Beat logo

Music for Mamas to Move To

The Ultimate Postpartum Playlist for Mamas that Need a Boost

By Ebony PollardPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Photo by Hulki Okan Tabak on Unsplash

Music. It moves me.

Like an attractive man with intoxicating conversational skills, the beat of a song gets my attention, but the lyrics seal the deal. Yes, a beat that gets you off your butt paired with the perfect words and cadence moves me to my core.

I have a playlist for everything. Be it driving, writing, or sitting on the living room couch folding yet another large load of laundry … I have a playlist for that.

See?

Coming from a large musical family, I have always been moved by music. As a child, I would sit for hours and listen to my uncles play the drums and bass guitar in my grandmother's basement. When I was a teenager, I was over the moon for the chance to see my uncle playing the drums and singing in his band during an outdoor concert.

I remember being mesmerized by my eldest uncle's singing voice and him telling me that he used to sing to me to calm me as a baby. And, whenever my aunts and uncles get together, the rest of the family is sure to be entertained by their melodious voices raised together in song.

My maternal family is full of talented musicians and singers, as well. I fondly remember my grandmother and her siblings getting fairly "sauced" after Thanksgiving dinner one year. They gathered around the old piano in the living room and sang until they were all hoarse.

My mother, sister (a singer and songwriter), and I love to harmonize when we're together.

I'm a grown woman with two children, but my father still sings to me.

If you ask my two-year old son to sing you a song, he will belt out as much of the sweetest unintelligible melody as your heart can stand.

How can I not be moved by music?

Music kept me from committing suicide when I was deeply depressed and unaware of my worth. Our God by Israel Houghton was the song that gave me the strength to continue on.

Chantay Savage's version of "I Will Survive" once carried me through the aftermath of a bitter break-up.

But, music was most instrumental in my life (no pun intended) after the birth of my son and the onslaught of severe postpartum depression and anxiety. On the hardest days, I would put the baby to sleep, pop in my earbuds and listen to music until I was no longer numb and felt like getting up to dance and shake off the oppressive weight of depression.

You might find some of my song choices funny or quirky. But, the following tunes helped to bring in a little sunshine during my darkest days after my son breezed into my life. I even shared these songs with another mother after she asked for "happy song suggestions" to help her get through the rest of a grueling day.

This is music for mamas of all ages and places in life to move to. Because momming is tough. Reclaiming your body after housing a tiny human in your lady parts is freaking tough (can I get an "amen"?). Just being alive on any given day can be tough.

You should have a playlist that makes you smile, shake your booty, and work up a sweat … just a little bit.

If you checked out my playlist and loved it, would you consider leaving the DJ (yours truly) a tip?

playlist
2

About the Creator

Ebony Pollard

Ebony Pollard is an author, speaker, certified resilient life empowerment coach, certified emotional intelligence coach, and mompreneur. She spends her time helping female entrepreneurs thrive personally and professionally.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.