Beat logo

Relaxation Station

A Guide to Finding Playlist to Relax to

By Shannon AndersonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Relaxation Station
Photo by Eric Nopanen on Unsplash

There are many different types of music people listen to get that zen feeling. Personally, I don't meditate or do yoga but music does let me reach those zen moments. Music is something I tend to turn to for focus and relaxation. There are two different playlists I have for chilling out relaxation and focus relaxation. When I'm writing or while I'm reading, I can't work in silence so music is my go-to. The only issue is I can't concentrate when there are lyrics because it makes me want to sing! So for those times, I listen to non-lyrical music and when chilling out I listen to lyrical music.

Relaxation Playlist on Spotify©

Whether it is on Apple Music or Spotify, I love the playlists that give you the favourite hits of artists you love. Using these playlists is perfect when you just want to throw something on while working or reading. At least that is what I like to do. Ever since watching Bridgerton (2020-), I have been obsessed with Vitamin String Quartet. They cover all your favourite, hits and all these popular songs from over the years. In the picture above, you can see they cover popular songs like "thank u, next" by Ariana Grande and even more recent one "Blinding Lights" by the Weeknd. I find these help me get through my writing process quicker and more smoothly than trying to write with a television episode on.

These non-lyrical versions of popular songs are perfect for me because they are songs I recognize and enjoy but without the distractions of the lyrics. Another way I like to relax is just to connect my music to my speaker and lay down and listen. When doing this, I like to listen to soft, slow, and lyrical songs.

Relaxation Playlist Made on Apple Music©

The playlist above is just one of many I've made. This specific one is songs I've found through films and television. I like to listen to these songs because I find all of them very lyrically beautiful and interesting. Now hear me out on this next one okay? No judging. I love listening to all the Twilight Franchise (2008-2012).

Relaxation Playlist Made on Apple Music©

All of these songs are so lyrical beautiful and have such a calm feeling to them. For me, they hold nostalgia for one thing. They bring me back to easier times of being 12 and reading these books and watching these films. On the other hand, you don't need to have watched these films to enjoy or relax to this music. I understand many do not like these films but the soundtrack has always been killer.

Relaxation Playlist Made on Apple Music©

In the picture above, there are more songs I have found from film and television. They remind me of things I love which add to the zen feeling I get when listening to them. To me, I get that zen feeling from having a sense of nostalgia but also from the soft, smooth music. I can't relax with some of my favourite bands like Panic! At the Disco and Fallout Boy but it gives me the chance to discover artists that give me different feelings. Sometimes relaxing to these artists, can give me feelings of melancholy and other sad feelings but only because I am connecting with the lyrics so much. I tend to prefer listening to these artists because of this.

I think the feeling of zen means something different to everyone. Some people might get it from exercise such as yoga or running. I personally get it from listening to music that reminds me of good experiences in my life. Both of the playlists I've mentioned in this article are public on Spotify and Apple Music. I highly recommend giving them a listen in the evening or at night with the lights off and your eyes closed. That is how I achieve zen through music and I hope it can help you achieve yours.

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.