Beat logo

Playlist Picks For You

Some playlist ideas for those who like pop, rock, indie, folk, etc. Includes link to my Spotify Profile at the end!

By zoe frenchmanPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
3
My Spotify Library Today

I was thinking to myself this morning “I don’t really have many playlists and I mainly just play my liked songs”. Then I thought to myself, “there are so many different types of music and different emotions that songs invoke”. So, I made a few playlists that I wanted to share. My taste in music is mainly pop, folk, indie, and rock, with a little bit of hip-hop. My favorite artists currently include Taylor Swift, Phoebe Bridgers, Olivia Rodrigo, Gracie Abrams, Paramore, Fleetwood Mac, Lizzy McAlpine, Billie Eilish, Kacey Musgraves, Juice WRLD, and Lana Del Rey, among others.

1. Sad Girl Tunes

I made a playlist called “sad girl tunes” that has feminine, melancholic, ethereal, surreal kind of songs. It’s a lot of Taylor Swift, Phoebe Bridgers, Olivia Rodrigo, Gracie Abrams, Lizzy McAlpine, Lana Del Rey, etc. This playlist is mainly compiled of female musicians as well. These are some of the most heart-wrenching, emotional, mostly feminine tunes I could come up with. These musicians truly encapsulate pain, heartbreak, anxiety, fear, and grief in their emotional melodies and visceral lyrics. If you’re feeling in the mood for emotional, thought-provoking music, this playlist is for you.

2. Upbeat Tunes

This playlist is perfect for working out, throwing a party, or anything that you’d want upbeat music for. This one includes Taylor Swift, Billie Eilish, Paramore, Michael Jackson, Maroon 5, Juice WRLD, Avril Lavigne, etc. I use this playlist for road-trips, when I need a pick-me-up, when I go to the gym, when I’m hanging with friends, or just as background music while writing or working.

3. Taylor Swift Collection

This one is obvious. It’s almost all of Taylor Swift’s music in chronological order. The few that are excluded include Look What You Made Me Do, ME!, You Need To Calm Down, and the songs from her Christmas EP, just because I don’t particularly like these songs, but just about every other song is on there. I have an emotional attachment to Taylor Swift’s music and Taylor Swift as a person, even though I’ve never met her. Her talent is stark and her attitude is genuine. If you’re a fellow Swiftie, this playlist is for you.

4. Singer-songwriter

This playlist includes all types of song of the singer-songwriter genre. Lots of folk, indie, and other genres of songs written by the artists themselves. Some of the artists include James Taylor, Carly Simon, Fleetwood Mac/Stevie Nicks, Taylor Swift, Phoebe Bridgers, Gracie Abrams, Lana Del Rey, Bob Dylan, The Beatles, etc. I would’ve included more Joni Mitchell if her music was on Spotify. I admire artists who write their own music—music that many people love, and these artists can say they made these hits on their own. I personally gravitate toward the indie and folk genres, and I believe some of these artists are some of the best musicians, performers, and songwriters to ever exist. If you’re into this type of music as well, this playlist is definitely something to consider!

Above is a link to my Spotify profile.

My Current Spotify Playlists

These are some of the playlists based on my personal taste, that I’d highly recommend to most people. From the sad girl tunes playlist, to the upbeat tunes playlist, to the Taylor Swift playlist, to the singer-songwriter playlist, these playlists cover a variety of genres. I also have a Juice WRLD playlist and an in-works holiday playlist on my profile. I hope this reaches the right audience, but whomever it does reach, I hope you’re able to discover new music that you enjoy! I used to be much more into hip-hop than I am now, even once listening to the genre nearly exclusively. But as I’ve matured, my tastes have changed and this is the music of my current taste. I hope you all enjoy, and thank you for reading:)

indieplaylist
3

About the Creator

zoe frenchman

I’m Zoe, I’m 21, and I’m an aspiring writer, filmmaker, musician, & mental health advocate. I’m a poet and content writer currently enrolled in the Creative Writing BFA program at Full Sail U!

LinkTree (all social and professional links)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.