Beat logo

Things I wish I knew when starting my guitar journey

Things I wish I knew when starting my guitar journey

By Shivam Published about a year ago 4 min read
1
Things I wish I knew when starting my guitar journey
Photo by Jefferson Santos on Unsplash

Ah, the guitar journey. It's a long and winding road that we all embark on with hopes of becoming the next Jimi Hendrix or Eric Clapton. But let's face it, starting out on the guitar can be tough. There's so much to learn and so many mistakes to be made. When I started learning guitar, there was so much of confusion, so much lacking confidence and a thousand shivering fingers. But somehow, I made it through. However, there were things that I wish someone could tell me and make my journey smooth as butter. And I don’t want you to suffer through the same. So, as someone who's been there, done that, and has the calloused fingertips to prove it, here are some things I wish I knew when starting my guitar journey:

• Know that practice is indeed the key, but it doesn't have to be boring. When I first started playing, I thought the only way to get better was to practice scales and chord progressions for hours on end. But that's just not true. Find songs you love and learn to play them. It'll keep you motivated and make practising fun. And know that this is not true for guitars alone but all musical instruments. Because when you enjoy the learning process, you make it farthest.

  • • Your guitar setup also matters my friend. A poorly set-up guitar can make even the most experienced player sound terrible. So, invest in a good setup and make sure your guitar is comfortable to play. A guitar setup must not necessarily include amplifiers and music boards, it can be as simple as having a few accessories. So, go out and buy your favourite guitar accessories from sites like Shopify, but free. Believe me, your journey will be so much fun. Here are a few examples of what you can consider: slider capo, tuner, fancy picks, etc.
  • • Keep in mind that your fingers will hurt, and maybe hurt as hell. When you first start playing, your fingertips will likely feel like they're on fire. But don't give up! Keep playing through the pain, and before you know it, you'll have calloused fingertips that can handle even the toughest strings. Because as they say in ‘crazy heart’: the harder the life, the sweeter the song. This doesn’t mean you’ll be punishing yourself with whips to make the guitar sound sweeter. Just go with the flow, my friend.
  • • There's no one "right" way to play. Everyone has their own playing style, so don't get bogged down by rules or "proper" techniques. Play the way that feels best for you and makes you happy. However, there are a few things that can indeed make your playing better and faster. Consider those and compare if these techniques really work for you or not.
  • • Comparison is a fool’s way of quitting earlier. Don't compare yourself to others. It's easy to get discouraged when you see other guitarists who are lightyears ahead of you. But remember, everyone started somewhere. Focus on your own progress and celebrate your own achievements.
  • • You don't need expensive gear to sound good. Surely, a fancy guitar and amp can make you sound great, but they're not necessary. Focus on your playing and technique first, and the gear can come later. This way, you’ll be focused on what is required and save yourself from getting distracted by many fancies out there. I remember buying unnecessary things and spending hours on those with no benefit at hand.
  • • And why not start jamming with others? Learn to play with others as it is a great way to improve your skills and have fun. So, join a band or find other guitarists to jam with. Not only will it make you feel connected but also help you pull your playing up to be along with others.

We all make mistakes, but all of us don’t have to make the same mistakes. This is why our brains are evolved to tell stories, so we could teach others about the pits to avoid and the waves to sail. Starting out on the guitar can be tough, but it's also incredibly rewarding. So, keep practising, don't compare yourself to others, and most importantly, have fun!

instruments
1

About the Creator

Shivam

Helping people communicate complex ideas using storytelling

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.