Beat logo

Ranking the Songs of AJR's 'OK Orchestra'

One of the most creative, unique, and relatable bands ever produced this gem of an album and I'm here to rank the songs from best to bester!

By KaciePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Picture from https://thehoneypop.com/2021/04/09/ajrs-ok-orchestra-tops-the-charts/

Dear Vocal Readers,

Oh, AJR, how quickly they became my all time favorite band. Maybe we can say it's because of all the lyrics about anxiety that resonate with me, or maybe it's just those funky beats behind all their songs. This band already had some critical acclaim before, but this album has surely made their rise to the top propel forward. Who knows what weird noises and voices they will add to their next songs coming up, but we all know that nothing is going to top "metronome." Alright, let's hop into it folks!

13) The Trick

Picture from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y1cUAzE7-ro

Not gonna lie, I used to completely avoid this one. The high-pitched voice put me off honestly. But once I finally listened to the whole thing I gained a new respect for it. The voice reminds me now of a small child making up stories to impress their friends, and I think that's what they were going for. Sad, but good song.

Favorite line: "The truth is that I'm screwed."

12) Joe

Picture from https://www.redbubble.com/shop/joe+ajr

I find this song relatable when it comes to remembering that one person you always tried to impress in school. I don't enjoy looking back on those days however, so this song is just average. I do like how they randomly mention believing in God or not, though in such an odd way.

Favorite line: "Maybe I'll put out this song, and I won't change your name at all, maybe then you'll call me up , and you'll tell me how cool I got."

11) Bummerland

Picture from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Kuwwta_Mms

Upbeat, yet also depressing! Made during the pandemic it fits perfectly with its time. A fun yet grim reminder of the lows we have all faced within the past few years.

Favorite line: "It's my all time low and I just can't wait."

10) 3 O'Clock Things

Picture from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p1noRCUvsrM

I don't get out much, so this song was pretty awesome. I love all the talk about hiding the real you and keeping your mouth shut because in this day and age that's more relevant than ever.

Favorite line: "It's all a bit cloudy but there's one thing I know, that if you're f*cking racist then don't come to my show."

9) Humpty Dumpty

Picture from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TF3ifAtIvIQ

Who ever thought about making Humpty Dumpty the main center of their song in 2021? Well, these guys did. It's all about anxiety, and also trying not to give a sh*t. Even when you're falling off that wall, you can still be a star in your own way.

Favorite line: "Remember Vegas, I can't take another panic episode when I get off the stage, man."

8) Way Less Sad

Picture from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VlVhUbGa2pg

This song is a great follow-up to Bummerland. Like yes, the world is better, but it still isn't perfect. Things have become more positive but there are still negatives that remain. Life is full of these trade-offs and this song touches on some sad themes while sounding super duper happy the whole time!

Favorite line: "I've been countin' sheep but the sheep all died, and I'm not dead yet so I guess I'll be alright."

7) Adventure is Out There

Picture from https://www.reddit.com/r/AJR/comments/mf6ukd/i_made_this_design_based_on_adventure_is_out/

Like I said, I don't get out much so this song really spoke to me. And I mean come on who hasn't lost a sock before?! I'll be honest and say I thought this song was so stupid at first, but now I love it. Sometimes the simplest little things can bring us the most joy and it was about way more than just socks let's be real here. Adventure is out there, but like myself and I'm sure many others around, we aren't really seizing it.

Favorite line: "Adventure is out there , so why am I in here ? So why am I in here today?"

6) My Play

Picture from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ew8jKnliFZg

If you are a child of divorced parents you need to listen to this song. It hits hard and I mean hard. After listening to it the first time I was left shocked and almost cried. It's so real and so unique. It brings back the kid in you and some memories you may have wanted to forget. This song hits hard and right where it counts.

Favorite line: "It's gonna get really, really, really, really bad, before it's okay. But maybe you'll forget it all , while you're watching my play."

5) Bang!

Picture from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4THFRpw68oQ

This is literally full of references to past AJR songs and how cool is that? There are 8 songs in total that are secretly given a shoutout in the lyrics of this piece. Not only is that awesome, but the song in general is awesome. Whacky, noisy, weird, and creative, AJR knows how to do it right.

Favorite line: "I'm way too young to lie here forever, I'm way too old to try so whatever, come hang. Let's go out with a bang!"

4) Christmas In June

Picture from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dhSSnD5u3iM

This is one of those romantic songs that doesn't make me want to puke. It realistically tells of love in this century (and yes it is mostly for famous people but I felt some of these lyrics too so come on). We all get so busy and caught up sometimes that we forget about our other obligations and loves. Our occupations can control us, but this song helps show that they shouldn't. Finding that balance of work and home is tricky, but I'll tell you for sure that Christmas should not be happening in June.

Favorite line: "Oh my God, how lucky am I to have two things I love? Makes it that much easier to f*ck it up."

3) OK Overture

Picture from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=25HfpOPXKWY

I love me a good mashup and boy did this deliver. The only reason this isn't higher on my list is because so much of it consists of lyrics from the other songs on the album. I cannot justify putting this any higher, but at the same time cannot justify putting it any lower. And yes there are some original lyrics and those are seriously the best part of the whole song. His voice literally morphs into instruments like how cool is that? He is becoming his music and it doesn't seem to be a good thing.

Favorite line: "One day, maybe someday, I'll be so out of touch, I'll become a trumpet or a drumset in a sad orchestra. One day I won't know what to write, and I can't be eighteen my whole life. But I'm too f*cking young to feel so f*cking old, but I'll try and I'll try and I'll try . But I'm not dead yet so I guess I'll be alright."

2) World's Smallest Violin

Picture from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PEnJbjBuxnw

One of the weirdest songs you will ever hear in your life. That is the reason why I love it so much. It's an oddball like me and the song will never leave you bored. It takes you on a journey of twists and turns and ends up snowballing into a giant, fast, beautiful mess at the end. There is perfection in weirdness, and they found it.

Favorite line: "The world's smallest violin really needs an audience , so if I do not find somebody soon, I'll blow up into smithereens, and spew my tiny symphony."

1) Ordinaryish People

Picture from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CpNCChNx0Ng

This song is a whole story guys. It's about being yourself but also not being yourself and trying to figure out the newest label society has given you. You're ugly or pretty, a hippy or a sellout, happy or a downer. You can never be in-between, you are always pushed to one side or the other. It's about deciding who you want to be and deciding where you want others to see you. We don't always feel like we can be ourselves and let loose. The most fun we can have is when we aren't "somebody." No labels or judgements would be so nice but you cannot be "nobody" forever. There's also the Blue Man Group in this song and that whole instrumental break is legendary.

Favorite line: "I don't wanna pack up and leave though, when you're nobody, then nobody minds."

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Well, there you have it, my ranking of the 13 songs on OK Orchestra. You either agree or totally disagree with my rankings and that's perfectly okay. As long as you have listened to these amazing songs that is all that matters. This was such a hard list to make because any of these songs could easily be in the number one spot. Now go get creative and explore the world through music like AJR does. It might be a lot more fun than you think.

Sincerely from my AJR-obsessed mind,

Kacie

bands
Like

About the Creator

Kacie

Just an aspiring writer trying to gain experience :)

Follow my adorable kitties on Instagram and Tiktok @joethehoe.finnforthewin <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.