Beat logo

Ten Succulent Slices of Little Feat

Ten of My Favourite Little Feat Songs

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
3
Image from https://peel.fandom.com/wiki/Little_Feat

Introduction

I am not sure when I first heard Little Feat, it must have been in the seventies and I did like their music. They had their own brand of Americana similar to The Band or The Grateful Dead and are still going today with some original members.

I watched a documentary on Amazon Prime about Lowell George who was the main driving force although not the only one in the band..

They were formed by lead vocalist and guitarist Lowell George and keyboardist Bill Payne in 1969 in Los Angeles. George disbanded the group because of creative differences shortly before his death in 1979.

Surviving members Bill Payne, and Paul Barrere re-formed Little Feat in 1987 and the band has remained active to the present.

The current band is: below, as other members have since departed this mortal coil.

Bill Payne – vocals, keyboards (1969–1979, 1987–present)

Sam Clayton – congas, vocals, percussion (1972–1979, 1987–present)

Kenny Gradney – bass (1972–1979, 1987–present)

Fred Tackett – guitar, mandolin, trumpet, vocals (1987–present)

Scott Sharrard – guitar, vocals (2019–present)

Tony Leone – drums (2020–present)

The Wikipedia page gives all their lineups so you can dip into that for more information.

Guitarist Jimmy Page stated Little Feat was his favourite American band in a 1975 Rolling Stone interview

The Lowell George documentary is here, and one of the incredible things is that George could always play every note in the song exactly right every time.

I am going to concentrate on their first seven albums with Lowell George for this selection but hopefully, you will listen further after listening to a few of these songs. I think all of these songs appear on the Best of Little Feat which you can check out below.

I also love the Neon Park album sleeves that they had, and you can read more about them here.

1: Willin’ from Little Feat and Sailin’ Shoes

This song appears on their first two albums and is both a trucking song and a love song, and absolute beauty.. These are a sample of the beautiful lyrics.

And I was out on the road, late at night

I seen my pretty Alice in every headlight

Alice, Dallas Alice

And I've been from Tucson to Tucumcari

Tehachapi to Tonopah

Driven every kind of rig that's ever been made

Driven the back roads so I wouldn't get weighed

And if you give me; weed, whites, and wine

And you show me a sign

I'll be willin', to be movin'

2: Sailin’ Shoes from Sailin' Shoes

A perfect slice of Little Feat’s wonderful Americana

3: Dixie Chicken from Dixie Chicken

Just a gorgeous fun love song.

4: Oh Atlanta from Feats Don’t Fail Me Now

Similar in feel to Dixie Chicken, another feelgood slice from the keyboard player, Bill Payne. The song finds him yearning to be in Atlanta with a red-haired girl who sets his heart on fire

5: Romance Dance from The Last Record Album

The opening song from the album with an angular verse and a to die-for chorus.

6: Long Distance Love from The Last Record Album

A beautiful heartbreak song about loving someone from a distance.

7: Time Loves A Hero from Time Loves A Hero

There is not much I can say about this title track from their sixth album, just listen and you will see what I mean.

8: Perfect Imperfection from Down on the Farm

Another song of lost love from their final album with Lowell George. Love is the Perfect Imperfection.

9: Feats Don’t Fail Me Now from Feats Don’t Fail Me Now

Another timeless slice of Little Feat still as fresh today as when I first heard it.

10: Rock and Roll Doctor from Feats Don’t Fail Me Now

I saved this to last because it is probably my favourite Little Feat song and the album is constantly on my player, well all five of their initial albums are, and time Loves A Hero is one I only have on vinyl so that is another essential album.

Conclusion.

I love the music of Little Feat and the boxed set below is always close to my player.

70s musicalbum reviewsbandscelebritiesplaylistsong reviews
3

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • aaliyah kale2 years ago

    Well written

  • I don't know their whole repertoire but luv what I do know. So glad you included a playlist.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Super seventies thank you for sharing your story!!!👏💖😊💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.