Beat logo

My Top 10 Rock Songs

Compiled by Julie Lacksonen

By Julie LacksonenPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
11
societyofrock.com

Everyone is entitled to their own musical tastes. With that in mind, I set up a challenge for Vocal Writing Prompts for members to write a piece about their 10 favorite songs - in whatever music style they chose - and why.

I tend to listen to classic rock music, so that genre formed my list. I hope you have as much fun reading about - and listening to - these selections as I did compiling them.

Here is how I handled this prompt: I did not include more than one song from any band or artist; I listed the songs in reverse order, ending with what I consider my favorite of the list. These are my personal choices, not what Rolling Stone Magazine or the Rock and Roll History Museum or any other source told me I should include.

Enjoy the crazy ride!

10. Crazy Train by Ozzy Osborne.

For an artist that has had a lot of criticism for being associated with occult themes, this song, at its core, has a message of peace. Here are the lyrics that prove the point, “Maybe it's not too late/To learn how to love/And forget how to hate.” Not bad for a supposedly satanic heathen!

9. Smells Like Teen Spirit by Nirvana.

Although some of the lyrics in this song wander and are at times nonsensical, it’s catchy and it has a sense of angst many people can relate to at some point in their lives. Fun fact: Teen Spirit was a deodorant, which is how the song got its name.

8. Dream On by Aerosmith.

Steven Tyler wrote and sang this winner. “Dream until your dreams come true” is a good directive to begin with, but the fact that he wrote it when he was a teenager makes it doubly impressive. I saw this one live, and it amazed me that he could vocally jump the octave in the last chorus.

7. Like a Rolling Stone, the cover by The Rolling Stones, written by Bob Dylan.

I felt obligated to include a song by Nobel Peace Prize winner, Bob Dylan. He is such an amazing lyricist. You can read more about him here. His voice does not draw in crowds so much as his words. Mick Jagger, on the other hand, is pretty good, but more than that, he’s entertaining. He’s more apt to prance around the stage like a gazelle on stage and work up the audience. Fun stuff!

6. Thunderstruck by AC/DC.

This is such an entertaining song and video. It has great drive, enthusiasm, and energy. If you haven’t seen the Steve ‘N Seagulls version of this song, click here. It’s a hoot!

5. Crazy On You by Heart.

With Nancy Wilson on guitar and her sister, Ann on vocals, this song is a bit bifurcated, but I love the acoustic opening and the longer, vigorous electric section. Anyone who says girls can't rock needs to listen to this song!

4. Changes by David Bowie.

David Bowie - and his many personalities – had such an impact on the music scene. I chose Changes as my favorite of his because I love the lyrics and the music. In fact, I enjoy it so much that both my husband, Ted and I wrote pieces about it. You can find mine here, which includes a link to Ted's, if you're interested.

3. Let it be by The Beatles.

This song has a lovely message and a stunning melody. Fun fact: Sir Paul McCartney’s mum was named Mary, so he wasn’t referring to Mary from the bible.

2. We Will Rock You by Queen.

This song is so iconic. I love that Brian May purposely chose to entice audiences to stomp and clap with this song. I would have included Under Pressure with Freddie Mercury and David Bowie, but that would have broken my own rule about one per artist, and these musicians certainly deserve their own number! Bohemian Rhapsody would have been another great pick from Queen too.

1. Come Sail Away by Styx.

Styx is a spectacular band. I was torn as to which song of theirs to choose. I love Grand Illusion, Blue Collar Man, and Lady (their first hit) but this one is nostalgic. It was the first song I heard by them on LP, thanks to my older brother, Walter. I love how it starts out sweet and then builds up to a heavier rock section.

Would your list include any of the same songs? If you are a Vocal writer, join us with Vocal Writing Prompts and share yours.

These songs will forever hold fond memories and strong emotions for me. Thank you for taking the time to read my top 10 list. Rock on!

list
11

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.