Beat logo

Stevie's Song

Music and Art

By Grace KopeskyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Stevie Nick's

I am someone who has always lived at the speed of corporate life. I could never find the time to simply live without worry. I rarely took the time to notice the small yet wonderful things that surrounded me. Like taking time to smell the roses or watching a bird in flight. I stopped looking at shapes in the clouds and never noticed the whisper in the winds. Life was just passing me by. I was living in the fast lane with no speed limits. I took my family and friends for granted because I was more concerned with success and money, so my time was given to strangers.

Then one day in August 2020 I just lost everything. I lost my house, my job, and my relationship. My daughter was battling depression for months without my acknowledgment. I felt alone, vulnerable, and scared about my future.

As a child, I was passed from house to house while being cared for by the welfare system. I was raped, molested, hungry, and scared. I ran the streets at the age of nine and have been on my own since the age of fourteen. The abandonment I felt from my own family pushed me to succeed but when I failed it triggered all my childhood trauma. The pain began to creep into my mind and I found myself crying daily with no reason to continue.

I knew things needed to change but I did not have the answers and I felt numb about my future, my weight, my mind, and my finances. I was spiraling down a destructive path until April 24, 2021. I decided to listen to music while cleaning the house and a song called, “Has Anyone Ever Written Anything for You” by Stevie Nicks began playing on my YouTube feed. In that instant, I began to cry. I wept with a flood of tears streaming down my face. I felt so broken but I instantly fell in love. I felt her pain and her lyrics whispered words of love that I yearned for all my life.

I became obsessed. I began buying everything Stevie. I felt a strong connection to the legendary rock star and began purchasing concert tickets and traveling out of state to pay tribute to this beautiful gold dust woman.

Her music is beautifully transforming me. I opened my heart to the pain I harbored for years. Every day I continue a journey into her music. It has been difficult and there are times I break down to release my anger. I often ask myself why this is happening to me. I should react to the music with logic but my heart was awakening to every bad experience and decision I have made throughout my life. I knew I had to find forgiveness to move towards a happier abundant life. I would dance to her music with my eyes closed and I would cry, laugh, and pray. Every ounce of my energy was exhausted.

Facing your demons can be rewarding if you have the guts to open your heart and allow the process of self-healing to flow. Stevie Nick’s has given me the guidance to make these changes within myself and after 25 years of silence I began writing and creating castles with my pencil. I sketch my vision and then I write a story.

Her music has captured my soul and I use it as a means to develop creativity and to take time appreciating the things I already have. I listen daily to her music and truly believe she has a beautiful soul connection with her fans. It is a mystical and magical ride that heals my heart and brings comfort to my ordinary life. The songs enter directly into my soul as if they were written for me.

pop culture
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.