Beat logo

The Wonderful Saw Doctors

This Is Just A Playlist Of A Few Of My Favourites By The Band

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
2
If This Is Rock And Roll, I Want My Old Job Back

Introduction

I was first made aware of The Saw Doctors when my friend Mike O'Brien (CEO of Opencast and partner in Mog On The Tyne Cat Cafe) told me about the cover of the album "If This Is Rock And Roll, I Want My Old Job Back" which featured their dads on the front cover and the band on the back cover in identical poses. I was in Sunderland and bought a copy from Volume (another sadly missed record shop) and I completely loved it.

I found this wonderful description of the band:

Born into a repressed, catholic, conservative, small-town, angst-ridden and showband infested society the saw doctors are trying to preserve the positive elements of our backrounds and marry them to the sounds which have culturally invaded our milieu through TV, radio, 45's, fast food restaurants, 24 hour petrol stations and electric blankets!

Today "Same Oul' Town" has been on repeat on my player, and I was considering turning this into a review of that album, but then decided that the band have loads of songs worth sharing so I will try for a real Saw Doctors playlist for you.

"I Useta Love Her" from "If This Is Rock And Roll, I Want My Old Job Back"

The second single from the album with the nun doing Bob Dylan's "Subterranean Homesick Blues" with the word sheets in this 2007 Re-Release for the RTE People In Need Telethon.

Originally it spent 35 weeks in the Irish charts including a record 9 weeks at #1 and became the best-selling single of all time in the country.

"That's What She Said Last Night" from "If This Is Rock And Roll, I Want My Old Job Back"

I don't think this was a single but is a stunning fond from the band's debut album.

N17 from "If This Is Rock And Roll, I Want My Old Job Back"

This is just pure feel-good from the band, and I assume that the N-17 is a road in Ireland, but I don't really care, the song is just brilliant. I also like this version by Tolü Makay and the RTÉ Concert Orchestra that I found, absolutely beautiful.

"Everyday" from "Same Oul' Town"

This is a heartbreakingly beautiful song from 1995 about women leaving Ireland to access abortion services abroad – released by the REPEAL project on the eve of the referendum on the Eighth Amendment. It is very relevant given the repulsive Roe vs Wade ruling in the USA. Listen to this, if nothing else, on this list.

"Share The Darkness" from "Same Oul' Town"

This must be one of the few songs that paints darkness in a positive light, and that statement itself looks incredibly wrong, but listen to this beauty and you will know what I am talking about.

"To Win Just Once" from "Same Oul' Town"

This is a song for all of us, especially my friends chasing a challenge win or a Top Story or some success in their life, I love the Saw Doctors. Sorry that slipped out but I really, really do.

"Wake Up Sleeping" from "All The Way From Tuam"

I love the sentiment of this song even though the music is a little dark. A wonderful song of lost love.

"Why Do I Always Want You?" from "If This Is Rock And Roll, I Want My Old Job Back"

This is perfect Saw Doctors, unrequited love, and this is a great live take.

"Clare Island" from "Same Oul' Town"

I'll finish this playlist with a live take of this absolute beauty. It's been on my player today and I have not skipped any song on the album. Absolute beauty.

song reviewsplaylistlistbandsalbum reviews90s music80s music
2

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.1m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ Thrds

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsMariannDharCathyJudey

DawnMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.