Beat logo

Screw Valentine's Day

you're still my favorite holiday

By Jazzy Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Screw Valentine's Day
Photo by Cathal Mac an Bheatha on Unsplash

Valentine’s Day. Or better yet, the day we all wish Hallmark would have just left alone. A day the card companies went ahead and trademarked and realized was one of the only ways to keep them from having to file for bankruptcy. How did such a holiday come to be? Let me tell you there are so many theories, but my favorite is this. Enter: the Roman empire. One of the empires, some guy that had his name end with an -us, and he was power-hungry and started the whole manifest destiny before it was cool. So anyway, he heard that single guys fought better than guys with wives and girlfriends so he goes “okay no more marriage and dating”! The young men obviously didn’t like this, or more rightly, the young women didn’t like this. Enter our hero, some guy named Valentinus, or something like that. He decided to marry lovers in secret, thus coming to have the idea of Valentines. Other theories start with people dying and the people wanting to sign letters with names. Whatever. I have little energy to decide what to believe except that it is a barely qualifying holiday that is best left alone, and not in the hands of Hallmark cards.

So most Valentine’s Days I am alone, or if I have a boyfriend, they try to impress me. I have to say the most impressive Valentine’s day was a boy sang me a ballad in the park while singing on his guitar. Or what, the time another one flew a helicopter toy into the restaurant I was working and it was dropping rose petals and he showed up playing guitar in a tuxedo. I have to say it was impressive, but I had to sweep up the petals. The one that takes the cake is the year my now ex-husband spent the day with one of his girlfriends. You read that right, one of his girlfriends. Are you not entertained?

So if anyone has the right to make a playlist for the single and down heartened, it is I. I, your queen. Now my, I present but royal proclamation the list for the day that shall not be named. May we feast on half-priced chocolate the next day and gain any weight afterward.

Drown by Front Porch Step

Almost Lovers by A Fine Frenzy

Blood in the cut by K. Flay

Los Ageless by St. Vincent

Mr. Blue by Catherine Feeny

I Will Always Think of You by Jane Krakowski and Colman Domingo

Oh Heart by Tank and the Bangas

Impossible by Lyla Foy

Daylight by Foxworth Hall

Your Sake by Issues

Remember That Night? By Sara Kays

I Forgot To Be Your Lover by William Bell

Without you by the Kid Laroi

Another One by Sam Smith

At My Worst by Pink Sweat$

You broke me first by Tate McRae

Only God knows why by Kid Rock

Death bed (coffee for your head) by Powfu

I guess without fingernails the hills become an obstacle by Cecil, be more.

Some of these are a little romantic and I’m able to look back on the lovely memories I do have. Memories, they last. Songs are the ultimate way to feel and are transported to a different time and place. So while most of these are somewhat sad and able to get you into your feels about being sad on Valentine’s Day, I think there’s also a chance to be hopeful. A chance to think that maybe your next Valentine’s day you may be with your forever Valentine. I hope you know that even when things are hard, they don’t stay that way. Time’s arrow neither stands still nor reverses. It merely marches forward.

playlist
1

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.