Beat logo

Things I’ve Seen And Heard This Week

TV shows, A podcast and some music

By ClarePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Things I’ve Seen And Heard This Week
Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

Feeling a bit poorly has forced me to camp out in bed or on the sofa in front of the TV, something I haven’t done in a while. I did watch some great things on TV though, so I’ll share those with you.

The Shrink Next Door

This is on Apple TV, if you have Sky or EE, it’s worth checking as you can get free subscriptions for Apple TV for 3-6 months, there is some great stuff on there.

The Shrink Next Door is based on true events. Marty, played by Will Ferrell, has recently lost his parents and his sister Phyllis, played by the brilliant Kathryn Hahn, encourages him to see a therapist.

Marty reluctantly makes a visit to Dr. Ike, played by Paul Rudd and they slowly form a friendship that sees Dr. Ike taking advantage of the kind and lonely Marty.

Our Father

Another mind-blowing crime documentary from Netflix.

Don’t be confused by the title, this has nothing to do with religion, but what happens when a woman, whose father was a sperm donor, submits her DNA in the hope of finding some half-siblings

When I started watching, I thought about how unethical it was, but as the program went on, I found myself gasping in complete disbelief several times, just when you think it can’t get any worse, it takes another sinister turn.

Loot

If you’re after something that will make you laugh out loud, then this is for you.

Another gem from Apple TV starts with Molly Novak, played by Maya Rudolph (our favourite bride from Bridesmaids) getting a divorce after 20 years of marriage, her divorce settlement is $87 billion.

After doing what most of us have done after a painful breakup, letting her hair down, although, in probably a much more glamorous fashion than the rest of us, she finds herself involved with her charitable foundation, which she was unaware of.

Despite Molly’s wealth and ignorance of the reality of the normal people around her, you can’t help but love her and want her to do well.

Big Boys

It’s written by Jack Rooke, who is the main character, played by the brilliant Dylan Llewellyn, who you may recognise from Derry Girls.

Jack has just lost his dad and deferred his first year at uni. When he starts he meets Danny, who he shares “accommodation” with. The Jack and Danny joke went through my head immediately, don’t worry, it’s explained.

Jack, who is yet to come out as gay, forms a wonderful friendship with Danny, who has some serious struggles of his own.

I loved the focus being on the straight best friend instead of the gay best friend, it’s something we rarely see.

Jon Pointing plays Danny beautifully and whilst I loved Jacks story, it was Danny that had be sobbing one minute and then snorting with laughter the next.

Every single cast member is brilliant and after watching the series in one go, I am seriously considering watching it again!

More please Channel 4, I want to follow the lives of Jack & Danny forever!

The Floreana Affair: Murder In Paradise - Dark Histories

One for you true crime podcast lovers. I love the Dark Histories podcast and this is a perfect example of why. A combination of true crime and history, I had never heard of this particular story before.

A small group of settlers in the Galapagos Islands in the 1930s, when one of them, an apparent Baroness determined to build a hotel in their quiet oasis vanishes, never to be seen again.

Song Of The Day

Each morning, I post a link on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter with my song of the day to get our days off to a good start, here’s this week’s playlist.

tv review
Like

About the Creator

Clare

Personal growth, Self-Care, Motivation, Mindset.

I write about my life lessons to inspire.

You can reach me at [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.