Beat logo

Keeping Up with Sayg

Follow me on my journey as I interview up and coming artists all over the world. First Stop: Queens, New York.

By D'anna AaronPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Sayg In His Home Studio

Gerade Montel Austin is better known as justsayg born and raised in Queens New York.

he gained recognition for remixing Solange song stay flow. the most interesting part is he's actually a flight attendant and I sometimes wonder how did he do it or find the time when catching flights back to back, I finally got the chance to catch up with the stay flow rapper and what can I say he was the coolest person I ever interviewed if you're interested to take flight into saygs world please continue to read.

Okay, sayg let's talk about how you first got into music?

"I used to write poetry in elementary school I wrote this poem called “Not That Black” cause kids were bullying me about my skin color. I won the poetry slam off that poem. From then on, I have just been writing poetry as a way to cope with the stuff I’m dealing with in my life."

I know bullying is a big thing in this day and age I've been bullied a lot growing up. can you tell me what long term effects it had on your mental did you ever confronted your bully?

"Well, it made me have low self-esteem for a long time but then I went to Morehouse and it helped a lot with my knowledge of myself as a black man. I love my skin now and my bullies don’t need to be confronted cause we were young so I don't care anymore lol."

I have to say when I first came across your music before I hit play I said to myself I hope he's not like these sound cloud rappers but I totally regret it because it was beautiful I remember telling you. you give me Tyler creator vibes if I'm not mistaken So that brings me to my next question what inspired your sound why did you choose rap as your genre or do you see yourself as versatile?

"Honestly, the first artist to grab my attention was Mac Miller and I never thought I could sound like a rapper cause people always said I was so monotone then Kendrick got hot, and then I started bumping Tyler even. So I was like fuck that my voice is perfect. I lowkey even believe my regular voice is the voice a rapper would/have and yeah I see myself as versatile. Maybe for rock though."

When people listen to your music what message are you trying to give out?. Do you think your music can change someone's life?

"I want to send a message that will change their perspective. A message like “damn can we leave old trends in the past years a create a new narrative for society? ”In a catchy way which sounds like ABC rap, but when you really listen to what I’m saying, I’m saying real stuff."

Do you see yourself as a role model?

"I do. I wouldn’t pursue music if I didn’t. It’s so many dimensions to me I haven’t even opened up yet for the people! But just wait, once they see how relatable I am, I will definitely be a role model for many. I’ve been through so much and you wouldn’t even know because of how well I carry myself. I want to show people how that’s done. You don’t gotta wear ya struggle."

if you can see my facial expression I love that quote you don't gotta wear your struggle and a lot of people don't understand that.

"At all!!"

If you could collaborate with any music artist dead or alive who would it be?

"Solange"

Would you say Solange is your biggest influence?

"Not my biggest, probably Kendrick as my biggest influence. But I really admire her voice and I feel our voices would sound good on a track together. I feel like Tierra Whack is a female version of me though. I would also like to work with Smino or Noname Gypsy."

Was there anything you were interested in before music?

"English teacher."

Would you still choose music if it doesn't work out for you?

"Well, music is a hobby anyway. So I’ll forever make music. Regardless."

Now I have to ask who is your celebrity crush I won't be surprised if you say Solange lol

"Lol, you right. If not Solange, hmmm Yeah I don’t really have celebrity crushes. I always see them as out of my league it’s weird. I like em regular."

Okayyyyyy keeping it real regular

Nowwwww you know I'm coming with relationship questions now Mr.sayg are you in a relationship?

"I’m not in a relationship. And don’t want to be."

I agree, can you explain why?

"Because I’m trying to focus. And I’m all in for everything I do. So if I get into a relationship I’m going to be all in and. I need myself for my music and my future. That could wait just gotta get my life together. And then maybe I’ll figure love out later."

What is your favorite food/movie?

"Favorite food is any type of seafood. I love crab legs and scallops Favorite movie pursuit of happiness."

I wish I can eat seafood the allergic life lol and Yesss that was such a good movie so inspirational.

"I know the feeling lol I have a cat allergy and I always wish I could pet and be around cats."

What is your dream record label?

"but I don’t really have one! I just want to be free to create. I like Interscope though."

Before we end this interview is there anything you'll like for your fans to know where can they find you, what should they lookout

f?

"Be on the lookout for two new singles and two new videos no release date but summer for sure!"

Thank you so much for taking the time out to speak with me. And I can't wait to hear and see what's next for you.

"Thank you for having me, and only time will tell."



Now if you wanna see more of sayg please follow his social media down below.

IG:justsayg

interview
Like

About the Creator

D'anna Aaron

Writer

Poet

Your local hood poet

Your favorite astronaut👽🤖

IG: marzpoetic_cave

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.