Beat logo

"Let me shock you" - 16 Years Later, Omotola Finally Talks About Her Music

Omotola remembers Omosexy

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read

Do you remember back in the day when for some reason a lot of Nigerian actors were banned from making movies and so a lot of them ventured into music? I know! That was truly a wild time.

Actors like Genevieve Nnaji, Ramsey Nouah, and Omotola released music and stone me if you wish but Omotola’s Feel Alright and like four songs from Genevieve’s One Logologo Line album are still on my Spotify playlist.

Now 16 years later after her first album Gba, Nigerian legend Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde is finally taking a look back and talking about her time in the music industry.

In an interview with City 105.1FM when jokingly asked about her time in music by the interviewer, Omotola didn’t find his giggling necessary because according to her, it was no joking matter. Omotola went on to reveal a lot of information about her time doing music, what she regrets, and how she still earns money from her music. Ready to see what Omosexy said about her music? Then let’s go!

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Speaking about her music, Omotola said:

Music was one of my strong suits, it was. I think people just find it a little bit difficult to accept actors who go into music and it’s not just in Nigeria, it’s all over the world. If you notice, people like Tyrese struggled for a minute before they got their foot in. There are so many actors who are actually very talented singers but people accept musicians who are going into acting quicker than actors who are going into music.

My music was very great. A lot of people over time, after the whole bandwagon of following people to say ‘why is she singing’, now most of them have listened to my albums and they’re now like ‘Oh my god, your music was good’.

(Let me shock you) I got signed to Universal. I was one of the first artistes even before a lot of musicians. Do you remember that I went to the Grammys? I think I was the first young artiste that was at the Grammys and I was invited.

So now in hindsight I’m actually very upset with myself cuz I’m thinking why didn’t I pursue this more? Why did I relent? Because actually I was accepted more internationally than I was in Nigeria. I’m not going to say that discouraged me, I think I just got to a point where I was over it to some extent and I put my energy into other things. Now in hindsight I shouldn’t have done that cuz I actually started very very well.

I still actually earn a lot of money from my music. At least I had two albums and now a lot of people have gone back to it and are now listening to it cuz now it’s on all platforms and now they have the time to calmly listen to it and go, ‘actually it was really good.’

When asked if she plans on ever-releasing new music, Omotola said she’s a creative person and probably will do it but not in a commercial way. If she’ll do it she says it will have to be her putting up her own concert where people who like her music can come and enjoy it just like Sound Sultan and Lagbaja have done in the past.

Well, if ever this Omosexy concert is announced, you can best believe I’ll be snatching up a ticket. Let me too go and Feel Alright! Will you come with me?

That’s All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.