Beat logo

Music For Your Future Reincarnated Self

~Dark Ethnic Trap~

By Jennifer LindPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Dark Ethnic Trap

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T-8AwMbf7mY&list=PLybnCZqytDvrNwBnluQcSi0sNMfeGV_3G

Please, copy and paste the link, clicking the above video takes you only to first song in playlist, after that it goes where ever.

I discovered ethnic trap about 2 years ago on youtube. I had been getting into instrumentals in general with downtempo and French abstract, hip hop & electronic artist Al'Tarba for awhile and am really enjoying ALL of the new music being released over the past several years.

There is one genre specifically that has captivated me completely and that's ~Dark Ethnic Trap~.

The internet has allowed music makers to do everything themselves but more importantly it's allowed artists the creative freedom to do whatever inspires their craft. The results have been astounding. There seems to be way more range in music genres generally across the board.

And there is more available internationally. No longer must an artist or a band go through a record company to have their music distributed and heard. No longer contingent on a contract or radio stations playing their stuff, either.

So the younger and younger generations have been blowing my hair back with the way they do their music these days. The new forms and improvised old forms of expression musically are amazing.

Beat boxing for instance has become acceptable and why shouldn't it? It's just another resourceful means to an end that sounds as legit as any instrument adeptly played. But I'm not talking about beat boxing in this article.

The standard practices of and in music have changed dramatically over the past 20 years. Drum machines and synths have replaced most instruments and again, why shouldn't they? I call it resourceful and forward thinking.

So with the explosion of electronic music over the past 20-30 years along came Ethnic Trap about 15 years ago and it has evolved into some really excellent soundscapes. Partly of a particular regions folk music, part electronic with synths and/or drum machine, often there are strings.

The results are at times beautiful. See:

“Lagoon” by FEARSTbeats

“Owl” by Bassacre

“Veyron” by Gameface x Mahoy

“Sandstorm” by Winter

“Green Fields” by Hanzo x Gank

"Omri” by FEARSTbeats

“Reims” by RL Grime

“Plevne” by Cartoon

Sometimes the results totally bang. See:

“Hatuba” by FEARSTbeats (the way he owns this famous Indian song, it’s just spectacular!)

“New Era” by Bronzy (not for the delicate ear)

“Hannya” by Visck

"Dabke” by Visck

“Dreams” by FEARSTbeats

“Put Your Love” by El Speaker (Azide remix)

“S.W.A.T.” by Heno

“WVR” by NextRo

"Soviet USSR Trap March” by FEARSTbeats

Other times the music is simply dark and mysterious, see:

  • "Gece Teroru" by Bo x Noes
  • "Owl" by Bassacre (again)
  • "You, Me, Universe" by Fb (Beautiful and Mysterious, ~goosebumps~)
  • "Oracle" by Fb
  • "Omen" by Fb

I've heard strange and hypnotic music from time to time in my head my whole life. A lot of it I didn't know what it was-I mean I know it but don't know it if that makes any sense. I had been looking for music like Ethnic Trap all my life, I just didn't know what the music would actually sound like outside of my head.

Without the trap style drums, Dark Ethnic Trap sounds just like the music in my head.

It the most and the closest I have ever identified with music and I've been a music fanatic my entire life. I always have to hear more, new-to-me songs.

So far, newer and newer music has not disappointed. Sound I feel, bridges gaps and fills the soul/spirit with tones forgotten and lost within us. This music contains the lost chord I was looking for to bring my being closer to whole. I don't know if it's in the chords themselves-the notes or the progression but music fulfills something in me. It's therapy. It's catharsis. It's sublimation.

Ethnic trap comes from different regions around the world. Many of these artists are Russian--they "get it". So do the Persians, Indians, Turkish, Ukrainians, Arabs, Japanese etc.

Music is supposed to help unite people and it's doing that indeed. It's bringing people together who would have little else in common thus little reason to interact with each other. It's a really beautiful thing to see people from all different backgrounds connecting to make and/or share all types of music on the internet.

Among this playlist are(not in order):

  • FEARSTbeats
  • NextRo
  • Bo
  • Biz
  • Gank
  • Visck
  • AxLi
  • more FEARSTbeats
  • Bronzy
  • Blvck
  • V.F.M. style
  • Noes
  • Veco
  • Heno
  • Winter
  • Cvrtoon
  • even more FEARSTbeats
  • Gameface
  • Serhat Dermus
  • Tauron
  • Bassacre
  • Gillionaire
  • Probass & Hardi

Etc..

I haven't been into this genre for too long maybe 3 years tops. But the moment I heard it I craved more. If you like heavy bass and drum, wailing 808's, the oft middle eastern instrument just add a stark desert landscape, some tumbleweeds, roll you a fattie or grab a glass of wine, take your shoes off, sit down and get comfortable and press play.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T-8AwMbf7mY&list=PLybnCZqytDvrNwBnluQcSi0sNMfeGV_3G

is the link to youtube directly, in case I goofed it up here.

Thanks and Enjoy!

playlist
2

About the Creator

Jennifer Lind

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.