Beat logo

Raising the Vibration

Music for Healing, Peace, & Love

By Kathleen ThompsonPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
2
"On the Brink of Becoming" a Painting by Donna Masamery

On any given day, my focus may change and so will my music selections. In these last few weeks before the election, I have ramped up my intention to share information that will unite us as a country and perhaps affirm the right choice at the ballot booth. Music can inspire. Music can heal. Music can literally move us figuratively and literally to feel a certain way. So, on that note, a couple of weeks ago, I wrote a Facebook post to present a challenge with a specific outcome in mind. Here’s how it read:

“In this moment we need as a country to create a momentum to turn the page on this dark chapter in our history; to embrace the light with right action, while fostering wonder and gratitude like no other time and place. So with that intention in mind, for the next seven days, I will be posting a song that calls us to unite; to ignite a power greater than ourselves alone, and to create momentum that inspires love and light needed for inspiring change that circumvents any resistance to coming out of the darkness. I nominate anyone reading to do this with me and help raise the vibration of our country and our planet... copy & paste.”

Day One

Knowing that certain music can remind us of eras gone by and give historical perspective to our present day political climate, the song I chose for day one of my Facebook challenge was Marvin Gaye’s song “What’s Going On,” a true masterpiece for both the time it was created (1971) as well as now.

Considering the racial injustices incurred by systematic racism and the challenges the Black Lives Matter movement faces, I thought it was the perfect song to share to punctuate Marvin’s Gaye’s lyrics;

“You know we’ve got find our way to bring some loving here today.”

Day Two

My day two song post actually piggybacks on this theme by continuing to address any person or group who feels marginalized in this country/world whether they are people of color, gay, those who have transgendered, or women who feel underrepresented in the current political landscape, etc. “The Joke,” by Brandi Carlile produced in 2016, is a powerful anthem and affirmation for giving hope to those marginalized individuals and groups who don’t feel seen or accepted at this time. The lyrics offer redemption in the end as noted in the chorus.

“Let 'em laugh while they can

Let 'em spin, let 'em scatter in the wind

I have been to the movies, I've seen how it ends

And the joke's on them”

Day Three

As we navigate a world pandemic and an environmental crisis which many scientists say created the pandemic, I share day three’s offering – “Fragile,” by Sting. Violence against each other speaks of our dependence on finding solutions to injustices including the ones we wage against our home...Mother Earth. Whether it’s being conscious of a life-threatening pandemic, or the life-changing threats of climate change, or a political administration that sets up environmental catastrophes through deregulation practices, Sting asks us to wake up, to stay woke, and address our impermanence through this song.

“On and on the rain will fall

Like tears from a star

Like tears from a star

On and on the rain will say

How fragile we are

How fragile we are”

Day Four

Even though day four’s song was released in 1971, it should remind us of the most attended march on Washington that ever was; the Women’s March in 2016. Who would have thought that from the time Helen Reddy’s song hit the airwaves, (about 50 years ago) that we as women would still be fighting the good fight for equality in 2020, but that is where we still are! With the loss of Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsberg, we are now at a pivotal point in time where the rights women have gained over the course of these years may be on the chopping block depending on who is nominated for the next Supreme Court Justice. Sadly, as I write this, I am hearing that Helen Reddy (vocalist and feminine icon), has just passed as well, but her lyrics are calling out to be heard again with as much or more fervor today!

“Oh yes I am wise

But it's wisdom born of pain

Yes, I've paid the price

But look how much I gained

If I have to, I can do anything

I am strong (strong)

I am invincible (invincible)

I am woman”

Day Five

Day five’s song is “Hummingbird” by Seals & Croft. This is one of my favorite songs from the 70’s because the music and lyrics build to this amazing crescendo which promises hope. It really is a completely mesmerizing rhapsody that honors a power greater than ourselves whatever name we give it, while gently reminding us that wisdom is ours for the asking. Just stay receptive - for as the chorus notes below, “a new day is dawning for us all.”

“The draught of understanding; wisdom, peace and love is ours

Hummingbird don't fly away, fly away. Hummingbird don't fly away, fly away”

Day Six

For day six, I wanted to honor the Native Americans way of being in the world by highlighting artist Joanne Shenandoah. Although I cannot translate the Native words to English in her song lyrics here, the title track is called the “Path of Beauty.” I read in the comments section on the YouTube site where this song can be heard, that the song is making reference to this rite of passage; “when a loved one dies and you have to sing their spirit into heaven.” I’m not sure of this information, I just know that I feel peaceful when I listen to this song and that it also reminds me of the lovely Navajo poem called the “Beauty Way,” a prayer which asks that all words and actions be spoken with beauty in mind and that no harm comes from either. Either reference I mentioned above to the potential meaning of this song brings no harm, and either meaning honors those loved ones lost from the pandemic. The author to the poem below is unknown.

“Today may I walk out in beauty.

With beauty may I walk.

With beauty before me, may I walk.

With beauty behind me, may I walk.

With beauty above me, may I walk.

With beauty below me, may I walk.

With beauty around me, may I walk.

It is finished in beauty.

It is finished in beauty.”

Day Seven

My week-long challenge would not be complete if day seven did not end with sharing John Lennon’s song, “Imagine,” released in 1971. Using our imagination is the foundation for hope, change and goodwill. Hoping you will “imagine” with me as we act with the idea of creating a more loving world …that is my focus here in sharing all of these musical selections.

“Imagine there's no countries

It isn’t hard to do

Nothing to kill or die for

And no religion too

Imagine all the people living life in peace

You may say I’m a dreamer

But I’m not the only one

I hope someday you’ll join us

And the world will be as one.”

list
2

About the Creator

Kathleen Thompson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.