Beat logo

Keep on Rockin

My Rock Anti-Valentine's Day Anthem

By Stephen ReillyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Oh boy, have I been waiting for something like this. I do not hate Valentine’s Day; I think it a great holiday to remind yourself why you put up with a foot in your face while sleeping. But some people do not have that foot in your face luxury. That is love. For Anti-Valentine, I believe the opposite is not being single because being single can be happiness as well. The opposite for me is overcoming grief, primarily from heartbreak.

Overall, music is a great outlet to let go or feed my emotions. It is a powerful tool that can dictate them depending when I listen to a song. I want my playlist to personal to me for when I overcome heartbreak, and hopefully, you like it. So, for the playlist I want songs from my iTunes. Secondly, I want this playlist to be for me, what I would listen to overcome grief. I want to use song that have been scientifically PROVEN to help overcome grieving; some of them heartbreak, some of them not. I am going to use only rock genre songs because that is my favorite and my turn to in my hour of need. So, without further ado, here we go.

1. "Nothing Else Matters", by Metallica. After any heart break of any kind, I get filled with emotions that I do not particularly care for. That is when I turn towards music to help neutralize them. What song do I turn to? “Nothing Else Matters”, by Metallica. This is my favorite song of theirs. The guitar in the song just soothes me, eases my mind every time I listen to it. It acts like reset for my brain. If I am still having emotions and I listen to a song that has the same emotions that I am feeling, it amplifies it, usually not in a good way. It does not totally erase the emotions in my mind, but I am done listening, my brain becomes a blank canvas, and I can start anew.

2. “You Give Love A Bad Name,” by Bon Jovi. After I have a reset, I can finally listen to song with some serious passion. Nothing is better than “You Give Love A Bad Name,” by Bon Jovi. This is also a perfect that could have led off the playlist, but I found it too aggressive, it would amplify my hidden anger emotions. This song is full of rage, and I absolutely love it. But since the previous song, and I can enjoy the song in a more positive light. I do not care about the lyrics themselves, and I can dance like an idiot when the guitar solo comes. Perfect song to release the anger I have in a more positive manner.

3. "Thnks fr te Memrs" by Fall Out Boy. Honestly, the same reason why this song in my playlist is the same reasons before. Another song with some unmerciful lyrics towards a person, that is also very Anti-Valentines. A fun song to let go my inner anger, especially the violin part at the beginning.

4. "Boulevard of Broken Dreams", Green Day. With the angriness out the way, lets go about to a song to calm me down. I love this song when I was younger. Any time I felt sad, I would listen to it. Who knew a song about loneliness could help me with my loneliness?

5. “Don’t You Want Me,” by The Human League. I listened to the first time I had real heart break, and it got me through it, that is why it is on here. The upbeat music under the lyrics is fun to listen to along with the duet battle whatever the two singers have. The girls verse even slaps me across the face to get myself together. Good god, I love this song.

6. “Don’t Fear the Reaper,” covered by Ninja Sex Party. I like the original song by Blue Oyster Cult, but I love this cover SOOO much more. The song is very somber, and it relaxes me.

7. “I Want to Break Free,” by Queen. Anytime I need a metaphoric mental release, this is my go-to song. The beat and baseline make me want to Footloose. This song is also the first song that is about letting go.

8. "Separate Ways", by Journey. Oh boy. What an awesome beat there is to this song. Such an uplifting song trying to move with your life. I first listen to this as a cover, and then I listened to the original, and it was SO much better.

9. "Move Along", by the All-American Rejects. If you do not know this song, this song goes all out in energy. From the music to the vocals, this song just becomes my anthem of overcoming grief.

10. "Drive" by Incubus. Now that I had my upbeat songs, I like to end this playlist in a nonchalant manner. That is why I like this song. This surfer dude vibe from this song calms my nerves and gives me positive vibes.

That is my playlist for an Anti-Valentine’s Day. A playlist to help me overcome grief, and after seeing my suggestions, I hope it does for you as well!

playlist
Like

About the Creator

Stephen Reilly

Hey. My name is Stephen Reilly and I have just gotten into writing. I’m from Indianapolis, Indiana and I’m eager to get to writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.