Beat logo

Sweaty Betty: A Workout Playlist

Tunes to shake your tush!

By Leigh HooperPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
6

So, it's lockdown 2.0 in England and the home workouts are back!

No gym, just cardio around the nearest park, and leg and ab workouts all while you binge a new show on Netflix. The winter season has kicked in here in the UK, and it has brought all of its cold air and dark nights with it. It's definitely NOT the type of weather that's going to get you motivated.

SO, if you're WFH (working from home) and you're bored of sitting at your desk, or if you're missing the gym and need motivation to work out, here are some songs to sweat to!

It doesn't matter if you don't even have a set workout plan, these songs will make you dance, and that in itself will burn calories. (which to me, is a win win...even if you can't dance!)

THE MOTIVATOR

"Chopped" - David Diggs, Rafael Casal

This song puts me in such a good mood and motivates me to workout! "Chopped" is a fast-paced, clever lyric, mood boosting song. I feel like a bad b*tch listening to this song, and fuels my adrenaline.

If you want to feel pumped and get into the mood to workout then this is the song for you! It is perfect for warming up; I'll be jumping around, spitting the lyrics and being overly dramatic, and my pulse will be raised even before I start working out. 10/10 recommend.

-

GIRL POWER, BABY

"Like A Girl" - Lizzo

Did someone say feeling like a queen while working out? This song makes it possible. I feel UNBEATABLE while working out to this song. "Like A Girl" is such a feel good song, you'll want to dance as well as do your squats!

Before lockdown I used to see all the muscly guys at the gym, making excessive noises and trying to show off, and I used to feel like I wasn't good enough. However, this song reminds me that I don't have to feel inferior or insecure, and I can be equally as strong as a guy. Lizzo holds the power to make me feel good while working out.

You won't even worried about looking like a sweaty mess, this song will power you to keep going and not give up!

-

MOVE TO THE BEAT

"You Need To Calm Down" - Taylor Swift

Okay, I know what you're thinking. You're probably questioning how Taylor Swift can be a good workout motivator, but hear me out! This song has the PERFECT beat to time your squats, hip-thrusts, sit-ups or literally ANYTHING to!

I can't explain it, but it's super helpful to listen to this song while doing reps. It's a happy song, so you don't feel depressed while you're working out, and for some reason it just works. It helps me time myself, perform reps slowly and in a controlled manner.

Don't take my word for it, try it out!

-

FEEL GOOD

"It's Time" - Imagine Dragons

This song is one of my favourites to workout to. It's a feel good song, with an upbeat tune, but it is also an awesome motivator. The drums within the song helps me continue my workout - whether it be another rep of push-ups or another minute of a wall-sit!

"It's Time" keeps me determined to not give up on my workout. The end build up of the song really pushes me through to the end of my workouts, and it's such a great feeling. I end up smiling every single time, knowing that I've completed my workout. If you want to feel like that, then this song is for you!

-

If you're interested in listening to these tunes, and more, while you workout head over to Spotify to listen!

I hope these songs get you sweaty, and you make the most of your lockdown workouts! :)

playlist
6

About the Creator

Leigh Hooper

A writer in her twenties with a head full of ideas and a room full of books✨

My Instagram handle is: @leighooper

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.