Beat logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

"One-Eighty By Summer"

Or, a brief primer on Taking Back Sunday.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished about a month ago 3 min read
P/c: Cristhian Adame of Mexico; via the completely free stock photography site/app, Pixabay. Please show them Love. Thank you in advance.

10JUL2024; 1942, WED– Baltimore, MD, USA

Will there ever be another Taking Back Sunday? Even if this entire cluster of SNAFUs, that comprises these here United States of America, lasts another 248 years; somehow, someway.

I’m figuring it’s highly doubtful. At best.

Color me sentimental and/or biased; conversely. When I was in my high school years, I willingly allowed this band from Amityville, NY to, “Break me down so badly; in the worst way.”

Not to be ambiguous, those lyrics are from their breakthrough third album, Louder Now; from 2006. Ironically the one and the same that caused me to give up on them; as if the “sophomore curse” were really a solidifying factor.

Now that I mention it, it might’ve been my sophomore year of high school when I was graciously introduced to their second studio album. Also, speaking of formative years I’m not going to sit here and pretend that I didn’t just the one and the same infamous city that is home to one of the most atrocious tragedies to strike a family.

It was so bad that the film franchise The Amityville Horror is purportedly based on the true crime story. One can only imagine how such undoubtedly influenced the upbringing of the aforementioned quartet (quintet on live shows).

In any event, the song that this piece’s title is “borrowed” from just so happens to be my all time favorite by the band. Additionally, I find it slightly humorous that this 180th “Story” by me would be submitted for publishing in the dog days of the present summer.

Almost as if it were predestined to be the second “Top Story” of mine; fingers crossed, prayers up, and/or hopes held high. Seriously though, I’m of the opinion that the free stock photography image above perfectly captures the essence of the “alternatively emo” rock band; which was officially formed in Long Island, NY.

Between the golden hour background; featuring palm trees, and even a lone drum set chillaxing in the foreground… Taking Back Sunday has some of the most catchy tunes that there ever were; as previously alluded to.

I’m increasingly looking forward to the next time I am in a bar with a TouchTunes Jukebox; especially considering the marathons of music by the Tell All Your Friends band. Perhaps it is long overdue that I publicly tell all my friends about the Taking Back Sunday that I sincerely regret “never not once” seeing at a live performance.

Someday soon, prayerfully; even though it’s seemingly highly feasible that, “[They] Don’t Go In There.” Of course, “there” being the one and only Charm City; aka Bmore; or Baltimore, which I currently reside in.

“Therein lies the rub,” as The Bard would say. Speaking of Shakespeare, I vividly remember writing down lyrics that Adam Lazzara et. al would sometimes belt out from the speakers of my MP3 player when I was supposed to be “scribing” about Romeo and Juliet; or, even better Baltimore’s own, Edgar Allen Poe.

In closing, they’re most assuredly a halfway decent band; at minimum. Even though, as I mentioned earlier, I quit listening to their newer releases after their major label debut.

I can’t be the only diehard fan to do such. Perhaps one day soon, I’ll play their discography in a consecutive playlist that I will create in the morning; and perhaps even potentially, just maybe, do a complete and utter “One-Eighty By Summer” on a random Sunday funday.

One can certainly imagine; fathom; and/or theorize. Just please, don’t let any conspiracies of the theory variety irreconcilably ruin my adolescence in one fell swoop.

Thank you. And, ultimately though: No, thank you; if I may.

***

***

Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support; however you may see fit.

Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.

The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its footer menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very main menu; cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.

Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."

Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the aforementioned link in bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

Peace; blessings; and much Love, even. *Salute*.

***

****

pop culturerockpopplaylistphotographyhumanitybandsalt rockalternative

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War ‘N’ Tees is live! One Love.

***

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nefarious DarriusWritten by Nefarious Darrius

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.