Beat logo

This House Is Not Haunted

You Know Ghosts Don't Exist

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
10
There Are No Ghosts

I’ve done one Halloween playlist and seen that others are doing second and third ones. I think if you actually include videos , it takes a little more effort , though not quite the real time I had to put in making mix tapes in the seventies. I am amazed when I think of what I did then , I would think of nothing splicing cassette tape with glue and scissors to make recordings , something my fingers could not even consider now.

I then found that the Vocal “Graveyard Smash” Challenge had closed three weeks before Halloween, but not to bother , I really still want to put this one out, so her we go down that desperate dark alley, to who knows where.

This is the first song that came to mind and will be the lead in song

The Men That Will Not Be Blamed For Nothing - This House Is Not Haunted

The Men That Will Not Be Blamed For Nothing are steampunk atheists with a penchant for comedy and comic times and one of the best live experiences that you will ever have , but this song and accompanying video is incredibly creepy. I love it.

Jordan Reyne - The Proximity of Death (Blue Eyed Boy)

Jordan Reyne is one of the most incredible artist that I have ever heard , with her dark Celtic melodies , steeped in mystery. I have all over her albums and she captured me when I walked into the room and first saw her. Then I heard that voice.

Jordan Reyne - Go Tell Aunt Rhody (from Resident Evil 7)

Again this is just so creepy and being attached to Resident Evil 7 just adds to the menace that Jordan projects.

Peter Lawlor - Mad Alice Lane (A Ghost Story)

Extremely atmospheric , and I used it in one of my ghost stories. Peter Lawlor said I named this after a spooky alleyway I walked past before doing a gig in York.

It was used in the Land Rover commercial made by Nils and Roland (Harfensixpence is better than Harfenpenny is better than...) at Dorlands.

Blue Oyster Cult - Nosferatu

"Nosferatu" was released on Blue Oyster Cult's Spectres album from 1977 This uses F.W. Murnau's classic 1922 film “Nosferatu” as a stunning visual backdrop to the song.

This isn't the first time that the movie has been used as a video for the song, and it probably won't be the last, as anyone familiar with both the film and song has , had the film playing in their mind every time they hear this song.

Tom Waits - The Earth Died Screaming

This is just very scary to listen to , the wooden block instrumentation and Tom Wait’s voice going from a growl to a scream will disconcert anyone , but it is an incredible piece of sound.

Lux Aeterna from "Requiem for A Dream" - Clint Mansell

This is majestically frightening piece composed by Clint Mansell who started out with Grebo Hip Hop outfit Pop Will Eat Itself > this I did not expect , but he has become a very respected film and classical composer, but I still love my Pop Will Eat Itself records and play them regularly.

DEAD EYES OPENED - Beautiful And Brave

Dead Eyes Opened are a three piece Goth band from Glasgow I only got to see once at the Cluny . A dark , menacing goth sound that is perfect for inclusion in this Halloween playlist.

David Bowie - All The Madmen

One of my favourite Bowie songs (and there are a lot of those) from “The Man Who Sold The World”. This is not full on horror but full on creepiness with lots of unexpected items creeping into the dark narrative.

And that is your lot, I hope you enjoy it.

playlist
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.