Beat logo

My Unique stress-busting playlist

Music soothes the savage beast and relaxes anxious humans as well. I have an odd mixture of tunes that work for me.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
My Unique stress-busting playlist
Photo by Simon Migaj on Unsplash

The experts agree that stress will either exacerbate or increase your risk of health issues like heart disease, asthma, obesity, gastrointestinal problems, depression, and more. A recent paper from Harvard and Stanford reported that health issues from job stress alone caused more deaths than influenza, diabetes, and Alzheimer's. This is troubling indeed because we live in an age of constant bombardment of electronics without breaks. Television used to go off at around midnight but now it’s 24/7. The Internet and cell phones also keep us occupied around the clock.

All of this lets us know that science is speaking to us very loud and very clear: We have absolutely got to prioritize by giving our minds and bodies a rest if we desire to preserve them. Music is a simple way to chase away the blues and calm your nerves. The right tunes can decrease some of the pressure from the emails, texts, pings, dings, apps, tags, texts, meetings, Zoom, appointments, and deadlines that can so easily spike your stress level and leave you feeling anxious, stressed and drained. I have found that certain music relaxes me and also decreases my blood pressure readings. My playlist however is not your usual one. I created this list recently and chose songs carefully due to the death of my husband of 40 years.

I needed some music that is uniquely me and would bring results. I needed a specific sound that would assist me in the healing process ad keep me from spiraling out of control. My recent search for new tunes led me to find Watermark by Enya to be very relaxing. Piano tunes have always had a soothing effect on me and I found this song on a list of 10 that were supposed to be stress busters. That particular listing might work wonders for some but only 2 songs that were on relaxed me. This is why it is important to find what works for you.

Cannon in D minor is a popular tune and easily recognizable as it’s often used in television commercials. Most people will probably prefer this original version because it is soothing but I was blown away 2 years ago by a different rendition that is both calming and stimulating simultaneously. by the Tran-Sibetian Orchestra. They recorded their Christmas Cannon version of the song and also Christmas Cannon Rock and I fell in love with the latter. I find this song to be soothing, healing, and spiritual. I’ve included both versions here because I find each of them beneficial in different ways.

I listen to Christmas Canon Rock whenever I feel the need and not just during the holiday season. It has a mystical melody that is mesmerizing and I never tire of it. I have taken my blood pressure before and after listening to this song and it’s always lower after. The next song on my list is The Celts by Enja. This is the second tune I found on the recommended playlist that I enjoy. The haunting melody along with the mystical video puts me in a relaxed carefree mood. I visualize myself walking in slow motion to this tune while wearing a long flowing dress that is being tossed by the blowing wind.

Christmas Eve is another song by the Trans Sybetiam Orchestra that gives me chills. The loud beat and the sound of the cello’s being played makes me shiver with delight. This is not a typical relaxation melody and it is considered a holiday classic based on the Carol of the Bells where the lyrics are “ Christmas is here, Christmas is here” over and over. Something about this particular rendition is relaxing while at the same time it both moves and motivates me, I am so fascinated with this tune that just like the one mentioned earlier, I don’t mind that it’s a holiday tune.

.

My final offering for relaxation music is 5 minutes of soft, relaxing, piano tunes. I found this by searching for calming piano music. Whenever I can I listen to all of the songs on the playlist and I can really feel the difference afterward. I must be strong for my grieving children and but more importantly, I need to reduce stress and lower my blood pressure for my own well being. I cannot take care of others if I am unable to look out for my own health.

pop culture
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Forspiya29 days ago

    People nowadays are really stressed so this is all for you https://vocal.media/poets/wings-of-resilience-a-journey-through-adversity

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.