Beat logo

Moe$—New sound off this second EP starts with a hosted track by Harlem rapper Dave East song called “Back it Up”

Moe$

By Jason James Published 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

What’s your name, artist name and where are you from?

MOE$. Mohamed Mouhamed, born in Cairo,Egypt. I came to the US at the age of 8, and grew up in Jersey City and Avenel

What makes you different as a person and as an artist?

As an artist I like to extract my lines directly from real life experiences, thoughts, feelings, and opinions. It’s only a matter of putting everything together in the flow and style that I am aiming for. So everything around me really becomes an inspiration to me in a way where I just translate into my own lyrical but very much easily conveyable language. This makes me more relatable and reachable as an artist and it also creates diversity in my work. Genuineness is something I like to make sure is reflected in my lyrics, my work, and who I am in general. I like to be as authentic as I can be so I always make sure my personality is clear and put out there in a way where anything I do resounds with the people around me and my audience.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

I would definitely continue to work on becoming a successful and influential person in the music industry. Being successful to me is way more than putting out music that becomes well known. I want to make sure that who I am as a person is reachable, relatable, helpful, and inspiring to everyone because the face behind the art has to be powerful enough to speak volumes for the art itself.

I need to accomplish a large and unique platform that I can use in so many different ways with my music to do so much for the people around me and my supporters who look up to me and depend on my art.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Right now I’m definitely laying the foundations for my future work and goals. in five years I’d love to have mastered my skills in the art of words even more. I would like to continue to learn, read, and explore different ideas and ways of putting words together to put out the kind of music and art that I do. Over the years I’d love to drop albums that provide my audience with more and more insight into who I am and what I can grow into as an artist and human being. In five years, I’d love to be performing to people who have found entertainment, meaning, and connections with my music in a way that resounds with everyone in their own unique way.

What do you bring to the music world?

The past decade has brought in such an influx of so many new artists and with that came the mainstream desire to achieve the “rapper” or artist image. It seems so easy to me nowadays to quickly spread your art regardless of the quality and what it is only if you know how to establish a following. For me, I choose to still stick with the original principle of talent and I have carried that with me from the beginning in the years where hip hop was not even mainstream yet. The art of putting together words that generate certain feelings, thoughts, opinions, experiences, or certain messages is something that I will put out and continue to master. I am confident that doing this gives me that type of advantage to break into and put out my unique work into the music world.

What legacy do you want to leave behind?

A lasting legacy! I definitely want to leave way more than some songs. I put more into my music than putting words together, one song holds more to me than merely just that and I want people to be able to feel and take in everything that’s behind that one song and keep that with them. Like I mentioned before it’s more important for me to be reachable as a person than just reach someone with a song. I’d like my personality and who I am to resonate with people in a way that leaves that to just speak for itself and make my music last through the decades. I’d like to bring back what hip hop and music was and should be really all about and make sure my legacy preserves the true art of it as we have truly lost it over the years

interview
Like

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.