Beat logo

Tina Turner (1939-2023): Farewell to a Legend

A Tribute to a Music Icon

By D. ALEXANDRA PORTERPublished 11 months ago Updated 9 months ago 5 min read
9
Public Domain

May 24, 2023

Queen of Rock 'n' Roll – Reuters

Magnetic Singer of Explosive Power New York Times

Tina Turner was raw. She was powerful. She was unstoppable. –Former President Barack Obama and Former First Lady Michelle Obama

The world lost a legend today, Tina Turner. Born on November 26, 1939 in Brownsville, Tennessee as Anna Mae Bullock, the iconic singer started life as a daughter of poor sharecroppers in Nutbush, Tennessee. She rose to prominence as a rock star and was famous around the world. In her Swiss home, she passed at the age of 83.

Turner was heralded as the Queen of Rock 'n' Roll. Her music delivered passion and power. Some of her songs became fan-favorite anthems that included "What’s Love Got to Do With It" and "We Don’t Need Another Hero." As music royalty, she inspired millions of fans.

Twice, Turner was inducted into the Rock 'n' Roll Hall of Fame. She won eight Grammys, was the first woman to appear on the cover of the Rolling Stone, and was honored with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. She commemorated fifty years in the music industry.

In tribute to Tina Turner, I am sharing my top ten favorite recordings of her performances with lyric excerpts or background on them. Also, I am adding personal commentaries, some of which are insights learned from being knocked down, refusing to stay there, and playing her music as my Resilience Soundtrack when I got back up.

1. "We Don’t Need Another Hero"

Looking for something, we can rely on

There's gotta be something better out there

Love and compassion

Their day is coming (coming)

All else are castles built in the air

https://genius.com/Tina-turner-we-dont-need-another-hero-thunderdome-lyrics

This monumental song is one of my anthems. Empowerment is more nuanced and complex than looking for a hero; hence, the title. Besides, the greatest heroes lie within ourselves every time we face our greatest fears and refuse to be immobilized by them.

2. "What’s Love Got to Do With It"

You must understand, oh, the touch of your hand

Makes my pulse react

That it's only the thrill of boy meetin' girl

Opposites attract

It's physical

Only logical

You must try to ignore that it means more than that

https://genius.com/Tina-turner-whats-love-got-to-do-with-it-lyrics

Sensual intimacy is not always connected to that life-long love commitment of “forever after.” Love is beautiful–love is sacred, but sometimes, heat is not about love.

3. "Paradise is Here"

You say you want to live some

Move out into the fast lane

You say you need excitement

To make you come alive

Some place a million miles from

The shadows that surround you

https://genius.com/Tina-turner-paradise-is-here-lyrics

Well, I’ve been there, done that, put it on a T-shirt and a digital billboard.

4. "Private Dancer"

Well, the men come in these places

And the men are all the same

You don't look at their faces

And you don't ask their names

https://genius.com/Tina-turner-private-dancer-lyrics

Enough said.

5. "Nutbush City"

Twenty-five was the speed limit

Motorcycle not allowed in it

You go to store on Fridays

You go to church on Sundays

They call it Nutbush

https://genius.com/Tina-turner-nutbush-city-limits-lyrics

I never would have survived in a town like that. Never-ever! I am stubborn, proud, and go my own way, though I do appreciate good company.

6. "Proud Mary"

We never ever do nothing

Nice and easy

We always do it nice and rough

https://genius.com/Tina-turner-proud-mary-1993-version-lyrics

Hmmm, T-shirt 2.

7. "Tonight"

I will love you 'til I reach the end

I will love you 'til I die

I will see you in the sky tonight

https://genius.com/Tina-turner-tonight-lyrics

This sentiment lives in my heart. When I love, I love deeply.

8. "Two People"

Two people living on the edge of life

Are people running out of dreams and time

I can hear it when you tell me so

And I can feel it but I can't let go

https://genius.com/Tina-turner-two-people-lyrics

This could be on T-shirt 3, but I know when to step away from the edge.

9. "Nam Myoho Renge Kyo"

“Nam comes from the Sanskrit namas, meaning to devote or dedicate oneself.

Myo can be translated as mystic or wonderful, and ho means law.

Renge, meaning lotus blossom…

Kyo literally means sutra and here indicates

the Mystic Law likened to a lotus flower…”

https://www.sokaglobal.org/resources/study-materials/buddhist-concepts/the-meaning-of-nam-myoho-renge-kyo.html

Nam-myoho-renge-kyo: This is a principle based on the teachings of a 13th-century Buddhist monk, Nichiren.

10. "Dancing In My Dreams"

I've been running from the truth

I've been running since my youth

Tired of running

I will stand here till you see

I am you and you are me

Tired of running

Now when I lay me down to sleep

I will be dancing in my dreams

https://genius.com/Tina-turner-dancing-in-my-dreams-lyrics

The Queen laid down for a final sleep. I hope that it brought magnificent dancing.

Ms. Tina Turner: I am in mourning, but I celebrate you.

Additional References

Eames, T. Tina Turner: Simply her 10 best songs ever, ranked. Smooth Radio. https://www.smoothradio.com/artists/tina-turner/best-songs/

Grimes, W. Tina Turner, Magnetic Singer of Explosive Power, Is Dead at 83. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2023/05/24/arts/music/tina-turner-dead.html

Powell, T. B., Chowdhury, M., & Vera, A. Tina Turner dies at 83 - news and tributes. CNN. https://www.cnn.com/entertainment/live-news/singer-tina-turner-death-news/index.html

Tina Turner. Biography. https://www.biography.com/musicians/tina-turner#quick-facts-1

Tina Turner - Chart History. Billboard. https://www.billboard.com/artist/tina-turner/

Valdez, J. How Tina Turner's Buddhist faith gave her the strength to leave Ike Turner. Los Angeles Times. https://www.latimes.com/entertainment-arts/music/story/2023-05-24/tina-turner-buddhism-ike-turner-nichiren

playlist
9

About the Creator

D. ALEXANDRA PORTER

Force of Nature

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Well done, and good listening! She was such a great artist! Requiescat in Pace! My parents would play her all the time in the 90's when I was a kid, and I named a box turtle they got me as a pet Tina Turtle.

  • ema9 months ago

    Great artist and strong woman! Among other things, she had to fight to build her new carrier after divorce from Ike Turner ( and to keep the stage name too), her personal life is also an example of determination and strenght. I love your top ten! The performing with David Bowie is so sweet, they were big friends, 2 masters of music!

  • Mack Devlin10 months ago

    She not only created hits, she created anthems. Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome would not have rocked so hard without "We Don't Need Another Hero" as the backdrop. Love it!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    This tribute is simply amazing💖. She IS an Icon in every sense of the word. I was floored when I heard the news of her passing. Fly away, Tina. You left an important legacy for us to remember for many years to come. 😔 Also, I never knew what her real name was... Anna Mae Bullock is a beautiful name.

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    What energy this woman had, Bye Tina, sing on wherever you are. Great playlist and tribute.

  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    VERY WELL PUT TOGETHER R.I.P. TINA

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.