Beat logo

My Hot 100 - #100 - 76

Random Thoughts #19

By Adam WallacePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
3

I just celebrated another birthday. I've been on this planet for more than 40 years now, and I've heard a lot of great music over that time. I found myself thinking about that, and I decided to take on a challenge that even Ally thought was crazy. I decided to name my 100 favorite songs ever!

Sure, I've done similar things with movies and video games, but songs are much more intimidating. Just looking at the personal playlist I have on YouTube, there are over 1000 possibilities right there! Add in the fact that, similar to my other countdowns, I am only counting one song per artist, and the challenge can be overwhelming. Nevertheless, after months of re-listening and weighing choices, I finally came up with the 100 that I will never skip when they come on.

Just to be clear, it's one song per artist. If someone saw success solo and as part of a group, that counts as two different artists. Like with my video game countdown, it's going to take four parts. Since all genres are represented in my musical tastes, you will be surprised... and maybe a little disgusted, too. Here are the first 25 picks.

#100 - "Songbird" - Kenny G

Yes, I know it's crazy to start a list like this with the frequently mocked Kenny G. However, he deserves a spot for a very personal reason. He and this song are the reasons I learned to play the saxophone. Spoiler: there will be plenty more saxophone solos in the rest of the list. :-)

#99 - "More Than That" - Backstreet Boys

I will eventually do a "Great Debates" comparing Backstreet Boys and *NSYNC, but the Backstreet Boys do have an edge since they got a spot in my Hot 100. "More Than That" shows off the group's amazing harmonies but with more energy. While their slower ballads will always be more popular, this one will always be my favorite.

#98 - "Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic" - The Police

Since they're one of Ally's favorite groups, I've listened to a lot of Sting and The Police over the years. There were plenty of contenders, but the mix of moods in this song gave it the edge in my rankings. I'm always fascinated by songs that mix upbeat melodies with dour lyrics. This cynical look at love just grabs me every time.

#97 - "Love Will Turn You Around" - Kenny Rogers

From a cynical look at love to sincerity. I'm actually surprised at how much country music made it into my Hot 100 since it's not one of my favorite genres. However, Kenny Rogers' gentle voice mixed with much more energy than normal for him won me over. While "The Gambler" was also a strong contender from him, this one just grabbed me a bit more.

#96 - "25 Or 6 To 4" - Chicago

This jazz rock classic from Chicago hits close to home for me. I've wanted to be a writer since I was a teenager, but sometimes I struggle to come up with things to write. That's what this song is all about, the struggle to write. Couple the meta lyrics with the best instrumentation the band ever put together, and you have a song that almost makes writer's block seem appealing!

#95 - "My Lovin' (You're Never Gonna Get It)" - En Vogue

En Vogue were the faces of R&B when I was in middle school. They had the group synergy of The Supremes but with more of a pulse. This song also hit close to home with me back in the early 90s since I was anything but popular (not that I'm that popular now). Even if I was getting dates every night, I'd still think this song is awesome!

#94 - "My Favorite Mistake" - Sheryl Crow

I like Sheryl Crow just fine, but most of her rock songs don't stick out that much. However, "My Favorite Mistake" grabbed my attention with its bluesy swagger that reminds me a lot of early Aerosmith (oh, I'll definitely get to those guys later!). The lyrics also feel more real than a lot of Sheryl's stuff.

#93 - "Foolish Heart" - Steve Perry

Remember what I said about how someone can get on the list twice, once as a soloist and once as a group? If anyone deserves that opportunity, it's the incomparable Steve Perry. Steve Perry was one of the greatest singers in rock history, and "Foolish Heart" becomes even more heartbreaking than its lyrics would have been by themselves when Steve's amazing voice comes in.

#92- "Boom Clap" - Charli XCX

I haven't seen the movie The Fault In Our Stars, but this song makes a great case for it. The song is about pure joy, and Charli XCX gets that through with her great vocals and the driving beat of the best jock jams. Who would've thought so much joy can come from two innocuous words like "boom" and "clap"?

#91 - "Love Will Tear Us Apart" - Joy Division

Now, we go from joy to heartbreak. It's natural to expect a dour look at love from a British postpunk band, but I learned to respect this song even more after watching the biopic Control and learning of the tragic life of the lead singer Ian Curtis. A fantastic song gained extra meaning with a little research.

#90 - "Livin' La Vida Loca" - Ricky Martin

This is my ultimate guilty pleasure song. This Latin pop hit is so incredibly cheesy, but it hooked me the first time I heard it! I really have nothing else to say. It's simply one of the catchiest songs I ever heard!

#89 - "Play That Funky Music" - Wild Cherry

I love funk. As a lover of funk, Wild Cherry's magnum opus deserves a spot just on that basis. Add in that I love disco, as well, and there's even less of an excuse to leave out "Play That Funky Music". It's upbeat funk rock for everyone!

#88 - "Get A Grip" - Semisonic

When I decided to put Semisonic on my list list, I was tempted to use "Closing Time", but I just like the fun and humor of "Get A Grip". Yes, this is an upbeat rock song about... pleasuring yourself. What can I say? The song and the accompanying video are just funny!

#87 - "I Go Crazy" - Paul Davis

I grew up with 70s and 80s soft rock. It's why I wrote an article defending the pseudo-genre. I don't have a lot of insight to add here; Paul Davis' hit is just an exceptionally crafted love song. It's one of those songs that just put me at peace whenever I hear it.

#86 - "You Get What You Give" - New Radicals

I already said everything I needed to say about Gregg Alexander's masterpiece when I put it on my upbeat playlist last year. The only thing that surprises me (and probably everyone else) is that this song didn't rank higher in my Hot 100!

#85 - "Alone" - Heart

Here's another one I talked about already in my soft rock playlist. It just bears repeating that this rock ballad is immaculately constructed and powered by the unbelievable voice of Ann Wilson. The video does suffer a bit because the director was desperately trying to sex up Nancy Wilson, but the song still comes out like roses.

#84 - "Steal My Sunshine" - Len

How about an upbeat hip-hop party jam? This is another one that scored a spot on my upbeat playlist last year; so, I won't say much more. This song is just pure sunshine!

#83 - "Get Lucky" - Daft Punk (Feat. Pharrell)

I'm not big into electronica; so, I tended to ignore Daft Punk. However, when they broke form to do this disco throwback, it grabbed me instantly. They even got the legendary disco producer Nile Rodgers onboard; that's him playing guitar in the video. Add in the impressive vocals from Pharrell, and you get one of the best songs of the past decade!

#82 - "Nobody Does It Better" - Carly Simon

I'm a die-hard James Bond fan; I think I mentioned that at least six or seven thousand times. While Duran Duran's "A View To A Kill" is an awesome song, Carly Simon's theme to The Spy Who Loved Me is just a bit better. What Carly may lack in vocal range, she makes up for in charisma, and the lyrics don't let her down.

#81 - "Dream A Dream" - Charlotte Church & Billy Gilman

The first time I heard this song, I thought my heart stopped. I had heard before that Charlotte Church had an amazing voice for someone so young, but I wasn't prepared for this. I actually feel bad for Billy Gilman; trying to keep up with one of the most amazing sopranos I've ever heard must have been intimidating as hell!

#80 - "To The Moon & Back" - Savage Garden

It's a shame that Savage Garden broke up after only two albums; their pop songs were a highlight of the late 90s. "To The Moon & Back" is my choice due to the great rock vibe; their songs tended to be softer. It has a slightly chilling mood that works so well with Darren Hayes' voice and the desperate-sounding lyrics.

#79 - "Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now"- Starship

Here's a cheesy 80s love song that I can totally get behind from a cheesy 80s movie I can't help but enjoy! Some consider Starship as the sell-out version of Grace Slick's previous group Jefferson Airplane, but what can I say? The slick guitar solo and the perfect vocal pairing of Grace Slick and Mickey Thomas just bring a smile to my face! It's the perfect song to load up when you're lusting after a living mannequin!

#78 - "Only Wanna Be With You" - Hootie & The Blowfish

It may seem uncool to like them now, but I still enjoy Hootie & The Blowfish. Their basic adult alternative songs may be simple, but they're just a joy to listen to. "Only Wanna Be With You" is their pinnacle. It's just a simple song about the joy of love that Darius Rucker just sells perfectly. It's not flashy; it's not grandiose; it just... works!

#77 - "Right Now" - Van Halen

People tend to prefer the party vibe of the David Lee Roth era of Van Halen, but I prefer the deeper Sammy Hagar era. "Right Now" is probably the deepest song in Van Halen's entire discography. It expresses both fear of things happening in the present, but it also provides a glimmer of hope for the future. Things may suck now, but they can get better later. Sammy gets that message across perfectly.

#76 - "Carry On Wayward Son" - Kansas

I don't have much to say. This is simply one of the most perfect 70s rock songs ever recorded. The production is on par with Led Zeppelin's best stuff, and the lyrics beg you to sing along. It's just a masterpiece.

So, if that piece of perfection from Kansas could only make it to #76, what could possibly top it in my mind? Check in for part 2 next time, and give me a shout-out if you want to ask questions or complain about Kenny G getting on the list. :-D

playlist
3

About the Creator

Adam Wallace

I put up pieces here when I can, mainly about games and movies. I'm also writing movies, writing a children's book & hosting the gaming channel "Cool Media" on YouTube! Enjoy & find me on Twitter!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.