Beat logo

Synesthesia and Summer

The Magic of Music

By Noah GlennPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Synesthesia and Summer
Photo by Jon Sailer on Unsplash

‘“Ah music,” he said, wiping his eyes. “A magic beyond all we do here!”’ JK Rowling uses Dumbledore, a headmaster of a magic school, to remind us the power behind music. It seems to transcend so many other methods of relaxation and recuperation. Music therapy, singing to plants to make them grow, and music and meditation are beyond magic. The right playlist and the right relaxation method can combine for a perfect storm of rejuvenation.

Summer brings about my favorite form of meditation. Imagine a stressful week of work or the kids not listening and a desperate need for escape can arise. Many different forms of meditation and stress relief are popular. Sometimes I go for a run or bicycle ride, but the best meditation for me is more unconventional. I slip into the backyard, open the lawn shed, and get out… a push lawn mower. After gassing it up and priming the mower, I pull the cord and listen to the sounds of the engine. Next, I plug headphones into my phone and pick twenty minutes worth of music to help me refocus. I am driven by challenging lyrics, good beats, and piano sounds mixed in.

For a bit of an upbeat start, I put on “Synesthesia” by Andrew McMahon. Synesthesia to Mr. McMahon is summed up when he says, “I see colors when I hear your voice.” This song is perfect for lawn mowing meditation. I can hear one of my favorite songs, the sounds of the lawn mower, and see the colors of summer around me with the powerful aroma of fresh cut grass. It truly seems to be a form of synesthesia and a feast for the senses.

By Felicia Buitenwerf on Unsplash

The relaxing sounds of piano keys come on next, preferably something by Gabe Dixon like “On a Day Just Like Today” or “Disappear.” “Because right or wrong, we will hear the angel’s song and disappear.” The slow melodies and piano are relaxing as the sunshine warms the body. By now, I am nearly halfway done with mowing, sometimes with a light sweat on my forehead. The cares of the week and impatience with those around me begin to fade. The music and nature are a perfect blend to soothe whatever is bothering me.

Then the peaceful sounds of Peter Bradley Adams reach the headphones next. “The Longer I Run” has long been a favorite of mine. It is quiet and melancholic, but I feel a sense of peace in its lyrics and rhythms.

  1. Synesthesia by Andrew McMahon
  2. On a Day Just Like Today by Gabe Dixon
  3. Disappear by The Gabe Dixon Band
  4. The Longer I Run by Peter Bradley Adams
  5. Note to Self by Ben Rector
  6. Begin Again by Dispatch

What would meditation be without a little self-improvement? “Note to Self” by Ben Rector is full of good thoughts like “I don’t know how long I have to keep reminding myself to be who I want to be and not somebody else.” I do not get much more wrapped up in myself than at this point. The mowing is almost done, one more thing is off my to do list, and my stress has dripped off my forehead in the summer sun.

Lastly, I will play something unlike the others. “Begin Again” by Dispatch reminds me that I can start over after my meditation and make the day or week better. As I put the lawn mower back in the shed, my hands still feel like they are slightly vibrating, and my brain begins to buzz with motivation to take on the next task. Walking back to the house, I study the straight lines left by the mower, and the overall optical appeal of a freshly mowed lawn wash over me. Like synesthesia, the combination of nature and music create near sensory overload. A quick glass of cold water and the body and mind are refreshed and ready for what comes next.

alternative
1

About the Creator

Noah Glenn

Many make light of the gaps in the conversations of older married couples, but sometimes those places are filled with… From The Boy, The Duck, and The Goose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.