Beat logo

My legitimate path towards self discovery- through music.

My angst playlists as a teenager

By Janelle M MedinaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

As far as I can remember, music has always allowed me to release pent-up emotions that I have held in. I can recall times and situations as a teenager using lyrics from songs as a way to cope with the uncertain paths I faced in my life while growing up.

Vividly recalling those fun events of my past whether it be in school or at home, music has been a significant source in my memory that sticks those events, and people together with a memorable soundtrack; and it is glued it into my mind forever.

Journey back into my teenage past, and groove with me to the beats that made life seem; so smooth. This is my lists of 20 greatest hits that made my teenage years a blast from out of my past.

#1 Don't Cha -pussycat dolls featuring rapper Busta Rhymes 2005. a sexy little number, with high energy and wickedly provocative dance moves; which Peaked as #2 on the billboard Hot 100 chart list.

#2 Gwen Stefani Sweet Escape-an apologetic dream of a better life between two lovers in a fight.

#3 In Da Club- 50 Cent.released in 2003. This jam made its way into the dances, basement parties and dance clubs quickly.

#4 Sean Kingston- Beautiful Girls- due to its "Suicidal" references this track was removed from various radio broadcastings until the lyrics suicidal wa changed to "in denial"

#5 Pink- Family Portrait a personal song written about pink dysfunctional family. I relate to this song because I grew up in a very dysfunctional family home setting. I still reflect to this song when I think of those moments of pain, and how it had an effect on my upbringing.

#6 Air Force Ones- Nelly Ville This great hit made High school dances pop off. socially, this song brought all of us students together jamming to this ballad.

#7 Akon- Smack That a great song you can hear in the dance clubs recorded in 2006

#8 Where is the Love- Black eye'd peas released in 2003, This beat was smooth and relaxing, you couldn't help but sing to the songs lyrics.

#9 Hips Don't Lie- Shakira featuring Wyclef Jean released 2006 by Epic Records. This hit is still one of the best single selling albums of all time. Every time this tune came on I would transform into belly-dancer.

#10 Poker Face Lady Gaga released in 2008. this jam's main feature behind the song was regarding bisexuality. Speaking sexual innuendos.

#11 Usher- You got it bad released 2001 this jam found its way in my high school hallways, everyone enjoying the lyrics to this smooth hit ballad.

#12 Kanye West -Graduation This whole album made me appreciate Kanye's ability as an recording artist. His beats inspired my own interest in composing beats.

#13 Blink 182- Miss You This ballad reminds me of the times me and my younger brother would sing this song together impersonating the singers and their pronunciation of words.

#14 What's Love? - Ashanti/ Big Pun

#15 3 days grace- this House is Not a Home along with Pink this song also helped me to release my pent-up emotions about my home life in a more healthy way.

#16 Shaggy featuring Rikrok- It wasn't Me This is still a fun social song I might listen to from time to time. It reminds me of the days when my friend and I would get together and laugh at each scenario the artists tells his partner after being caught cheating by his gf with the next door neighbor.

#17 TLC what about your friends This song brought reality into the guidance my parents told me too. That trust is not something to just hand out to everyone you know. People may have good intentions some might not. At the end of the day you can only rely on your own self. I found this to be true throughout my growing years as I have lost close acquaintances that I once considered to be a friend.

#18 Sheryl Crow soak up the sun This songs reflection on life helped me to see that I need to appreciate what I have and not to fret over things that may not be meant for me. If I can not obtain something by my own two hands than I should just let it go. people will always try to bring you down with their criticism and judge you for the kind of person you are but to look past their words and be proud of who i was meant to be.

#19 Fergie Big Girls Don't cry This song is a personal favorite of mine. It reminds me of the nights when my father and I would spend time together singing to the lyrics of this jam. He would play his guitar while I sang in our microphone. It was a fond time for me and him. He passed away in 2009 so this song reflects those memories and times I had shared with him.

#20 Lee Ann Womack I hope you dance This song brings me home to the days when I anticipated my graduation and the future I was yet to meet. It gave light to wisdom of the hardships and trials I would face and how to not let life take from me what makes me wake up and breath. It also shined light on how important it is to remain humble when you might feel your on the top of the world and to remember where you came from. Never lose the hope to achieve more, the desire to try and the willingness to remain open for change. This song makes me emotional to this day every time I hear it play.

So there you have it. The songs I enjoyed as a teenager assisted me in learning how to fit in socially, find my voice, seek acceptance from others, and finding means to cope with the pains of my parents relationship has all contributed into who I have become today. I am 35 years old as of today. Happy birthday to Me. :) Life has handed me both, ups and downs just as it has for everyone else. Music has remained an escape route when I am over my head in stressful situations. Proudly, I am still in school, working to achieve my bachelors degree in criminal justice. My hopes are to one day mentor others that have been raised from dysfunctional upbringing as myself and guide them forward towards a better lifestyle. Encouraging them into shaping out of their broken perception of themselves into a positive self transformation of who they are supposed to be.

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.