Beat logo

The Antidote to Chaos: Being Completely Basic

Raise your hand if you were personally victimized by 2020.

By Katie BrozenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Second Place in 2020 Rewind Playlist Challenge
12
Raise your hand if you were personally victimized by 2020.

I think we all have our hands raised right now.

Everyone struggled and was affected in some way by the catastrophic events of 2020. Whether you lost a loved one, your job, or even just your personal space, this year was the Regina George of modern times.

I'm not ashamed to admit, that I didn't keep up my music game this year. And both Spotify and a Buzzfeed quiz circa 2014, confirmed that I am 100% guilty of being basic.

But after a year that just would not end, I wear that title with a badge of honor, even if it dates me and makes me old and tired. Because guess what, I'm that too!

Despite its negative and often comical connotation, being basic was a much-needed coping mechanism this year.

But being basic is not only about have an ironic taste in mainstream pop culture. At its core, and according to the Cambridge dictionary, it's about being simple and uncomplicated.

Being able to provide the starting point from which something can develop.

Reflecting back on 2020, being basic looks pretty good.

Rewind 2020 to Revive the Basic Life.

"Don’t show up, don’t come out” and “I should’ve stayed at home,” A Quarantine Anthem from Dua Lipa, Future Nostalgia

I listened to A LOT of Dua Lipa. The empowering female artist whose music made me dance alone in my bedroom even on my worst days.

Songs like "Break My Heart", "Don't Stop Now", and "Future Nostalgia", made me literally dance like nobody was watching - because, well, they weren't.

"IDGAF" could also be considered a 2020 theme song. Because let's face it, we all kind of gave up at some point this year. And "Boys will be Boys" is a call-out of the behavior we let "powerful" men get away with, another underlying theme in the world today.

Kygo was another artist that dominated my playlist.

Feel good vibes that transport you to your ultimate happy place. And yes, there was definitely more dancing involved. Hits like "Freedom", "Sexual Healing" and "Feels Like Forever", all held meaning beyond just a solo-underwear-only dance party.

But Kygo songs had a deeper message with "Lose Somebody" and "I'll Wait". Both about love and loss, which definitely hit home this year.

Glory, Glory, Hallelujah!

Sun is shining, shining down

Glory, Glory, Hallelujah!

I'm alive

And I'm feeling, feeling fine

"How many more days can you hold out?

How much longer can you wait?" she asked

There was a time I thought I, I could answer

But my tongue gets tied as my thoughts drift away

Lost Frequencies "Sun is Shining" was my morning routine this year. It brought back a sense of gratitude, simply to be alive each morning. And it reminded me that "feeling fine" in 2020, was a marked accomplishment.

Who could forget the "Toosie Slide"??

Bored at home, what else could we have asked for then a catchy beat and a trendy new social media app to spend all our free time with?

In complete desperation for connection, we shamelessly showed off our attempt to learn some new dance skills to millions of strangers.

To round it all out, my favorite song this year was hands down, Pitbull's "Time of Our Life".

An anthem of why we should live it up and "party like it's our last" because we never know what's going to happen tomorrow. "Because everyone is going through something".

Leave it to Pitbull to give us an iconic dance mix that reminds us that every day we have on Earth should be something we take advantage of.

2020 was a year defined by chaos and uncertainty.

It was hard to feel like anyone achieved anything.

If you're like me, and you scored through the roof on the basic quiz, just realize, being basic is not something to be ashamed about.

Embrace your basic-ness. Know that it's not about being a follower or a cliche, but it's about enjoying what you enjoy and owning it.

If you want some more basic vibes and some uplifting songs that will get you up and dancing, my full playlist is below.

An added bonus track, I forgot to mention. There are some Binaural beats on there under the track "Focus". Because in amidst the chaos, who really got anything done?

playlist
12

About the Creator

Katie Brozen

Professional chef. Sharing stories, secrets, and recipes from behind the line of a professional kitchen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.