Beat logo

The Language of Music

How It Brings Us Together

By Brianna DiPrimaPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Music has been around longer than we could even imagine. Ever since humans were created that was when music was as well, because it’s something that we all need in our lives and what brings people together. Music can help bring together people who have totally different lives, people who think completely different from one another, and can help them become friends or learn about other people. When we listen to music sometimes we don’t feel like other people will understand why we listen to certain types or certain artists, but when you go to a concert you feel a sense of community. Like all these people that are at that concert are going through or who feel the way you do, and you feel happy and safe and like you’re with family even though you’ve never even met.

For example my cousin and I have always been close, but when I was younger I never would have thought we would be as close as we are, and now I couldn’t imagine a world where we aren’t. I think part of the reason we grew closer was because we started talking about music, we had something to talk about that only the two of us really understood, and that helped open us up to talk about everything else. And to this day we can sit and talk about music for hours and never run out of things to say, and I’m grateful because music gave me something to talk to my cousin about and help me feel comfortable talking to him about other things too.

The thing that amazes me about music is that there are so many forms of it. So many different genres and ways to make it. With music you have unlimited possibilities to create something amazing that people will love. And with each genre are different ways to get what the artists wants to say to the audience and different ways to help people relate to what the artist is saying. Sometimes music makes you want to dance, other times it makes you want to cry, makes you want to love, makes you angry. Music can convey so many different emotions that a lot of other things can’t.

There are certain bands and artists that talk about serious issues in their music. And sometimes when you listen to it by yourself, it’s a little easy to think that you are alone in what you feel. But then you go to that concert or see them perform somewhere and you realize that there is a sea of people that can relate to how you feel and what you are going through. You realize that you’re not alone and that there is a community that you can relate to and who can help when you feel alone.

Music has helped me through some of the hardest times of my life. I can say that I wouldn’t be where I am today without music and without knowing that I’m not alone. I’m not sure if I could be who I am without the way music has helped me. Music is one of the most powerful things in the world, you can do so much and say so much about how you feel. You can create the most amazing pieces of art that people around the world can listen to and relate to. Music is a universal language and nothing will ever change that, music will always bring people together, and will always help people in times of need. I am grateful that I found a love in music the way that I did, I’m grateful that I was able to learn about it and how to make it and what makes it important to the world. And I hope that it never stops being as powerful as it is.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Brianna DiPrima

I am a huge comic book, movie, music, and tv nerd. Anything entertainment based I enjoy. I want to write about those types of things and maybe try to introduce people to things they haven’t seen yet. Find me on Twitter @DiPrima1997

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.