Beat logo

Spirit of Christ (Today) by Christopher Curtis Driver

Gospel, Christian, R&B, Jazz.

By mysoundMusicPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

It’s my great pleasure to share my first Gospel recording in 42 years of Ministry in the Southeastern United States.

“SPIRIT OF CHRIST (TODAY)” is one of about 20 original songs that I look forward to recording.

If the music blesses your soul, feel free to share it with your family and friends, in Church and on social media.

TAKE CARE, STAY SAFE, HAVE FAITH, BE BLESSED!!

- Christopher Curtis Driver

Tell us a little bit about yourself. Do you come from a musical family.

Somewhat of a musical family. Several members play instruments but I am the only one to do music professionally.

Do you have a preferred genre?

Yes, gospel.

Do you write your own music, or do you collaborate?

I write my own music but I am willing to collaborate with someone highly anointed to write/produce gospel music.

This is exciting, your 1st song release … what inspired it?

I have been inspired through many (42) years of Christian Ministry in word and song pursuant to the calling I received from God.

Were there any challenging aspects to creating and/or recording ‘Spirit of Christ (Today)’?

The challenges were that I never got “discovered” by a record label or promoter so I had to save up the money to pay producers to make first a demo, then the master.

Do you have any other plans relating to this release? A video?

Yes. I have twenty (20) or more songs that I have written and desire to record as soon as possible perhaps in an album. I am also willing to try video. I would like very much to get signed to a great Gospel label and go on tour.

Do you plan to release one song at a time, or do you have plans to work on an Ep or album?

I have plans to do both; and with 20 songs in my repertoire I have plenty of material to work with plus I am still writing.

Do you, or would you like to, perform live?

Yes. I am experienced as a live performer. I have preached as an associate pastor and sang solo and worked in the choir for 42 years plus. I also worked part time as a lead singer and solo r&b artist from 1968 to 1973 touring the “chittlin circuit” in Tennessee, Alabama, Mississippi, and Kentucky.

However, I would need a schedule and working conditions that would accommodate a person of my age (71) and partial disability. Half of my left foot has been amputated as I am an insulin dependent type 2 diabetic. I also have a mild case of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder and a mild hearing loss. Nevertheless I am fully able to tour effectively with reasonable accommodations.

What song, any song, do you think would be fun to perform live?

“Spirit of Christ (today)” by Christopher Curtis Driver.

Other than fame & fortune, is there something you hope to achieve through music?

As a preacher of the Gospel, since 1979, I am committed to “the great commission,”

“go ye into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature. he that believes and is baptized shall be saved. he that believeth not shall be damned.”

My personal testimony is that many souls that might not be pursuaded by preaching alone, could very well be converted by the word in song. As I have been blessed with some modest degree of musical talent, I feel that the ministry of music is an imperative for my life.

What music do you listen to ‘for fun’?

Gospel, Christian, r&b, jazz.

Who inspires you musically?

Marvin Sapp, Marvin Winans, Bebe Winans, Brian Courtney Wilson, Hezekiah Walker, John P. Kee, James Cleveland, Shirley Caesar, Cece Winans, Aretha Franklin, Billy Stewart, James Brown, Otis Redding, Sam Cooke, Marvin Gaye, Mahalia Jackson, Dottie Peoples, Jerry Butler, Canton Spirituals, Curtis Mayfield, Mississippi Mass Choir, Andre Crouch, Earth Wind And Fire, Tamela Mann.

Do you have a preference… vinyl records, cassettes, cds, or downloads?

I prefer cds and/or downloads.

Is there an instrument which you would like to learn and why?

Piano/keyboards and guitar in order to compose new songs.

Would you like to travel to other countries to perform your music? if so, what would be your first stop?

Germany

What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers instagram, spotify, fb, twitter, itunes? how would you want them to follow?

YouTube, Spotify, Facebook; need all types of followers in every way possible.

Are you currently working on any projects we should look out for?

Not currently; constantly looking for new projects.

Is there something you would like to say, that i didn't cover?

I am new to the music business and feel that I need a promoter/coach/manager/label to help me out. everybody I have talked to has told me they like or love my song, “Spirit of Christ (Today)”.

In less than six (6) weeks I have gained over 200 views and fifty-three (53) subscriptions on YouTube. plus 5 regular listeners on Spotify. I have accomplished this with virtually no prior experience on social media. Imagine what could be accomplished with the help of an expert.

interview
Like

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.