Beat logo

Review: Tremonti - Cauterize (2015)

A thrash metal album from Alter Bridge's lead guitarist that's worth a listen!

By Victoria (@fodmapfeasts)Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Artist: Tremonti

Album: Cauterize

Genre: Speed/Thrash/Alternative Metal

Released: June 2015

Album length: 44:07/10 tracks

Background

Tremonti is a band from Florida, created in 2011 by Mark Tremonti, best known as the lead guitarist of Alter Bridge. The band embraces Tremonti's speed metal influence, together with his melodic vocals. Cauterize features Wolfgang Van Halen as the bassist for the band's second album.

The track breakdown

On repeat: Cauterize, Another Heart, Sympathy

Skip it: Flying Monkeys

For the gym (150+ BPM): Radical Change, Tie the Noose

---

Radical Change gets the album off to a strong start with thrash metal vibes from the beginning. Tremonti's melodic vocals come in and are a gorgeous contrast to the pounding drums. The instrumental break before each chorus is really interesting. The music dips and Tremonti's gentle vocals shine before the thrash recommences. The outro is great. It's a really good track and annoyingly catchy.

Flying Monkeys has some good elements, and I enjoy the start of it until the chorus, but I find it drags and it's pretty boring. It's a lot slower than Radical Change, and I think it's maybe too much of a radical change between songs for me.

Cauterize is a piece of genius. The heavy, thrash start gives way to Tremonti's gorgeous, melodic vocals, which have something of an angry rasp to them. There's powerful lyrics in here too. The chorus is beautiful, and I love the way the music picks back up afterwards.

I love the descent into the solo, but I really wish there was more to it. The solo fits the song without a doubt, but I just wish it had gone up a level.

His last rendition of the chorus is more melodic, which is met by a beautiful, gentle outro. The contrast between the beginning and end is amazing, and it almost feels like anger has been resolved during the course of the song. My favourite from this album.

Arm Yourself has incredible drumming from the off. It's a decent track but one that I think would have to grow on me. It's not boring like Flying Monkeys, but not catchy or deep like some of the others on this album.

Dark Trip starts much calmer than the other tracks, more melodic with a great bassline and guitar. It builds up heavier for the bridge and chorus. The chorus itself doesn't really provide much to the song, and just kind of drops off. However, the verses are brilliant and Tremonti's vocals are stunning as always. The solo is really good and the sort of thing I wish Cauterize had. The song stops out of nowhere, so it's definitely missing a proper outro. I think it's one that'll grow on me though.

Another Heart is awesome. The intro is in-your-face, dropping down to melodic vocals. It builds back up for the seriously catchy chorus. The drumming and guitar are outstanding as always. The solo is brilliant too. I occasionally regret listening to this song as it gets stuck in my head for days. One of my favourites on this album.

Fall Again is fantastic. It starts off quietly, you expect a ballad from the beginning with some acoustic notes, and then it suddenly goes *metal*. There's an awesome transition between the verses, bridge and chorus. The song generally is amazing - there's so many different elements to it: great guitar, gorgeous vocals and all the rest! Absolutely worth a listen and one of my favourites.

Tie the Noose doesn't really stand out on the album. The guitar solo felt unfinished as it just seemed to fade out to nothing. Aside from this, it's a solid song and no real complaints about it.

Sympathy is beautiful. The guitar on this track is absolutely stunning. Tremonti's vocals are perfect. The chorus is delightful. The lyrics are uplifting. The solo is possibly the best on this album. I can't adequately express how good this song is. One of my all time favourites from Tremonti.

Providence is right in there with the acoustic to capitalise on those happy tears from Sympathy. The guitar is awesome on this track too, with a really nice solo. However, this track misses the mark for me. It's not terrible by any means, but I think it peaks too late and some of the music doesn't fit the song. It's almost boring, and I can't quite put my finger on why. It's nearly six minutes long which doesn't help. I wish they'd closed the album on the happy vibes of Sympathy. But again, maybe this one will grow on me.

In summary

I really enjoy this album's thrash metal elements, and Tremonti's departure from Alter Bridge's style is clear on this album.

The album as a whole is enjoyable, and there are no bad tracks on it, just a couple which feel a bit pedestrian compared to the really good ones on here, because there's a lot of really good ones!

I fully recommend you listen to Cauterize and Sympathy if you've only got 10 minutes to spare.

I've reviewed other Tremonti albums if you want to click on my profile and give those reviews a read too. Thanks!

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Victoria (@fodmapfeasts)

Everything from tasty low-FODMAP recipes, to album reviews, to mental health topics.

You can follow me on IG for more delicious recipes: https://www.instagram.com/fodmapfeasts/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.