Beat logo

You know what songs suck? pt.1

I'm a hater to my core. No, but seriously I'm just not a fan of these songs.

By Jay,when I writePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
You know what songs suck? pt.1
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

I'm probably the only one I know that not only dislikes songs on Apple or Spotify to make sure they never come up again, but I also make sure they go into their own folder to rot with the other songs that made me feel queasy, made me shake my head, made me exclaim "ugh shut up," or simply made me turn off because it just didn't...hit. Why? Maybe because I'm a hater to my core, or maybe I just like taking note of what songs I dislike and why. What do I do with them? Usually nothing except maybe bringing them up in conversation, or rolling my eyes when they play in the background of a tik tok video (I'm looking at you "Oh no. Oh no. Oh no no no--"NO GOSH NO.PLEASE STOP).

So, without further ado, here are songs that get my undies in a twist.

Number 1 is no fun (shout out to trending sounds)

Oh No by Capone

This song physically hurts me. It's not the high pitched voice (tone), that's okay on its own. It's the fact that I've heard that high pitched "oh no. oh no no. no..." voice soooo many times that it haunted me no matter where I turned. I refuse to listen to the full songs (actually most tiktok snippets make me forget there's a full song anyway? like, that song only exists in those 15 seconds). Then, the vids usually aren't interesting enough to justify the agony.

Number 2 sounds like poo (especially in comparison to other songs by them)

Punch by NCT 127

There's different groups under NCT (I'm counting WAYV for obvious reasons) and many members. So, they're gonna have a loooot of songs, and they do already. They're from a company that loves experimenting and NCT has a lot of different sounds and concepts. So, of course not everything will be liked by everyone, including me. I feel like NCT127 has more flops than bops (overall, usually only a part of the song slaps). This song happens to be a flop. I think it's the whispering, and 1:45-1:55. Usually I like the whole Taeyong and Mark going back and forth, but it felt forced here.

(Also, NCT Dream carries)

Throwback for: Number three...a sordid sight to see (and hear)

Happy by Pharrell Williams

This song always felt like it was mocking me. Okay fine, I'd be lying if I said I didn't dance and sing it happily and willingly at first. But, that Happy Happy Joy Joy this song gave off, flew away very quick and left me with...(I'm kinda embarrassed to admit this) rage. Why are you happy? I just failed my math test. I am not in fact happy enough to hear this fifty times a day from my little sister, the radio or my own head that keeps it on repeat.

Maybe if we bring it back it wouldn't be so bad? Let's see.

Fun fact: Pharell tweeted something that shows he agrees with those who were annoyed and angered by this song and him for releasing it.

Finally: Number 4...Save yourself a listen and just listen to Miley Cyrus' "Seven Things," aka the much better predecessor

10 Things I Hate About You by Leah Kate

I don't know what the "abcdfu" singer did, but I hope it gets undone SOON. I'll be honest and say I haven't heard the full song, I've seen vids and heard it repeatedly on Tik Tok. From what I gather, it's just a watered down version of that song by Miley Cyrus (yes, songs will remind you of other songs. the idea isn't new, but the delivery was freaking pulled from it in a bad way, you can't tell me it wasn't) and it's pretty cringy. It's just doesn't hit vocally, and the buildup isn't enough from what I've heard y'know?

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.