Beat logo

I used to think I could fly by Tate McRae

Great Album

By Jeremy WhitePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
I used to think I could fly by Tate McRae
Photo by Elizeu Dias on Unsplash

Tate McRae debut album review. I love her voice. It has a unique tone to it. We all fell in love with her with the song You broke me first.

1. ? Is just a short intro where she is talking about growing up and thinking she used to could fly?

2. Don't come back

I love the beat in this song. It has a good base to it. This song is so relatable. The “blame it on the alcohol” line is so true. people need to stop blaming alcohol. Alcohol just brings out your true nature. The line after this is about no second tries. I wish more people would follow this. This is a great song to open the album with. A lot of people need to hear this song and take it to heart.

3. I am so gone

This song is a little softer but relates to the first song. This song is about someone making it and their partner did not like that, so they broke up with them. That partner wants him back because they are lonely, but it is too late. Like the first song there are no second chances because they lied.

4. What would you do

So far there is a theme in these songs. Leaving your partner because they are not good for you. In this song is because they become cool, and a partner apologizes but you do not take them back. The message in the song is do not mess with nice girls because they will turn and get you back. Towards the end of the song, I am feeling Avril Lavigne vibes.

5. Chaotic

This song is a ballad. This song hits deep. It is about self-reflection. Being honest with yourself. The line that hits hard is “Tell my friends we have nothing in common but being lonely is worse than having friends that don't care” another line that hits home is “nobody said that changing would be this exhausting”

6. Hate myself

this is another self-reflecting song about pushing people away. You are so call up in your own stuff that you are ignoring the other person and they cannot take it anymore. You cannot let people get close to you. Finally, you realize you are the problem, and they are better off with someone else.

7. What's your problem

In this song we are back to the other person being the problem. They think they are above everyone else and can come in and mess up your life. They are taking advantage of someone because they do not have anyone. They think they can own the other person.

8. she's all I wanna be

This is one of the singles off the album. This song is about worrying about a girl that has more than you and your partner lying about it. She is everything that you want to be. This is one of my favorite songs on the album. It is just so catchy. The music video for this song is great. It shows off Tate’s skill as a dancer. By the end of the video, it seems like the two girls are friends.

9. Boy X

This is one of my favorite songs on the album. It is talking about a girl that is tough and made sure everyone knew it. she fell for your ex-boyfriend. He broke her heart. She fell for him too fast. This song describes first love and heartbreak perfectly.

10. You're so cool

In the song his exes tried to warn you about him, but you do not listen. Two lines at stand out in the song are “making up feelings you never felt” and “if you could you would go on a date with yourself you would.”

11. Feel like shit

this is another single from the album. this is an incredibly good song. This song is post breakup and you are trying not to think about them. You are trying to get used to not talking to him every day. You are trying to move on but still think about them.

12. Go away

“I should be on top of the world but I'm not feeling much” is a great opening line to a song. Every line is song is great. I can copy every line and have something to say about it. Another great line is “Every time you look at me it is never enough for you.” This song sums up a lot of relationships.

13. I still say goodnight

This song is about an end of a relationship. The song talks about when you stop saying goodnight that is the beginning of the end of the relationship. You feel stupid because you want the relationship to work but you know is the end.

This is a great album. All the songs connect in some way. I will definitely be listening to it over and over again.

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Jeremy White

I am from a small town. I have grown up surrounded by woods. I love to Write. I started out with poems. I did not start writing stories until I joined vocal. Writing stories is really fun. I have a Bachelors in Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.