Beat logo

Japanese Music And I Have Been Best Buddies Since 2020!

A playlist of 6 of my favourite Japanese songs

By Talia DevoraPublished about a year ago 7 min read
2
Kalmia- Haru-uta (Spring song) released in March 2021. Video retrieved from YouTube.

Konnichiwa! My intense love for Japanese music began in the winter of 2020, as the Coronavirus progressed and the world was waiting for vaccines to save us! It was the best chance to discover new songs in a variety of languages. I'd choose to listen to Japanese music for the most part, because I wanted to slowly start learning Japanese, and music was the best way to learn a little Japanese. It worked, because I'm starting to pick up a few Japanese words bit by bit.

If I want to find new songs to listen to, I typically find YouTube playlists and listen to a compilation of songs. It's no different for Japanese music. I have a tendency to unstoppably listen to the same song, so playlists help me find new songs to enjoy.

There are so many YouTube Japanese music playlists that I discovered since 2020, so I can't list all the playlist. With that said, I can share a few of the songs I'd listen to from those YouTube playlists!

I hope you like these songs just as much as I do!

1. Necry Talkie- Jackpot Nara Odoranya Sonson (If It's A Jackpot)

I spontaneously found Japanese indie rock bands Necry Talkie after hearing one of their songs on someones Instagram story. I remember reaching out to the person who made the story, and he told me that the song was called Oshare Daisuken (Fancy Great Strategy) by Necry Talkie. It was one of the first Japanese indie rock tunes I listened to on Apple Music and YouTube. During the winter of 2020, I'd listen to this song not just when I'd be strolling around my neighbourhood, but also when I'd be completing housework, and exercising in my living room. This song gave me quite the energy boost, and I loved how upbeat it was!

My new love for Necry Talkie's music didn't stop after listening to Oshare Daisuken several times at the end of 2020; more songs tickled my fancy in the summer of 2021. Since I easily found and listened to Necry Talkie not only on YouTube, but Apple Music, I found more songs from various Necry Talkie albums. The album Memories (2019) was an amazing album. One of the tunes I ended up being hooked on in the album was Jackpot Nara Odoranya Sonson. I recall first listening to it when I was ambling along one of my favourite local walking trails on a beautiful summer day in June 2021. I ended up listening to this song like five times, and it was my favourite tune to walk to, because it was extremely upbeat! Upbeat music encourages me to get off my rear end and exercise!

2. 36km/h- Greatful Days

A week before my building went into lockdown due to the Omicron virus, I found a YouTube compilation of Japanese indie rock songs that I'd listen to at any time of the day and/or night. Greatful Days was one of the songs that was on the playlist I discovered on YouTube.

Greatful Days by 36km/h is a part of a Japanese rock album called After Dark, which was released on November 20th, 2019. This past winter, I became depressed, because of the lengthy Omicron lockdown my building went into on December 21, 2021, so I was in serious need of upbeat Japanese rock tunes that I could listen to whenever I desired. Greatful Days became one of my favourite tunes to play during that time. I'd mainly play it on my phone while I'd be doing housework, cooking, or exercising in the living room. A week after the lockdown ended on January 31, 2022, I listened to this song again on February 6th, 2022 while I was walking to the nearest bus stop to the local shopping centre. This song isn't as upbeat as the other ones I listened to, but I loved it anyway. The song was rather peaceful, slow, and inspirational. The song reminded me to have a good day every day! I give this song the odd listen whenever I want.

3. ginkiha feat. TEA- Neon tetra (KO3 remix)

In 2019, I discovered this song on one of YouTuber Venus Angelic's fashion vlogs. It was playing in the background, and I found the song quite catchy. After the video was finished, I was trying to Shazam it, and it didn't reveal the title of the song. I was extremely disappointed, because I loved it so much!

This past winter, I discovered the title of the song in one of the comments on the video. After finally finding the title of the song, I listened to it unstoppably on YouTube. There are various remixes to this song, but the KO3 remix is my favourite one! During the Omicron outbreak that occurred in my building this past winter, I'd give this song a listen while I'd be doing housework, cooking, showing, or doing artwork.

4. Kalmia- Utopia

After giving the song Haru-uta (Spring song) a listen, I became hooked on different songs by Kalmia this summer. I wasn't just fascinated by the music, I was overly obsessed with Kalmia. Luckily, I easily discovered Kalmia on Apple Music, so I'd listen to a compilation of their songs on my walks, on bus rides, at home, and when I'd be working on different creative tasks.

Utopia was released as a single on November 17th, 2021. Utopia, is a more emotional song, but I enjoyed feeling the emotions, and the mood of the song. I'd mainly listen to Utopia when I'd be riding the bus to and from work, on my walks, when I'd be sitting on park benches, and when I'd locked myself up in my bedroom with the lights off a few hours before I fell asleep.

5. Kalmia- Nasturtium

For those who don't know what Nasturtium is, Nasturtium is a South American trailing plant with round leaves and bright orange, yellow, or red edible flowers that's widely produced as an ornamental flower (Oxford Languages, 2022).

The song Nasturtium was released as a single on July 27, 2022 (my brother's 27th birthday)! I don't recall listening to this song on the exact release date. I remember listening to this song while I was strolling around the neighbourhood. I also give this song the odd listen when I'm doing housework, and when I'm riding the bus. I easily discovered and listening to this song on Apple Music. This song reminded me of some of the Green Day tunes I've listened to over the years, because it uses the same instruments, and is just as upbeat as many Green Day songs such as Basket Case, American Idiot, and Stay the Night.

6. Necry Talkie- Shinyato Konbini (Midnight at a Convenience Store)

Besides the album Memories, ZOO!! (2020) was also a fantastic Necry Talkie album that caught my attention. There were so many tunes that I favoured, that I cannot possibly name all of them. To name one of them, Shinyato Konbini became one of my favourite tunes in the ZOO!! album. This song isn't as upbeat as most of Necry Talkies songs, however it was still worth listening to. I'd liked how calm and peaceful the song was. I'd typically listen to this song when I'd be hanging out at the park, going on errands, walking in the park, chilling at home, etc.

By Jase Bloor on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to listen to some songs on another one of my Vocal playlists. If you enjoyed listening to these songs, please give this playlist a ❤️, download these songs on whatever music app you have on your devices, share this playlist with others who are also into Japanese music, comment, and feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned for more poems, recipes, playlists, diary entries, stories, and much more fun stuff!

Sayonara!

Please feel free to connect with me outside of Vocal!

IG: @tdwrites24

FB: Talia Devora

By David Edelstein on Unsplash

playlist
2

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    Looking forward to listenin to all of these and thank you for your in depth article.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.