Beat logo

Witness The Dream

Written by Reggie Dormeus

By Sef LuciPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2
SEF LUCI

In studio with Sef Luci Pt.1

Sef Luci is a Bronx native – Queens raised artist that has been gripping the ears of NYC. You can stream his latest hits on Spotify.

JULY 24, 2017

KIMOSABESTAT

FullSizeRender (4)

“Ya just woke me outta hibernation/flow too Godly, fuck ya Satans” That’s a line from one of your latest freestyles “Throw in the Towel” which is to be featured on your Upcoming S.E.F project. What was your inspiration to write it and what was going through your mind when you were in the studio?

I wrote it at a time when I felt as if all the cards were stacked against me. Situations were tough, times got difficult and I just felt like everyone expected me to quit. When times get tough, people usually expect your knees to buckle and run away hiding from the pressure. Me. I’m not built like that. That’s why in the beginning I let it be known “It’s a different kinda animal you’re dealing with”. I don’t know how to quit. The pressure excites me. On the actual day of recording the record, it was a NY winter. Everyone knows how NY winters are by how bad it gets when they shut down highways and MTA starts advisories so it was more than a hassle to get there but I saw it as a challenge that was accepted. On arrival, I went straight to the booth and spoke to everyone that thought I couldn’t go 12 rounds.

How many records can we expect to be on your project?

Though I felt like I can tell my lyrical story for 100 tracks (laughs), my team and I narrowed it down 12 bangers. It was a tough process deciding what would make the cut versus what would stay in the shadows for now but I’m confident.

Every artist usually has a favorite track when they’re working on a mixtape or album. Do you happen to be one of those artists?

(Laughs) It’s like asking a parent with multiple kids “who’s your favorite kid”. They’re all my favorite. BUT. One of the records that does mean the most to me is “Black Kings” In this day & age, the black race is being forcefully pushed, mentally, physically and emotionally blinded from our greatness. We’re murdered for fighting for our basic rights when violated. Black is beautiful but there’s a different agenda that’s being pushed.

I also had a cool time getting “Not My Kind Of Girl” done. Everybody has had the one girl that had’em like “What the f*$k is wrong with you?” https://youtu.be/MQ3mlqpoIIA Who or what influenced you to excel in your music career?

I was born in the Bronx and raised in Queens so you already know I kept Nas on repeat but I also consistently vibed to Hov (Jay-Z), 50 Cent, Killa Cam, 2 Pac Jadakiss, Fabolous, Biggie, … the list can go for hours. I just grew up listening to so many dope artists. I also grabbed motivation from the situations I would be around but we can get into that another day.

When can we expect to have the finished product?

We’re working on finalizing a few things but you can look out for it between September & October. You’ll be able to stream it on Tidal, Spotify, Datpiff. We’re working on few other places so stay tuned.

9 out of 10x the answer is yes to this question but; can we find you on social media?

Instagram: SefLuci

Twitter: Therealsefmoney

Snapchat: Sefluci

Youtube: Sefmoneymusic

interview
2

About the Creator

Sef Luci

Creative from NY underground 👑

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a month ago

    I am not really a fan of Rap music, and yes, I am black. I like dance music, I get the message in the Rap, I guess it takes all kinds of music to appreciate the art of it though.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.