Beat logo

Rapper Squallé Releases Album and Uses Proceeds to Fund Youth Organization

Inspirational Creators

By Tammy ReesePublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1
Squallé

Torrance “Squallé” Wilcher, community advocate and hip-hop artist, was born and raised in the greater Atlanta area. No stranger to a “less than perfect” childhood, he decided to make the best of his situation by attending college. A proud HBCU alum, Squallé moved to Alabama to pursue his degree in Engineering at Alabama State University. After moving back home following the completion of his degree, Squallé noticed the class allegory in his city and sought out to help in any way he could. More specifically, he saw the absence of strong black male figures in the lives of the local children. He paired with the local school systems and other organizations and thus gave birth to The League of Step. The goal of this organization was to serve the local schools and neighborhoods by acting as a mentor to the youth in the area and providing them with a strong male presence. Since its founding in Squallé has had success in mentoring over 60 kids by providing them with an outlet of expression through the world of step and has added to the growing music scene in a disruptive and inspiring way.

Athens, GA-– Rapper Squallé added a new album to his repertoire in an effort to add back into his community, just in time for the fall.

Squallé's passion for his craft sings loud and very clear. His old school styled rhymes paired justly with a new-school flow give the indie artist an unmatched vibe that takes listeners on a smooth, yet enjoyable ride. His newest project; Gone for the Summer, Back for the Fall, was to created to signify his thoughts and feelings during the pandemic as the musician took a short break from working on music to focus on making a difference in his community. Founder and Creative Director of The League of Step, Squallé's organization was created to service at risk youth in his community by providing them with a strong male presence, mentorship, a creative outlet, and a sense of working together to help them navigate being young and black in the world. As an advocate for the youth and musician, Squallé put his love for music to use while servicing the kids. The proceeds from his album were put into The League of Step to purchase a studio to practice in as well as gear for the students to wear at their upcoming competitions.

The project shows off his diverse artistic skills by bolstering hip-hop, R&B, and some hype music for those fun nights out. Squallé plans to use most of his profits to fund his organization and continue to do his part to make a difference in the lives of the children of our future for a brighter tomorrow.

Vocal Readers please enjoy our interview!

Tammy:

I love the title Gone for the Summer, Back for the Fall. What is the message of this newest project?

Squallé:

The Broad message of the project is about conquering your fears and doubts and defying your expectations, it's about being open and vulnerable, embracing your flaws, struggles, and insecurities and turning them into triumphs.

Tammy:

What inspired you to become a music artist?

Squallé:

If I'm honest, I think I chose to be an artist because of how it makes me feel. Growing up I always felt invisible, unimportant, and wrote off. When I discovered that I could rap and write music it made me feel like I finally had a voice.

Tammy:

What have been some memorable moments in your career so far?

Squallé:

Getting booked to open for Lil Baby was definitely top 3. It was crazy when I got that call. But even crazier that Coronavirus ruined it for me. But I think the biggest one was when I was booked to do a Black History event and an 8-year-old girl comes up to me and asks for my autograph.

Tammy:

How has the pandemic shaped your day to day life?

Squallé:

I never quarantined even when it was mandatory. It never stops for me. Out of the quarantine/pandemic came a strength for my nonprofit and a laser focus for my music. So, if anything, It's made my work harder. Because I realized that troubles don't last and tomorrow is definitely not promised to anyone.

Tammy:

What have been some feedback you received in regards to creating the League of Step organization?

Squallé:

Wow. I've gotten nothing but love from it. I wish I could give you a specific number of people that come up to me just to tell me how much this was needed in the community and how thankful they are that my passion for the kids runs deep. But I don't do it for the praise or anything, I love what I do. I love the kids. They are so full of energy and light. They really keep me young (and hip on all these Tik Tok dances). Like just knowing that LOS is appreciated for its role in the community is more than enough to keep me happy. It's my goal in life to leave this earth knowing that I made it just a little bit better for even just one person.

Tammy:

How did your Partnership with Black Is A Vibe come about?

Squallé:

My amazing publicist set that up! Some of my earlier projects focused on promoting the love of being black and once I talked to Johnny, he's the founder, and realized that we share the same message and values, I just knew that I had to be a part of it. Promoting black positivity? Why wouldn't I do it. I love my people. I love being black. Black is a whole vibe.

Tammy:

What are some other upcoming projects you are working on?

Squallé:

My next two projects are collaborative. One is a music project titled "Black Wave 2" with an artist named Kxng Blanco which is set to drop in December. The other is a hip-hop/trap soul EP which will be released at the top of the year, which Swave is the Executive Producer. I'm also working with a few rock bands on some "BLM" focused tracks. And I'm very excited because we are putting together a parking lot concert with the NAACP to encourage people to go to the polls and vote. Now that is going to be dope.

Tammy:

What do you want your legacy to be?

Squallé:

I want to be remembered as someone who pushed the limits, strived hard for his community, and someone who got in good trouble. I want my music to live forever...even when I'm long gone. If the world ended today and someone stumbled across my music...I want my music to be a testament.

Tammy:

What is some advice you would have for anyone wanting to become a music artist?

Squallé:

Stay true to yourself . Don't wavier, don't fold, don't falter. Don't let someone put a price on you. Know your worth...then add tax.

Connect with Squalle! IG @squalle_shottem Facebook DaWiseOneSqualle

interview
1

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.