Beat logo

Songs To Take A Bath To

Grab a glass of wine, run some hot water and tune out.

By Samantha HearnPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Photo: Cottonbro via Pexels.

My favorite way to unwind is by taking a long bath. There's nothing more luxuriating to me than soaking in a tub of hot water with bubbles, bath salts, a few drops of eucalyptus oil, my favorite facewash, a glass of wine, the works. I take this pastime very seriously, ending most days with the lights off, candles lit and music on.

Baths are not only relaxing, they also benefit your muscles and joints, improve heart health, and calm the brain and nervous system. AKA the exact thing you need to do when you're feeling called to find some Zen!

I'm always making new playlists, but I've hand picked some solid choices from my Spotify collection for those days I need some extra chill on top at the end of the day.

<iframe src="https://open.spotify.com/embed/playlist/2F33cupZTCz8k1ymsKA459" width="300" height="380" frameborder="0" allowtransparency="true" allow="encrypted-media"></iframe>

Track 1: Awaken by Big Wild. This song starts the mood right with ethereal lyrics, a dreamy melody, and nostalgic tones reminiscent of 'lo-fi beats to study and relax to.'

Track 2: Baby by Ariel Pink. This song makes me feel like I'm floating with my lover in the clouds at sunset. It's whimsical without being silly, and sexy without begging for attention. Blissful.

Track 3: SUMMER by The Carters. The Carters as in Beyonce and Jay-Z, yes. This song takes me to, well, summer as the title suggests. Floating on an island somewhere without a care in the world. A Post-Covid world where we can relax, move slow and be close.

Track 4: Rolled Together by The Antlers. Ahh. I love this song so much. It's angelic and haunting at the same time, taking me on an emotional journey into the heavens. It's otherworldly, with a slow burn to a beautiful full ending.

Track 5: Chateau (Feel Alright) by Djo. This song takes me to another planet. I know he's at the Chateau but I'm on Jupiter, swirling in it's colors that match the bath bomb I just added to the tub. Did you know Djo is actually actor Joe Keery from Stranger Things? Turns out he's an INCREDIBLE musician. If you like this song, listen to the whole album and thank me later.

Track 6: Your Voice by Alfie Templeman. Let Alfie's voice drown out the rest of the world. This song makes me feel so calm and peaceful. It's a must for any chill playlist. Tune out. Float away.

Track 7: Flowers of Neptune 6 by The Flaming Lips ft. Kacey Musgraves. First of all, this collaboration has no business being this good. Wayne Coyne's voice with Kacey Musgraves softly backing him up the whole time is show stopping. So much peace. So much Zen. You know the making of this song was probably just so, so chill. At the end when Kacey says, "Alright, cool" I find myself in total agreement - yep, everything is cool.

Track 8: One Last Dance by The Spirit League. Nashville band The Spirit League released this song last Halloween, and even though it's a spooky tale about death and dancing I still absolutely love it for when I want to unwind. Haunting, melodic, and reminiscent of Ryan Gosling's spooky band Dead Man's Bones, it's a fine addition to the bath time playlist.

Track 9: Letter From The Moon by Miynt. Continuing our space journey earlier from Jupiter, we've now made our way to the Moon. Let Swedish artist Miynt's breathy voice carry you away "out of the blue, and into the light," as the song says. This song makes me feel warm, dreamy and damn near transcendental.

Track 10: DHL by Frank Ocean. The first time I heard this song I absolutely fell in love with the introductory sounds. I'm not a musician, I have no idea what instrument or program made that insanely cool silly straw-ish sound. But DANG if it doesn't take me! This song grabs you without holding on, one of Frank's true masterpieces in my opinion.

Track 11: So Heavy I Fell Through The Earth (Algorithm Mix) by Grimes. You want to talk Zen? Talk to Miss Grimes. This song floored me! She has a mesmerizing way of creating music, all the layers compounding into one another to create a haunting, dark, but alluring sound. This song is heavy in all the best ways. It makes me never want to leave the bathtub.

Track 12: Downtown by Majical Cloudz. This song. Oh boy, this song. It's everything. It's main character energy, it's true love vibes, it's hope and foolishness and courage and laughter. It's driving late at night with the windows down. It's the first kiss you share with someone you've had a crush on for forever. It's second chances and new babies. It's the song you want playing in the credits of the movie they make about your life after you pass away. This is the best song on the playlist, and therefore the only appropriate ending to the list. Listen to it over and over.

playlist
1

About the Creator

Samantha Hearn

Hi! I'm Sammy Hearn, a photographer and artist based in Nashville, Tennessee. I like to write all sorts of things - DIY how-to costume stuff, photo series, short poems, fiction, you name it. My work can be found at www.samanthahearn.com.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.