Beat logo

The New Groove: October Tunes

Singing actors, spooky tunes, and new singles!

By Leigh HooperPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3

Hello and welcome to The New Groove! If you’re new here, then let me tell you about this series. The New Groove is an easy-read article that helps you discover new music every single month! If you’re already a fan let me give you a recap of what happened in September.

Last month I focused on a BLM inspired tune by The Muses Matter, a podcast from YouTuber Kristen McAtee and “Seen Me Like This” by Kali Claire. You can read September’s article, and this to the new music here.

This month I’m bringing you anew fun tune from a Fast and Furious actor, giving you some spooky tunes to make this Halloween the best one EVER, and introducing you to Bastille’s new song “survivin’”.

Now you’re probably wondering which Fast and Furious star has released their own music, and if you haven’t heard about it yet then you’re in for a treat! The action man himself, Vin Diesel, has released a song with Kygo’s help. “Feel Like I Do” is the most 2020 thing to happen in 2020. Who knew this man could sing?

“Feel Like I Do” is an upbeat tune about falling in love with someone you’ve never met before. The song is slow and mellow with chill EDM vibes, but definitely has party anthem potential as I feel like there is going to be loads of fun remixes of this song! It’s what we need this year, something nice and unexpected. It makes me happy when I listen to it. A funny fan commented: “I wish all the lyrics were ‘I am Groot’" and to be honest, I think that would’ve been pretty hilarious.

-

Talking of what we need this year, with everything that is going on I think that we deserve to treat ourselves with a fun Halloween! Here are two Halloween songs that you must have on your playlist so you can have a spooktacular time.

An old-school tune that I recommend is “(Don’t Fear) The Reaper” by Blue Oyster Cult! This song was released back in 1976 but I still listen to it every Halloween. This rock song tells a tale of eternal love and the inevitability of death, and how not to be scared by that inevitability. This tune is haunting as well as gothic. Making this song even spookier, this Halloween anthem has appeared in the movie Halloween, and in the television series Supernatural. This just goes to show it needs to be on your spooky playlist ASAP!

If you’re into more modern music, then “all the good girls go to hell” by Billie Eilish is the best song for you. With mentions of both Lucifer and hell, I think it’s safe to say this a great Halloween tune. With spooky undertones and clever lyrics, this is a great song for your playlist.

Billie is a great artist for creating Halloween themed tunes, so go check out her songs if you’re looking for playlist inspiration! 10/10 recommend, and if you can copy her outfit for Halloween then I’ll be very impressed.

-

Now, onto new tunes. This month I’m focusing on Bastille’s new tune “survivin’”. This band is most popular from their songs “Pompeii”, and “Good Grief”, to name a few. It is said that Bastille cannot make a bad song and I fully agree.

Survivin’” is a happy, uplifting tune that is super easy to listen to. I could have it on repeat for hours. It’s simply great, and fans are overjoyed with the fact the band have released music unexpectedly. This tune gives off great vibes and is definitely one you need to listen to if you’re feeling down! Get this on your happy playlist immediately.

Until next month, bye!

song reviews
3

About the Creator

Leigh Hooper

A writer in her twenties with a head full of ideas and a room full of books✨

My Instagram handle is: @leighooper

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.