Beat logo

QuaranClean QuaranDream Quarantine (Playlist)

24 for 24hrs in Quarantine...

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Playlist completely configured by me below...

After living many days in Quarantine kept alive by music, I’ve picked up on the many different moods currently shown by the world. Though the moods are endless and often intertwined, there are some common ones:

1. The Dreamer: These are the people who are in a state of rediscovery, constantly imagining how life will be after this is “all over.” These are the ones who may call up an ex, consider liking all the pictures on the Instagram of their crush, start a new business in a day, and more. The Dreamer may reinvent themselves multiple times during seclusion from the world, and this is not completely a bad thing. We must stay curious, imaginative, and creative to keep our minds active. It’s safe to dream. Just don’t go too far...

2. The Cleaner: These are the people who are in Quarantine with their children, someone else’s children, or someone who is about to have a child. Somehow, there are little humans around, and messes appear out of thin air. Sometimes completely by the kids, and sometimes by the poorly prepared adults trying to create DIY activities to keep the children occupied. These are also the people who are being very careful and safe when touching or not touching things, and the sanitizer has become their best-friend.

3. The Screamer: This can look like various things. It can be an actual scream, or it can be an inward panic about the future. Surprisingly, sometimes the Dreamer and Screamer flip-flop positions because the dreams get too......imaginative. But, just like dreaming, it’s safe to scream. Let out that energy trying to remain bottled in, and then breathe.

This playlist of clean music is for all of you, no matter where you are in your Quarantine Phase...

SIDENOTE: I feel like telling descriptively about every song on a playlist before someone listens, is like telling someone everything that’s going to happen in a movie before it happens. But, I will highlight a song “The Dreamer,” “The Cleaner,” and “The Screamer” will particularly like, so you can be one wth the vibes on your own time...

The Dreamer: “Homesick” by Dua Lipa

If you are a Dreamer in Quarantine alone away from home like me, then these words will touch your soul. I’m constantly missing my family, and I can’t stop dreaming of life with them again. My favorite lyrics of this song are within the chorus. “You give me a reason, something to believe in.” I went from seeing my Ma and stepdad almost every weekend, to being stuck in my room in a different city for 20+ hours per day. Yes. I‘m homesick...

The Cleaner: “In Repair” by John Mayer

This song talks about being broken and a little down, but repeats that he’s “in repair.” You may feel like you’re constantly working and putting yourself back together, but that just means that you’re strong. Over and over you are showing you have some fight still in you, and I’m your cheerleader now. We all are out of our usual routines, and I believe you will figure it out in the end. Get ready. “I’m in repair, I’m not together, but I’m getting there” are my favorite lyrics from this song.

The Screamer: “Stars” by FUN.

My favorite thing about this song is that it’s organized chaos. The beat begins with applause, high pitched singing loudly, and then a beat change. THEN, out of nowhere the beat changes AGAIN. And then AGAIN throughout the song. It’s emotional, passionate, expressive, honest, and powerful. If you feel like you have to scream today, learn the words and sing your heart out to this one. And don’t forget to dance too. This has been a favorite of mine for awhile, and now that I’ve revisited this album it’s a perfect fit. The lyrics I really enjoy from this one are, “why can’t you see no one is going to save us?”

Honorable Mention: “Goodbyes” by Jorja Smith

This one was added to the end in honor of the people that we have lost to COVID-19, and were swiftly taken away. “How could we know there would be no tomorrow,” are words that hit hard. So much blame has been thrown around, and I’m hoping that we aren’t forgetting the ones who suffered the worst. Jorja beautifully sings about losing someone, but mentions that they are in the “stars and the clouds.” Remember the love you shared with your person, and hold onto those memories as tight as you can. You are loved...

I hope you all enjoy the playlist, and let me know if you need more music. I’m here for you. Stay safe...

song reviews
2

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.