Beat logo

Top 3 Songs to Feel Something

Music that'll make your soul feel good

By Aaron RanyerPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Top 3 Songs to Feel Something
Photo by Axel Antas-Bergkvist on Unsplash

Have you ever listened to a song and your body couldnt help but flow with it. You become engulfed by the vocals, beat, or instruments. I'm twenty years old and I always get compliments on my music choices. I never let my visions become skewed to one particular genre or artist, I'm always exploring whats out there. Now, I'm not sure how old you are or where you're from, but these songs to me are a universal work of art. They are from all different periods of time, from all different walks of life. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

To kick things off I want to introduce an older song. By older I mean this song was originally released in the year 1933 by Joe Venuti and His Orchestra. Later in 1953 a woman named Billie Holiday released it on her album titled "Billie Holiday". If you are not familiar with her I highly recommend skimming through her music, but the one song I will be introducing to you is titled Moonglow. The song itself has been perfomed and recorded numerous times by many musical talents and has become a jazz standard. Holidays version has become one of, if not THE most popular version of the song. Her voice is smooth, calming and unique. She took a different approach to the song by slowing the tempo causing it to be more emotional than upbeat. The addition of the trumpet adds a lot of diversity to the sound. If I were to put this song to scenery, it would be playing on a record player in an old Southern home.

My second song recommendation is by an artist named Daniel Caesar. His song "Japanese Denim" released in 2016 truly gives me goosebumps. One of my favorote parts being the introduction of the song which consists of guitar riffs and a simple drum beat. The song has undertones of seductivity and bittersweet love. The use of synthesizers is genius on this song especially during the final chorus and ending of the song. If you listen closely to the lyrics you'll notice that Caesar is comparing the longevity of his denim jeans to his rather short relationships, saying that his jeans will last him longer than any lover. At the very end of the song there is a bittersweet feeling as a falsetto sets in and you realize that Caesar insinuated to taking his own life while wearing his denim jeans, the only thing that has lasted him forever. The piece as a whole is amazingly put together, with or without the context.

Next on the list is a song by Kanye West. Although West has been a pretty controversial figure in the music industry, it does not take away from the genius that is his music. The song "Moon" from his album titled "Donda" (after his mother) relased in 2021 is a pure work of art. It features two other popular artists; Don Tolliver and Kid Cudi who are the primary vocals. Overall it is mellow and calming as it also features the Sunday Service Quior for background vocals. The moon is a representation of a place of peace, healing and comfort to the artist, that he seems to be struggling to reach. To some, the moon is also believed to be a resting place for loved ones who pass away which could change the whole context of the song to seeking closure and dealing with grief. Personally, out of every song I have and will speak about on this list, "Moon" is my go to. Sitting in my car late at night, volume all the way up, I become fully emmersed in the experience that is "Moon".

Well, you've reached the end of the article and I hope you took the time to listen to at least one of these amazing songs. I hope I broadened your music taste or introduced you to an artist you may have never heard of! Please let me know how you feel about these songs. I would love the input!

song reviews
1

About the Creator

Aaron Ranyer

Just a twenty year old with interesting views who needed a creative outlet :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.