Beat logo

Music That Makes You Feel Something Pt.1: Footsteps in the Dark, Pts. 1 & 2

An Isley Brothers Classic

By P.J. AshePublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Isley Brothers, photographed in 1975. Photograph: Alamy

I remember the first time I heard of the Isley Brothers. I was about 9 years old and I was with my brother and my friend at the time. We had just put on Friday (starring Ice Cube and Chris Tucker). The great intro to that movie is "Tryin' to See Another Day" by The Isley Brothers. I remember my friend being amazed by the music and the dirty, funky, vibe that emanated from it. We looked it up and saw that it was made by the Isleys. It was probably the first time that my friend had ever even heard music like that and he was immediately hooked. For a good while after, every time we'd met up, we would play and sing that song. And although the song isn't my personal favorite from the band, it was my introduction to them. It was since then that they had become a personal classic for me. With that being said, "Footsteps in the Dark, Pts. 1 & 2" is why I'm here writing this today, and is, in fact, one of my favorite songs by the group. I wanted to write a little bit about why I love this song and hopefully (for those who don't know it already), put you on to some new timeless music.

Sonically, this track has a lot going for it. It has a nice, quick, but relaxing build-up to the chorus in a warm, sexy, and satisfying style. The verses aren't exactly over-complicated, but the layers of music to this song bring so much texture and pleasing accents that keep you listening, again and again. An Isley Brothers' ballad will always deliver that silky smooth sound that's like sweet nuked caramel that only your ears can savor. Ice Cube iconically sampled this '77 hit for his classic rap song "It Was a Good Day" in 1992. In that song, The Isley Brothers' melody burst through and drives home that haunting rhythm. A rhythm that takes you into an ether where there is only soft music and dancing lights like the Auroras in a sea of black space. A rhythm that is uncannily similar to the feeling of longing from the reminiscence of simpler times that you'll never get to experience again. If you ask me, it's exactly that feeling that was simply put into music form.

Although what you just read may sound a bit off-putting, "Footsteps in the Dark, Pts. 1 & 2" transports you to those cherished lost memories that will make your heart ache, while putting a smile on your face. And That is ultimately the deep emotion of nostalgia that this song can bring you. It may not hit you so hard, but it has the potential to. A song like this will bring the feeling that this often cruel and unjust world is actually worth experiencing. A song like this one forces you to appreciate the fact of being able to connect so deeply to something so abstract as a sound vibration. It brings you to perplexed amazement at the fact that these vibrations can genuinely make you cry, hurt, reminisce, and smile. A song like this will make you feel comfort and hope for the world.

I understand that you might not feel as deeply about this song as I do at this moment. But, at the very least, I want to appreciate it for being a classic. I want to appreciate it for being real music, from a time when the meaning behind it was palpable. I appreciate it for just being a great song. I hope you enjoy it and get to love it as much as I have.

vinylvintageplaylistart70s music
Like

About the Creator

P.J. Ashe

A young Black writer from Canada. I have a passion for music, photography, literature, poetry, and stories. I'm currently a blog and freelance writer. You don't have to read my work, I just need an outlet for my thoughts and creativity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.