Beat logo

Rick Henry Christopher's Jazz Art

Rick Henry's Music Road Trip III

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 11 months ago 6 min read
22
Image Created by Rick Henry Christopher

Rick Henry Christopher's Jazz Art is a series of digital art I created based upon the emotions and inspiration I receive from my favorite jazz musicians. Some of these pieces are based on photographs, others are based on drawings, some are based on a few splashings of color. Then I go to work on the computer putting them through various apps. I've created more than 75 pieces. In this article I am sharing six.

Esperanza Spalding

Esperanza Spalding

Esperanza Spalding is a name that most people don't readily recognize. But the music industry has taken note. She's won five Grammy Awards including beating out Justin Bieber for Best New Artist (Boy, did the academy ever get this one right for a change).

Let's dig a little deeper on how I discovered Esperanza. Like my food I thrive on diversity in my music. I enjoy food from various cuisines and food groups. I enjoy sauces and spices. Other times I like the bare basics. Music is the same. One moment I will be listening to a soulful ballad backed by a swirling orchestra then follow it with a raucous garage band hit from the late 1960s.

I have my methods in choosing new music. In the case of Esperanza there were a few categories I wanted to fulfill. It had been a while since I'd purchased anything by a new and up and coming female musician. So that was one criteria I wanted to fulfill. I also wanted to purchase something by a person of color because I believe in supporting the music of all people from a diverse cross section of cultures, races, ethnicities, lifestyles, and so forth. The last criteria I was looking to fulfill was to find something new in jazz. I am a huge fan of jazz, and I hadn't bought anything new in a while.

It did not take me long to find Esperanza Spalding. I logged on to Amazon to look at the new releases (this was February 2013 and I'm still buying CDs). The Grammy Awards were presented the night before and Amazon dedicated their entire launch page to the winners. Of course, the main winners were prominently featured: Mumford and Sons, Fun., Gotye and others. But I am more interested in the categories that don't get the attention. There she was Esperanza Spalding's album Radio Music Society won for Best Jazz Vocal Album. I'd seen the album advertised before in other places but passed it up because I thought maybe it was a rap album and I'm just not interested in rap. This time around I ordered the CD right away.

Nowadays I consider Esperanza to be my favorite current day female musician. She is a bassist, singer, songwriter, composer, and producer. My favorite album by her is Songwrights Apothecary Lab (a phenomenal Grammy winner). The album is two parts musicianship and one part science. The sounds Esperanza created with this album are out of this world and induce a feeling of peace and relaxation but is nowhere close to being a traditional jazz album.

Esperanza's voice is like liquid gold swirling around in the depths of my subconscious imagination. She gets right in there and gently digs.

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

Wayne Shorter

Wayne Shorter

Wayne Shorter is a legendary jazz musician. He's worked with Miles Davis and was a member of Art Blakely's Jazz Messengers. Shorter's biggest claim to fame is his work with the classic jazz fusion band Weather Report, of which he was a founding member. As a solo artist he released more than 20 albums spanning from 1959 to 2017.

Wayne Shorter's saxophone is one of the smoothest of all-time. He puts a little scat into his sax.

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

Antonio Carlos Jobim

Antonio Carlos Jobim

Antonio Carlos Jobim is the King of Bossa Nova. Bossa Nova is a cool jazz style which originated in the late 1950s in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The Bossa Nova beat is a simplified samba beat creating a more relaxed rhythmic feel.

Jobim mastered both Samba and Bossa Nova. After his composition "The Girl from Ipanema" became a worldwide hit in 1965, Jobim was mostly noted for his Bossa Nova works.

Jobim's style is a recognizable super smooth rhythmic sound. The drums in his music fit perfectly on a sunny afternoon enjoying the dark cherry ambience of a cool glass of Pinot Noir. Jobim's guitar is acoustically mellow and dreamy adding to the music's somber mood.

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

Roller Trio

Roller Trio

Roller Trio has released only three albums. Their last New Devices was released in 2018. But they are still lurking around in the background, so a fourth album is a possibility.

They are described as a Progressive Jazz band. I usually throw experimental and scientific into that description.

The standout for me is James Mainwaring's saxophone which in some songs is double (even) triple tracked then mixed with samples of sax solos and engineered with electronic effects which bring the saxophone up off the pallet to bring a whole new experience to the listener.

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

Ella Fitzgerald

Ella Fitzgerald

Ella Fitzgerald has rightfully earned the titles of Queen of Jazz and First Lady of Song. Her renditions of the "Standards" are the goalposts of which others are measured.

Ella not only had style, but she was also technically an exceptional singer. She was known for her purity of tone, impeccable diction, clear phrasing, perfect timing, rich intonation, and a "horn-like" improvisational ability, particularly in her scat singing.

Ella's ability to scat far surpassed her contemporaries and still sets the bar. She carries her tones and rhythm with ease and comfort. It's a pleasure to watch Ella Fitzgerald scat. Can we add another nickname to Ella? The Queen of Scat.

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

Ornette Coleman

Ornette Coleman

If you were to ask me who my all-time favorite jazz musician is, the answer would be Ornette Coleman.

Ornette Coleman is everything I look for in jazz. He is unique, original, experimental, professional, a polished musician, and he adds a lot of imagination to create a fractured sort of magic.

The interesting thing about Ornette is that in his early years he was considered an outcast, a rebel, even a fraud (I can relate to this). He was out there during a time when the mellower, more refined jazz sounds of Dave Brubeck, Donald Byrd, and Stan Kenton were riding high. Even Miles Davis and Thelonious Monk were considered tame next to Ornette Coleman. Though as time progressed Ornette became known as an innovator and a genius. In 2007 he was given the Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award.

≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈≈

I hope you have enjoyed my journey of color and jazz music exploration.

scienceplaylistlistinstrumentshistorybandsart90s music80s music70s music60s music
22

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨7 months ago

    Rick - your art is fabulous and it matches the music perfectly! I love these insights into your musical world! Are you also a blues music fan?

  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    Uniqueness is such a joy. This is food for the soul. I get the colors speaking for the sounds, so great. I like Esperanza's cool vibes. Never met her b4. This was a really great learning experience. Be well. Live long and prosper.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Too cool!!! In the 90s, the Caravan of Dreams venue was a performance center in Fr Worth Reading your story, it brought back memories. . Reminiscing, Kirk Whalum played his smooth jazz sax that evening. Loved the live performance. Loved your story too!!!♥️♥️💕

  • C. Rommial Butler11 months ago

    I'm only familiar with Ella, as Jazz isn't my mainstay. Your channeling her as a flower in full bloom is very much like the impression I always got of her wonderful music! I'll have to add some of this other stuff to my streaming playlist! This article was very well written!

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Excellent piece! I would love to see these images as prints for sale one day. They would make wonderful images on shoulder bags as well. My favorite is the Esperanza Spalding piece. It is so moody and Flyy! 😁 They're so great that you may want to use one for the new challenge that requires you to tell a story based on a piece of art! 😍😊😍😊😍😊😍

  • Wow, I loved this! The art that you've included along with it is fascinating, I really love and wonder how you did that. I love the idea of the art just expressing your emotions during the songs. And what a great breakdown of the musicians and the songs. You really know your stuff with music, this was quite informative! Oh yeah, and I loved the Bossa Nova button on the keyboard I had as a kid. It was my favorite. Now I need to go check out the King!

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    I enjoyed learning about these artists so much! As always, wonderful job with detail, history, and presentation! Amazing article, Rick!

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    Wow this piece is exceptional. You encompassed art, history and music in such a unique and engaging theme. I love Ella Fitzgerald and now really interested in purchasing Esperanza Spalding music. Your digital art is stunning. I particularly love the "Liquid Gold" ❤️👏♥️

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Just like Jazz music, Art affect our brain . Excellent, FYI story . Love Ella Fitzgerald voice as well . It’s like no other 🥰💕👌👏

  • Ward Norcutt11 months ago

    Very very cool stuff. Thank you for the introductions.

  • I’m a big jazz fan loved reading this definitely a new Esperanza, Wayne, Antonio fan I always get excited when I get turned on to artists I haven’t heard before Great Article well done Rick

  • River Joy11 months ago

    Great list and write up there are a few that I had never heard before! Well done.

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Very interesting! Several of these artists are new to me! And yes, she is the Queen of Scat for sure👏

  • Loryne Andawey11 months ago

    Loving the mix of visual art and music. I had a listen to Esperanza and yes, the art fits the vocals. Liquid gold and hypnotic 😄

  • Oh I enjoyed this so much! It's so cool you created those art based on their music. Very fascinating and beautiful!

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    This is exceptional, Rick!

  • Interesting playlist. Fascinating artistry, both on your & their part.

  • Irene Economou11 months ago

    Rick, I absolutely love your artwork and highlighted jazz musicians! The music so perfectly matches the musical mood to perfection. I was totally mesmerized by the tranquil vibes from Esperalda; I have been a fan of hers thanks to you introducing me to her music years ago. I saw her first perform with James Weidman in the Santa Cruz area. Your artwork is FANTASTIC! You keep surprising me with the depths you achieve again and again! ❤️❤️❤️

  • Shane Dobbie11 months ago

    Another great collection. Still dipping my toes into Jazz so this is a nice start

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.