Beat logo

My top 10 songs

and what they mean to me.

By Jeremy WhitePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
My top 10 songs
Photo by Anthony DELANOIX on Unsplash

My number one song is See you Again by Wiz Khalifa and Charlie Puth. This song was played at my mom's funeral and there has been so many covers that I love of it. It is tragic why this song was written, but I think it has helped a lot of people. 5.6 billion views on the original and no telling how many on the covers. This song helped me through a hard time and is number one on this list and is number one on my cover list as well.

This is a surprise number 2 for me. The song is welcome to the Black Parade by My Chemical Romance. Again, seeing someone do a cover of this song changed everything. That person was Gibi. Yes, this will be in my top five covers also. Of course, I knew of this song, but hearing her do it sent me down a rabbit hole of My Chemical Romance. She is the reason I fell in love with that song and My Chemical Romance. To be compared to Queen because of this song is a great honor. The opening chords of this song are iconic. You know immediately what song it is.

#3 should not be a surprise to anyone who knows me. I know it may be basic, but my number three is Lose yourself by Eminem. I love this song. When I was trying to get published from my poems, this song helped a lot. First rap song to win an Oscar. Well deserved.

#4 is a throwback from my childhood. Mariah Carey was my first musical love. The song that affected me most was Hero. This song is so high because when I was trying to figure out who I was and if I should come out? This was one of the songs that helped me. I do not really listen to her anymore. If I happen to it's her earlier stuff that I love. One thing I find interesting is that there are not a lot of covers of this song. I can understand why.

#5 is another group I have been listening to since I was young and still listen to today. The group is Bone Thugs N Harmony. Picking a song from them was hard. It was between the song I will have played at my funeral, which is, of course, Crossroads or Days of our Lives. Days of our Lives won out. It won out because of the intro and the drop in. I also think the flow and vocals are perfect on this song. I know no one will believe me because I am a white guy that grew up in the country, but I used to sing/ rap every word to this song and Crossroads. That was when I had better memory and breath control.

#6 is a newer song. It is Hupe U R Ok by Olivia Rodrigo.I wish this song was around when I was coming out. I love the message of this song. It has a lot of messages in it. Check on your friends that you haven't talked to in a while. Family does not have to be only blood. There is a LGBTQ+ element to this song. If you have read my review of this album, you know how I feel about this album and this song. This was the perfect song to end the album with.

This is where it gets hard for me. I knew I want to include a Paramore song on this list. The problem is, I love every song by them. I decided to go with a song that was included in my pride playlist. That song is We are Broken. It showcases her voice perfectly and has an LGBQ+ element to it. Paramore was my first modern rock band and I still listen to them today.

#8 is another Eminem song. Is there any surprise that there are two Eminem songs on this list? If you have read my Comparing Artists article, you know how I feel about him. The song is Not Afraid. This song is so inspirational. Don't give up. I have needed this song a lot.

#9 is a Queen song. Again, I had a hard time picking a song. Most people would go with Bohemian Rhapsody, but I picked We are the Champions. It has the message of don't give up until you are the Champions. Hearing this song played twice the same year for the Braves and the Bulldogs was amazing.

I knew I wanted to put Sarah Bareilles on this list but did not know which song. She is another person where I love every song. I decided to go with Brave. This is another inspirational song and one that has been turned into a Pride anthem song. The video for this song is something to see. It has normal people just dancing and letting loose.

I hope you have enjoyed my list. I know it is somewhat diverse and I hope you check out my other writings I have mentioned throughout this article. I hope if you haven't heard these songs that you will go check them out and let me know what you think.

list
1

About the Creator

Jeremy White

I am from a small town. I have grown up surrounded by woods. I love to Write. I started out with poems. I did not start writing stories until I joined vocal. Writing stories is really fun. I have a Bachelors in Psychology.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.