Another song rooted deep in nostalgia for me. If you were a fan of the HBO show Girls, you may remember watching Lena Dunham dance in her underwear to Robyn's hit Dancing on my Own.

Besides the fact that this has been the epitome of my coping strategy during quarantine, it takes me back to my life in NYC, when I lived in the neighborhood where they filmed Girls.

Every time I hear this song, I'm right back in my 20-something Brooklyn apartment. All the wild adventures and all my favorite spots, including Cafe Grumpy.

Dog Days Are Over by Florence and the Machine

Happiness, hit her like a train on a track

Coming towards her, stuck still no turning back

She hid around corners and she hid under beds

She killed it with kisses and from it she fled

With every bubble she sank with a drink

Holding onto the heaviness of the past year only keeps us from finding happiness. This song restores my faith that happier times are just around the corner.

Soon we'll be able to stop hiding and it won't be long until we can rejoice in these dog days being over.

Safe and Sound by Capital Cities

I could lift you up

I could show you what you want to see

And take you where you want to be

You could be my luck

Even if the sky is falling down

I know that we'll be safe and sound

We're safe and sound

Capital Cities fills my cup with an appreciation for all those who kept me safe and sound during this time. To all my loved ones who lifted me while keeping me grounded when nothing made sense.

I am lucky to have them all standing next to me when the world is falling apart. And I am grateful every day that everyone is safe and sound.

When life feels hard, it's important to remember you can't have good times without the bad.

Numbing the pain only dulls the joy and happiness in life.

So feel your feelings, whatever they may be at the moment. Don't suppress them.

And if you haven't had your fill of feelings, check out the rest of my Zen playlist below.

playlist
3

About the Creator

Katie Brozen

Professional chef. Sharing stories, secrets, and recipes from behind the line of a professional kitchen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.