Beat logo

YrkDaRapper

YrkDaRapper

By Jason James Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Tell us about you:

The day I was born was just another original day. My mother gave birth to me on January 5, 1998. She choose my name to be Brennan Thomas Martin.

I can always remember having a love for music. I stated to dance to songs by 50 Cent and Biggie. Through the years, my taste expanded to all genres of music.

I would sing to my grandmother who was in a nursing home when we visited her every Sunday after mass. My grandmother didn’t speak much but I believe my singing gave a sense of peace. I remember once my mother said that my grandmother had tears in her eyes.

When my grandmother was younger they used to call my grandmother “ The Madonna of the Church”. She had a voice that would bring the good out in anyone.

I was young when my grandmother passed but I loved her deeply for the time we had.

Looking back, I’d say my grandmother shared with me her love for music. I just took it to a further level.

Variety is the spice of life and all my exposure to different cultures, religions, and lifestyles I incorporated a little a bit went into creating YRK.

I was born in Central Jersey and I later moved to South Jersey as a young boy.

The move turned my life upside down. It was a major culture shock to me.

I felt the difference in education, community, and family.

The struggle to fit in was ongoing. I made acquaintances along the way. Each one added something to the person I am today.

I was raised as a Roman Catholic. I was taught the teachings and practices of the faith from a baby to a young man. With my faith, I have developed a deeper understanding of my abilities and strengths to pursue my path in music.

In my lifetime, I have learned being myself is good enough for me. I am proud of who I am and I continue to work in being a better person each day.

In school, I often got into trouble since I was misunderstood and bullied. I was viewed as

the bad kid when actually I become the victim. With the passage of time, I evolved into a more confident individual and I spoke out and become an advocate for myself. Finding my self worth set the foundation for me to develop my love for music.

Despite, all my resistance, my family is my constant. They always have my back and willing to support my dreams.

The support of my family and close friends have reiterated my belief in myself and my motivation to keep me focus and striving to make it to the next level in the music business.

Through it all, I found my voice.

As time passed, I created and developed the YRK Movement. I made a name for myself. Now, I am known as YRK da Rapper. My music is a way to express myself in a positive way and it has taught me to process the things in the world around me that I don’t have any control over.

I adore my fans and appreciate their loyalty and support when I produce new songs and videos.

I am proud to be a multicultural young man but the world around us looks down and criticizes any differences. I embrace my whole self and express my individuality through my music.

Hopefully, my music can inspire ours to pursue their dreams no matter how hard or unattainable they may seem to be.

My success can’t be measured in dollars. The knowledge I have gained is the reward in its self.

In five years, I just want to help the homeless people to ensure their basic needs are met. I plan on doing this by funding projects to build adequate housing, provide resources to get proper medical care, and to receive nutritious meals to sustain their health and wellbeing.

I would like to support them in finding substantial work or educational opportunities to make a reasonable wage to buy necessary items.

My legacy to be left behind will be to remember me as a caring, selfless man who reached to out to offer help to all. Hopefully, others can find inspiration and happiness in my lyrics.

My music goal is to change the world. May my music give peace and comfort where there is sadness and violence.

I can be reached on all platforms and social media.

If you are serious about getting in the business reach out and I’ll teach you what I know.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.