Beat logo

The Poetry of Boygenius

Analyzing the newest album by the indie-rock supergroup.

By KBPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 8 min read
1
Image Courtesy NYT/Harrison Whitford

Boygenius, the indie rock supergroup formed by Phoebe Bridgers, Lucy Dacus, and Julien Baker in 2018 has recently come out with an album titled, The Record. It was released on March 31, 2023 to great success, where they recently performed each weekend at Coachella (and a special appearance with MUNA that went viral).

And after listening to it over ten times through, both digitally and on a record, I’m still finding new quotes that tear my heart to shreds. As I can’t seem to escape from their lyrical genius I decided to create a list of my favorite quotes and poetic moments from the album. Thus, this isn't so much a review as it is an appreciation and analytical reflection of the music.

Without You Without Them

“I want you to hear your story | And be a part of it”

“I’ll give everything I’ve got | Please, take what I can give | I want you to hear my story | And be a part of it”

The first song on this album feels very visceral; starting off with a capella and a 3-part harmony is incredibly underused and sets the tone of the album in a raw and vulnerable way. A clear indicator on how much of themselves they put into this record.

It also gives a nod to the theme of lineage, which gets brought up at a few points later on.

$20

“How long’s the Chevy been on cinder blocks? | Mama told me that it don’t run on wishes | But that I should have fun pushing the flowers that come up | into the front of a shotgun”

“So many hills to die on”

The chaotic nature of this song matched with the literal lyrics that pull you into the story feels nostalgic; as if it’s written from your younger self to your older and current self. This is reflected in "the film" directed by Kristen Stewart, where Julien Baker wakes up in a small race car bed (I also love how they didn’t find an actor to play young Julien Baker).

Emily I’m Sorry

“And I can feel myself becoming | Someone only you could want”

“We can burn out in the freezing cold | And just get lost”

“I’m twenty-seven and I don’t know who I am | But I know what I want”

I teared up the first time listening to this song. Absolution and reflection are difficult topics to write about and putting it all out on the line, literally speaking to someone from the past feels very healing. As opposed to the chaos rock vibe of "$20," the stark difference is an emotional…low (in a good, brokenhearted way).

True Blue

“You can’t help but become the sun”

“And it feels good to be known so well | I can’t hide from you like I hide from myself”

“I remember who I am when I’m with you | Your love is tough, your love is tried and true blue”

I’m right there in this song with Lucy Dacus; the storytelling is beautiful. It feels like a true love song. Not one that is overly happy, but one that addresses its imperfections…embraces the imperfections because at the end of the day, relationships can only be strengthened by openness and vulnerability; being truly seen by each other.

Cool About It

“Wishing you were kind enough to be cruel about it”

“Once I took your medication to know what it’s like | And now I have to act like I can’t read your mind”

“But we don’t have to talk about it | I can walk you home and practice method acting | I’ll pretend being with you doesn’t feel like drowning”

The relationship built up in “True Blue” feels shattered, even if they aren’t necessarily interconnected. The aftermath of a relationship where you’re trying to gaslight yourself and others into being okay is…a lot. So, I also think “we don’t have to talk about it” any more than that.

Not Strong Enough

“Black hole opened in the kitchen | Every clock’s a different time”

“Spinning out about things that haven’t happened”

“Not strong enough to be your man | I lied, I am | Just lowering your expectations”

“Always an angel, never a god”

I love this song. Some of my favorite songs are the ones that are incredibly sad thematically and lyrically but have a happy tone and nice beat that you can also dance to. This is found in songs like Harry Styles’ “As it Was” and Noah Kahan’s “All My Love.”

This one just is a culmination of all of it. And finishing the song with “And go home…go home alone” is such a complete ending.

Revolution 0

“I don’t wanna die | That’s a lie | But I’m afraid to get sick | I don’t know what that is”

“Wish I wasn’t so tired | But I’m tired | If you’re not enough | Then I give up and then nothing is”

The universal feelings and complex emotions expressed in this song is one that a lot of people have been connecting to. But for some reason, it wasn’t on my radar as much as the other songs when I first listened to it…until I thought of the end like a lullaby. I can’t help but think of the song as talking to someone (like a baby) who can’t speak back, who doesn’t yet understand, so you are free to just speak. The intention was to be talking to an “imaginary friend” as expressed in the opening phrase, but I connected to my interpretation a bit more which made me love the song; of which, the openness to interpret songs differently is one of the best parts of music in general.

Leonard Cohen

“Leonard Cohen once said | ‘There’s a crack in everything, that’s how the light gets in’ | And I am not an old man, having an existential crisis”

“I never thought you’d happen to me”

I like how short this song is, that they didn’t try to push for more. Not every song has to be 3 minutes and 30 seconds, and I like that it is what it is. Also, Leonard Cohen is a perfect reference to have in this album, and the connection does not go unnoticed.

Satanist

“Will you be an anarchist with me? | Sleep in cars and kill the bourgeoisie | At least until you find out what a fake I am | spray paint my initials on an ATM”

This song is overall just satisfying in terms of matching phonetic vowels (rather than a direct rhyme). It also feels like it’s about a rebellious teen just going through it, which is a great callback to “$20,” but now perhaps older and more independent.

We’re in Love

“You could absolutely break my heart | That’s how I know that we’re in love | I don’t need the symbol of a scar | So put down the knife, we’re not swapping blood.”

“Will you still love me if it turns out I’m insane | I know what you’ll say, but it helps to hear you say it anyway”

“If you rewrite your life, may I still play a part? | In the next one, will you find me? | I’ll be the boy with the pink carnation pinned to my lapel | Who looks like hell, and asks for help”

Nearing the end of the album, the final three songs seem respective to each artist, this one being fronted by Lucy Dacus. The imagery of a boy with a pink carnation pinned to a lapel is A) beautiful and B) symbolic. A pink carnation symbolizes both gratitude and the concept of never forgetting someone. Cue tears because later Dacus sings, “There is somethin’ about you that I will always recognize.”

She goes on to sing about hummingbirds and baby scorpions, both of which are strong symbols as well. Hummingbirds are small but fierce fighters that defend their territory, whereas baby scorpions can symbolize the power we have within us. Thus, Dacus is trying to remind this person about all the strength they have within them.

I could probably write an essay about just this song but will leave it at the thought that it also thematically reminds me of her song “Please Stay” from her album Home Video. I’d like to think there’s somewhat of a connection between the two.

Anti-Curse

“It’s comin’ in waves | Shoots through my mind like a pinball strayed”

“I guess I did alright, considering | Tried to be a halfway decent friend | Wound up a bad comedian”

“Was anyone ever so young?”

I want to see this song in an indie-film with the heartbroken-but-now-healing main character running in the middle of the street at night in an empty suburb. So much so that I added it to my playlist of songs that I want to write short films about.

One of my favorite qualities of this song is its build. It starts off with Julien Baker’s subdued singing, but by the end of the second verse she gets into her higher register which is matched with the intensity of the production. But then at the end it pulls back, something that usually comes in following a bridge but builds back in a repeat of a chorus. Instead, the song ends and blends without a pause into the next.

Letter To An Old Poet

“You make me feel like an equal | But I’m better than you | And you should know that by now”

“I shoulda left you right there | With your hostages, my heart and my car keys”

“I wanna be happy | I’m ready to walk into my room without lookin’ for you | I’ll go up to the top of our building | And remember my dog when I see the full moon”

The last quote mentioned above musically matches up to the lines in the song “Me & My Dog” from Boygenius’ first EP; “I wanna be emaciated | I wanna hear one song without thinkin’ of you | I wish I was on a spaceship | Just me and my dog and an impossible view”

First off, the new song implies that the dog dies, which in itself is depressing but it also shows both growth and stagnancy all in one. In one place, Bridgers sings she wants to be happy which is a clear step forward. Whereas, the stagnancy is shown in the readiness to be able to stop thinking about “you,” which she is still unable to do. Seeing as this is a 5-year difference, the honesty of being unable to forget even after such a long time is truthful to the human experience.

If you listen to this song on a vinyl, the last line of the song, “I can’t feel it yet but I am waiting,” skips and repeats over and over in the middle of the word "waiting.” I think I listened to it for a full minute before realizing. The cleverness of this moment is just *chef’s kiss.*

Now, just listening to The Record is overwhelming, so breaking down each song is…also tiring. Which just goes to show how much thought and effort was put into the entirety of the album. I can already tell that there will be songs that I come back to further down the line and resonate to in a different way, which is one of the most telling qualities I can find in an album.

quoteslistindiealternativealbum reviews
1

About the Creator

KB

A snippet of life. Some real, some not. Thanks for reading!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=kb

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.