Beat logo

Song Interpretation

"Push" -Matchbox 20

By Raine fielderPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Song Interpretation
Photo by Jefferson Santos on Unsplash

Isn't it funny that songs we hear growing up, as children, never seem to have the same impact they do once we hear them after we have personally experienced the subject matter of them?

One of the main ones in that category that stands out to me is the song "Push" by matchbox 20.

As a child, I did love this song and most of theirs but I didn't even care enough to try and get the lyrics of this one. Although I did listen to the next album (mad season) with "bent" and several other great songs, literally on repeat. I thought then, and still stand by it that Rob Thomas is one of the greatest and most poetic songwriters of our time. His writing ability is greatly underappreciated. So is his incredible voice, actually.

Since I had dealt with a lot of simple "breakups" as a teen, I did get and relate to the songs on "mad season".

That being said, Rob didn't write "Push" alone. It was co-written by Matt Serletic a regular songwriter for the band and he also has his hand in just about everything music-related. Look him up, he's written for other people as well.

That's enough history, I could actually go on all day about Matchbox 20, I'm going to have to write a blog about them soon. Anyway let's get into the lyrics. The lyrics will be in traditional black, and my interpretations will be in blue. These are interpretive to my personal experiences, and how I think when I hear it, although most are true to the actual intended meaning, some are up for discussion depending on the listener.

"Push"

She said I don't know if I've ever been good enough

I'm a little bit rusty, and I think my head is caving in

(he is telling us about something a female has told him, she's insecure, and hasn't "dated" in a while, and she is crushed by the stress of relationships and her feelings of insecurity)

And I don't know if I've ever been really loved

By a hand that's touched me, well I feel like something's

Gonna give

And I'm a little bit angry, well

(here we see the source of her stress and insecurity, she wonders if every guy she's been with just used her for sex, the rest is self-explanatory)

This ain't over, no not here, not while I still need you

Around

You don't owe me, we might change

Yeah we just might feel good

(this is her still, saying that she is trying to continuously give guys that treat her poorly a chance, this is essentially what she says to them after she complains and they threaten to leave, also could in part be to the guy she is speaking to which is Rob's "character" as he is not like the other guys she is referring to, she thinks he could be different)

[chorus]

I wanna push you around, well I will, I will

I wanna push you down, well I will, I will

I wanna take you for granted, I wanna take you for granted

Well I will

(I don't think this is meant to be the girl speaking or as Rob speaking for himself, I feel like the chorus is a little separated from the "story" and this is just the thing that is done to the girl by other men, this is basically sarcasm from Rob)

She said I don't know why you ever would lie to me

Like I'm a little untrusting when I think that the truth is

Gonna hurt ya

(these lines are so interesting to me, she is asking why he lies to her and says that it's because he doesn't trust her, not because he is a liar, she is almost blaming herself, it's amazing to think about it this way, as if she is seeing things from his perspective instead of just being mad at him for lying she is trying to understand his reasoning)

And I don't know why you couldn't just stay with me

You couldn't stand to be near me

When my face don't seem to want to shine

Cuz it's a little bit dirty well

(this part is especially relatable to me, because it seems as though almost all the guys I've know have come to me and practically begged me to date them or hang out with them. Then, the very second they see me as a human, they are gone. At first, they see the girls they don't know as this unattainable object that is perfect, putting her on the pedestal, they don't like the girl, they like the idea of the girl that they have created in their mind, which isn't fair. So the moment they realize she is slightly less than perfect, they can't handle it. They usually even get mad and try and force her to be the image they had of her. It is especially cruel in my case, in my opinion. Because I've gotten way past the point where I warn them about me, that I'm not what they really want, but they never listen, they act as though I am speaking a different language, they never get it. Then when actions speak for the words I already told them, they still get mad and blame me. And don't want anything to do with me. That's basically what these lines are about)

Don't just stand there, say nice things to me

I've been cheated I've been wronged, and you

(After she learned her lesson, as I have, compliments are the same old things she's heard before. It's a tired game and she has seen where it always ends up, the "nice guys" who flatter her, end up hurting her. She wants a guy that will be real with her. Not one that says nice things to her, one that gets to know her and sees her for who is really is and loves her with her flaws)

You don't know me, I can't change

I won't do anything at all

(still going with what I said above about myself, this fits. The guys don't truly know her, she is warning them as most girls do. And she isn't going to change who she is.)

[chorus]

Oh but don't bowl me over

(it's very interesting that this phrase has two meanings, one literal, and one figurative.

1. knock someone down.

2. informal- completely overwhelm or astonish someone, for example by one's good qualities or looks.

I think the writers meant to do this for both meanings, because of the pushing, literally don't knock her down or tear her down emotionally. But also don't captivate her with charm and make her fall for you.)

Just wait a minute well it kinda fell apart, things get so

Crazy, crazy

Don't rush this baby, don't rush this baby

(she finishes on a good note with this one, it seems, or bad if he is lying to her. We never get a clear ending to this but she wants to give this new guy a chance because he could be different, but she wants to take it slow. was he different? what are your thoughts? personally, thinking of it as Rob I would say he is a good guy, not a fake "nice guy" but an actual good guy)

[chorus]

art
Like

About the Creator

Raine fielder

Raine has been writing poetry since she was in seventh grade. She has written several poems, song lyrics, short stories and five books. Writing has been her passion for her whole life.

https://linktr.ee/RaineFielder

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.