Beat logo

The Beatles: Now and Then

A Moment in Musical History

By Judith JaschaPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
2

I am sitting here wiping tears from my eyes. Today marks a day that will forever go down in musical history. I am grateful that I am able to be witness to it. Along with the joy that comes from the memories, comes a heartache knowing that I will never be able to experience anything quite like it again.

In 1995, I first experienced the sensation known as Beatlemania. Within a few days of watching the Beatles Anthology documentaries, my life was changed forever. The first day that it stopped playing on tv, I sobbed. By chance, VH1 played the video Your Mother Should Know, and I was happy again.

At that time when boy bands such as Hanson, Backstreet Boys, and N'Sync was the in thing, I filled my cd collection with Beatles albums, my first two cds I ever bought were Abby Road and A Hard Days Night. Eventually, I would add nearly all of them. At some point, I grew anxious to fit in with the popular groups at school so my albums took a back seat to newer, hipper music.

As I grew older, my confidence grew, I no longer cared what people thought. I liked what I liked, and I dusted off my old albums and never regretted again. It was because of those four lads from Liverpool that I picked up the guitar and piano. They helped me heal through some of the most painful times in my life.

John passed in 1980, nearly six years before I was born. On New Year's Eve in 1999, George was brutally attacked in his home. After that, his health rapidly declined as he had been battling cancer prior to that. In November 2001, he finally succumbed after a brain tumor. I remember that weekend, switching between laughter and tears. The laughter came from the joy I got as I watched George videos, quickly switching to tears as I realized he was gone.

Today Paul and Ringo are not only alive, but still highly active in their careers, even touring though they are both well into their eighties. I have yet to see them live, but it is my biggest dream in life. I am amazed at how younger generations are discovering them, and falling in love with them as people did all those years ago. Their music continues to remain timeless.

I am a second generation Beatles fan. I am so happy that I was alive back in 94 when Paul, George, and Ringo reintroduced us to this incredible music. And now, to be here watching this video with Paul and Ringo. The tears come with the smile on my face. The same way we felt when we got to listen to Free as a Bird and Real Love, we feel as we listen to Now and Then. Only now, we are hit with the realization that this really is it.

I dread the day the world has to say goodbye to Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr. They are some of the only memories of my childhood that still remain in existence today. I can't imagine life without them in it, the excitement I feel when I see them performing, knowing that they are still thriving.

John Lennon was gone before I came about. I love to watch videos and hear stories of him walking through Central Park, always willing to shake hands and sign autographs for his fans. He was one of them, someone you weren't afraid to walk up to or wave with a "hi John."

I was fifteen when George passed. He became my favorite Beatle as soon as I hear My Sweet Lord. Amazingly, one of his favorite country singers as a child was my great great great uncle. The circle of life at its finest, as he truly is one of my biggest inspirations. Like John, he left this world way too soon, yet his legacy will live forever.

Paul McCartney is still rockin' at eighty-one. He was my original number one, once inspiring me to wear black jeans and a black vest after I saw him in a newspaper wearing the same thing. I hope he has many more years left.

Ringo, or as I often refer to him, "Richie" The one that at one point annoyed me to no ends, but now my face lights up whenever I see him. At eighty-three, he looks about sixty. I can't imagine the Beatles being quite the same with anyone else behind those famous drums.

In a way, this is the final page in a beautiful book, one that I wish would go on forever. But as heartbreaking it is that its over, we have the comfort in knowing that it will never completely go away. The memories, the love, laughter, friendship and music are will last forever. To those four lads from Liverpool, thank you isn't enough.

bands
2

About the Creator

Judith Jascha

Mom, sister, teacher, student, writer. I love to touch on all areas as I like to expose myself to new things. My goal is to use my experience to entertain and educate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Levinson6 months ago

    Thanks for your post. I was wiping tears from my face, too. But as I say in my story on the same topic, there will never be a final page in story of The Beatles, for me.

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    I was 7 when John was killed, which was also the moment when I first heard them on tape (I received a greatest hits collection from someone that year). And I am still grateful they were in my life from such a young age. I will be listening... And I thank you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.