Beat logo

We Wish You A Merry Halloween

Halloween Playlist

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - October 2021
22
We Wish You A Merry Halloween
Photo by Neven Krcmarek on Unsplash

The end of September is nigh. It’s time to wake up Green Day, slurp on Pumkin Spice Lattes and wear your best fangs cause it’s time to celebrate Halloween in full swing. My Halloween playlist includes classic flicks, Tim Curry, Vincent Price, enchanting songs and fun villains. These are songs that I would play if I had a big Halloween party.

1) Thriller - Micheal Jackson

This song is the ultimate Halloween song for me. Everything from the music video, the lyrics, the footsteps and howls from the beginning. I love this song, and I believe it’s easily one of his best songs. Vincent Price’s voice over makes the song even better for me.

2) I Put A Spell On You - Pattycake

I couldn‘t find Bette Middler’s original version, but this version is still nice as it has the witchy tone. This version of the song originates from the Halloween flick, Hocus Pocus. It’s been a tradition for me to watch this film on Halloween and I love the film and the Sanderson Sisters are so entertaining.

3) Sweet Transvestite - Tim Curry

Rocky Horror Picture Show is one of my favourite musicals of all time. I love the costumes. Rocky Horror Picture Show is now a cult classic and it reminds me that Halloween is a time where you can party and be who you want to be.

4) Toxic Love - Tim Curry

Another song from Tim Curry. I actually haven’t seen the film this song is featured in, but I love how funky this song is.

5) Come Little Children by Erutan

This is another one that I know from Hocus Pocus. I love this version from Erutan because it’s so peaceful and beautiful. Everyone knows Halloween is normally frightful, but Halloween can also be peaceful and calm.

6) Remains of the Day - Dennis Elfman

Corpse Bride is a great film. I love the characters and their designs. Also like the tale of the bride amd the story. It’s also got this great Halloween spirit that I love.

7) Walking in the Air - Nightwish

Gothic and symphonic metal just seems to fit so well in Halloween soundtracks and playlists. This is one of my favourite covers because it has a great impact. This song makes me think of ghosts and spirits from another dimension.

8) Enter - Within Temptation

I love Within Temptation’s early works so much. I love the combination of the growls and the soft soprano lyrics. Enter as a song as a great song that captures a Halloween spirit.

9) Haunted - Evanescence

I found this song on Spotify’s official Halloween playlist and there’s a good reason. The eerie music and vocals captures themes perfectly.

10) Jack’s Lament - Dennis Elfman

I feel that this song would have felt empty without a song from The Nightmare Before Christmas.

11) Everybody (Backstreet’s Back) - Backstreet Boys

Every disco I went to always played this song. I remember this song coming out sometime during the Halloween season.

12) Hellfire - Patrick Page

One of the best Disney villian songs. It’s epic, has a great build up and gives Claude Frollo a human touch, but at the same time, shows us the entitled monster that he has become with his obsession with Esmerelda.

13) Be Prepared - Jeremy Irons

Lion King‘s Scar has a great theme. Such a great spooky undertone. Disney villian songs feel so right on a Halloween playlist.

14) Friends on the Other Side - Keith David

This song is great. I really need to see the movie that this is from at some point because I am obsessed with this song.

15) Call Me Cruella - Florence + the Machine

Not seen the new Cruella film, but I really like this track. I like Florence + the Machine’s music because the vocals are lovely.

16) And When He Falleth - Theatre Of Tragedy

This song features voice overs from the 1964 film, The Masque of Red Death which was adapted from a story from Edgar Allen Poe. Vincent Price’s voice really stands out with this song.

17) Haunted - Poe

Poe‘s brother is Mark Z. Danielewski (author of House of Leaves). She references this novel in this song. I love this song because it’s so accessible and the atmosphere is spot on.

playlist
22

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.